We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of St. John's best beaches”
Review of Francis Bay

Francis Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$199.99*
and up
British Virgin Islands Helicopter Tour
Ranked #15 of 93 things to do in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A pretty and amenable bay on St. John’s north shore. Beware: no changing facilities here.
Tega Cay, South Carolina
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“One of St. John's best beaches”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Francis Bay is the last true "sand beach" when heading out from Cruz Bay. Parking is extensive and it is just a very short walk to the beach. And the beach is so long that is very easy to have a private spot of your own. It just never seems to be very crowded. And for some reason there is more wildlife hear than the other North Shore beaches. Many fish, pelicans, rays. The snorkeling at the far right end of the beach is also very good.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    73
    17
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Acworth, Georgia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Turtles w/remora and a very large cuda”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We don't stay on the land part of a beach very long so it didn't bother us that we put our towels down on a coral/rock part of the beach at Francis Bay. There is sand beach there too, just not where we were. We spend the entire time in the water. We were on a hunt for turtles and we were not disappointed. We saw 3 pretty big ones. One even had 2 remora clinging which made it a very strange sight. On the way back to the beach we came face-to-face wth the largest barracuda I have ever run into. We were swiming straight at him. He just casually made a 90 degree turn and headed to deeper water (we were in about 10 feet). He was large and frightful looking with those teeth. But ultimately not a problem at all. A successful and exciting day turtle hunting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheri-inAcworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
143 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Challenge to get to, but wonderful snorkeling and beach”
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

This beach can be a bit of a haul to get to, but it's worth it. Also the "road" to the beach is dirt and very rough. The beach itself is very nice. Great amount of marine life. Note that in the later afternoon while a great time to visit there, due to the sun's position, shade can be a little hard to come by.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank E r C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best snorkeling & clearest water of all the beaches we visited on St. John!”
Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

This beach was my favorite of the 4 we visited. Lots of fish, some eels, & sting rays. I'm sure there are sea turtles but I didn't see any. Water is pristine & white sand beach. Portapotty is only bathroom facility there though.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Nicole I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Our best snorkel on the island”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This bay ties with Waterlemon as our favorite snorkel, but its long, beautiful beach and easier access makes it a better all-around beach. Just gorgeous, with a long reef that gets better as you go farther out. Watch out for the current though - it's a lot harder to swim back! We saw beautiful coral and a huge variety of fish, as well as turtles in the open part of the bay, nurse sharks, including one right along the water's edge, and an octopus along the ledge where the reef starts. We went early and had it almost to ourselves. Highly recommended!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Haynes-Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Francis Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Francis Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing