We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Out of the way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Francis Bay

Francis Bay
Book In Advance
$199.99*
and up
British Virgin Islands Helicopter Tour
Ranked #15 of 94 things to do in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A pretty and amenable bay on St. John’s north shore. Beware: no changing facilities here.
Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Out of the way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

but worth a visit. Great snorkeling but there are no facilities. If you're in Cruz Bay, it's bit of a drive so take a picnic!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank Deb U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    198
    67
    14
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Ga
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“An unsung winner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2014

This beach is awesome and my favorite. Great sand and easy entry to snorkeling areas. Plenty of marine life including turtles, stingrays and many other reef fish. Barracuda, tarpon and parrot fish are abundant and great to observe. Great beach, don't miss it. Go to the Annaberg ruins, at the split in the road go left and travel to the end of the road. It's a very short walk to the beach and worth it.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
11 Thank sunnyand72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“BAIT FISH!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

Well some people that were staying near us suggested Francis, so we went. I have never seen millions of bait fish like this all in one place ever in my life. It was ridiculous. Actually, it scared me. Big fish eat bait fish, so in order to avoid sending the wrong impression I exited the water. We did see tarpon swimming amongst the bait fish. I also saw a reasonably sized barracuda here as well. According to some of the other reviews, other people don't mind swimming with bait fish. This was just not for me! It was fun to sit on the shore and watch the pelicans dive in to get some food. That was really cool to watch!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
10 Thank trpauley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Doesn't get much better.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2014

There are better-known North Shore beaches but Francis Bay is hard to beat. Long stretch of white sandy beach, very calm water, very good snorkeling. We arrived at 9 AM and enjoyed having the beach and the water virtually to ourselves for a couple of hours. Other advantages of early arrival: abundant shade, pleasant lighting for photographs, and access to one of the limited parking spaces. Pit toilets and picnic tables but not much else in the way of facilities.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank jerseycamper64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Favorite Beach on St John”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Francis Bay 6 or 7 times during visits to St John at it has become my favorite beach. Water is so calm....take a raft to float....you will absolutely love it. Every time at Francis I have seen turtles eating in the sea grass. The turtles hang out to the right (when looking out to from the beach). You can walk to the end of the beach and enter the water there. The best coral is on the right side as well. The water is rougher the further you go out but I have never had an issue. I usually see several stingrays around as well. The only down side to this beach is that parking can be limited and the only restroom is a permanent port-a-john although this could be the reason the beach is rarely crowded. I would suggest renting a car and beach hopping so you can take in several beaches with Francis Bay at the top of the list!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Cbr1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Bay also viewed

Cruz Bay, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Francis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing