We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Fantastic Week at Treetops in St. John” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Treetops

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St. John
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Treetops
Ranked #4 of 7 St. John B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wakefiled
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Week at Treetops in St. John”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

Spent the week in St. John at Treetops celebrating our 30th anniversary. The stay was very pleasant and the accommodations where definitely affordable and adorable and above all clean and comfortable. The breakfasts where great and the knowledge and guidance of the island from by the owner was extremely helpful in planning our days. Most memorable was the day spent on the Pot Luck with Captain Hank, a day filled with sightseeing, snorkeling and capped off with a trip to the Soggy Dollar Bar. Had a wonderful and memorable time at Treetops, and hope to return sometime in the future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RobertaJWakefield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    6
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
108
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

From day one, Captain Hank went above and beyond what was expected to make my wife and I's stay at Treetops and St John a great one. Rather than giving us directions to pass along to the taxi drivers, Hank picked us up in his boat, Pot Luck. We were then treated to an awesome, scenic cruise to what would be our home away from home over the next 7 nights.
Each morning, we were treated to fresh fruit and wonderfully delicious baked goods including muffins (my favorite), scones, etc served along with fresh juice, coffee and more.
We highly recommend hiring Captain Hank to take you out fishing, snorkeling, etc on a day trip to all of the spots only he knows about. While fishing we caught Mahi, Grouper and more; while snorkeling we saw Tarpon, a Shark, Sea Turtles, Rays and more. What a memorable day!
Beyond being a great guide on the seas, Hank also repeatedly steered us in the right direction for food, drinks and other island hidden gems.
We can't thank Hank enough for the great time he helped us experience while in St John. After returning from the trip, when asked about our host we always recall a statement Hank made one morning. We found Hank dressed in red slacks, dress shirt and a bow tie. I had to ask, "why so dapper this morning, Hank?" His response, "everyday is a gift, so I figured why not wrap it up with a bow?"
Do yourself a favor and be sure to consider this great B&B as your home away from home while in St John.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Chris K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

My wife and I stayed here in March 2012, in the Captain's Quarters. I would recommend this place to any couple that's looking for a quiet place to stay that's still convenient to Cruz Bay. The location feels somewhat secluded, since you're surrounded by woods and the nearest houses aren't that close. It's only a short drive into Cruz Bay, however. Karen and Hank are excellent hosts and will make you feel at home. Breakfast was usually some sort of bread or muffin (usually homemade by Karen, and delicious) with fruit, which may sound on the lighter side but we always found it to be more than enough to get us started on the day's adventures. Karen and Hank give great advice on the local restaurants.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhensley75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

My wife and I spent our honeymoon here and we wanted to get a little of the local flavor and more importantly to get good, unbiased advice about things to do on the island; we got this and much, much more.
We stayed in the Captain's Quarters, which was nice and very clean. Hank was extremely accommodating through the entirety of our stay, giving us his cooler, beach chairs, sandwiches, beers, a great breakfast and conversation!
Hank provided us with great advice on restaurants, hiking trails, and good snorkeling spots (he knows this island like the back of his hand). He even took us out on his boat one day and personally took us to his favorite spots on the south side of the island--the snorkeling was the best here and the sights were breath-taking.
We had an amazing, unforgettable trip and highly recommend staying at Treetops!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC, USA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2012

It's been two months since my wife and I returned home from a week-long trip to St. John, and we still talk almost every day about our wonderful experience at Treetops. Hank was, quite simply, the best host we've ever had: a larger than life guy who's never overbearing and always takes the time to make you feel at home. He went above and beyond to give us the best trip possible, and I can't thank him enough. He's a good, honest man and a big reason why we had such a great vacation (it seems like he knows everyone and everything on the island, which means that he's an amazing resource for recommendations on where to eat, snorkel, hike, etc.).

I've been going on about Hank, but Treetops itself is wonderful. If you're looking for something beautiful, clean, cozy, and quiet, this is the place for you. It's not a big, glitzy resort; it's better: a real gem of a place tucked among the hills, trees, birds, lizards, and frogs. It's like the essence of St. John distilled into one bright, happy place (it's impossible not to feel content eating breakfast on the patio with the sun streaming in, Hank telling a story, and a delicious homemade muffin on your plate). It's obvious that Hank and his wife (who we unfortunately didn't get to meet) love Treetops and want their guests to love it too.

We don't get to travel often--in fact, our last big trip was to St. John on our honeymoon ten years ago--which is why it meant so much to us to be able to stay at a place like Treetops. Hopefully it won't be another ten years before we can return, but whenever we do we'll definitely be staying at Treetops.

There's a reason for all of the glowing reviews for Treetops on Tripadvisor: they're true. See for yourself.

Matt & Elisha

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank WeHeartStJohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

My wife and I honeymooned in St. John and stayed in the Captains Quarters at the Treetops for five days. It could not have been a more ideal place for us. Located just a short drive from Cruz Bay, it was a perfect get away after a day of adventures on the island. Karen and Hank made us feel right at home as if we were staying at a friends house. They helped us with any plans or needs for the day over a lovely breakfast every morning. Our room was clean and spacious, as well as functionally equipped with a fridge, sink, microwave and a gas grille outside. We were provided with anything we needed...coolers, beach chairs and towels, even a shop vac to clean all the sand out of our rental car before we returned it. The feeling of being nestle on a hillside in the trees with the sounds of birds everywhere was far better than staying in town and hearing traffic and the coming and going of other guests. Lastly, be prepared for the outdoor shower and how truly amazing it is. If I did not live in the city, I would have set upon building one just like it as soon as I got home! St. John is a truly magical place and the Treetops is right in step with the experience!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

My girlfriend & I stayed in the First Mate's Quarters for 5 nights and had an amazing time. Our room was extremely picturesque & cozy, and even had some beer,snacks & sodas ready for us in the fridge. Hank even took us out on his "lobstah" boat the Pot Luck and we went snorkeling, and saw a giant sea turtle. We felt right at home and grilled out one night there. Every morning Hank had a nice breakfast (& some fantastic stories) for us. Treetops is clean and the views are amazing, there is no mistaking you're in a tropical paradise. It is outside of town so we rented a Jeep which is a must to get around St. John. We were very glad to choose this B&B over a big hotel. In short, if you're thinking of visiting I'm certain you'll have a memorable time. I miss the birds & tree frogs at night!

Room Tip: First Mates is 1 BR, 1 bath w/ a nice private deck overlooking a tropical valley
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these St. John hotels
1.7 mi away
St. John Inn
St. John Inn
#3 of 5 in Cruz Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
Cruz Bay Boutique Hotel
#2 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sea Shore Allure
Sea Shore Allure
#5 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
1.9 mi away
Estate Lindholm
Estate Lindholm
#1 of 5 in Cruz Bay
5.0 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
4.3 mi away
Concordia Eco-Resort
Concordia Eco-Resort
#1 of 2 in Virgin Islands National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Treetops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Treetops

Property: Treetops
Address: Pelican Road | Fish Bay, 00830, St. John
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. John
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in St. John
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Note: We are a 3-guest room B & B, and each of the rooms rent separately! Please call or email for accurate availability for each of the 3 rooms, as the attached calendar does not reflect reservations for all 3 rooms. Whether you enjoy hiking any of the many ruin-studded trails on St. John, or raising a glass at one of the many world famous beach bars, make Treetops your choice for convenient and economical accommodations. Nestled into abundant vegetation in tranquil Fish Bay, "Treetops" offers guests an affordable alternative to large resorts and pricey villas. This 3-guest room B&B has comfortable accommodations in queen-size beds. "The Captain's Quarters" is an air-conditioned 2-room suite with queen bed plus single day bed, kitchenette, lavatory and private, enclosed outside shower. "The First Mate's Headquarters" also has a queen-size bed, fridge, full (indoor) bath, and private deck. "The Bunkhouse" has a/c, fridge, lavatory and shower. *EACH OF THE ROOMS RENTS SEPARATELY. *Because of the steepness of the yard and height of the decks, Treetops is not recommended for small children. * The entire house can be rented out (all 3 guest rooms and owners' quarters) during Christmas week ONLY. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Treetops St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing