We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Great place to shop, relax and eat on St. John!"” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mongoose Junction

Mongoose Junction
Book In Advance
More Info
$129.99*
and up
St John Day Trip from St Thomas: Island Sightseeing and Snorkeling at Trunk Bay
Ranked #3 of 31 Shopping in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mongoose Junction is St John's premier shopping and dining destination, with a collection of fashionable shops and restaurants in a unique architectural and tropical setting unmatched in the entire Caribbean. Visitors consider us one of St. John's favorite attractions after our National Park and beaches. Just a few minutes stroll from the St John Ferry Dock, you will find Mongoose Junction to be as varied and unique as St John itself, with shopping, restaurants, bars, clothing and other professional services for every style, age and taste.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase, Bathroom facilities
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
350 reviews
141 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“"Great place to shop, relax and eat on St. John!"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

A great place to browse the various shops, relax with a beverage and enjoy a great meal whether lunch or dinner. Great specialty shops and a good assortment of places to eat. My husband and I enjoy eating at the Ocean Grill when we are shopping on vacation.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinaNurse323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    41
    7
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Totally Unique Shopping Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was one of the most fun and unique shopping areas I've ever been to (and I've been to MANY!) I almost felt like I was exploring. The shopping center itself is absolutely beautiful. The shops are pricey, but they have really neat things - and if you look hard enough, you can find some very reasonably priced items. We ate lunch here also and it was delicious. My husband, who is not a very good shopper, really enjoyed the various art galleries. I recommend a stop here for anyone visiting St. John.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
Thank MrsMoFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
41 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Expensive Stores”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2012

My parents' luggage was lost upon their arrival to St John. This is pretty much the only place to try to find clothing on the island. They had problems finding things to fit them and at an affordable price.

The shopping center is very nice in appearance. The National Parks store is very cool and the employees were helpful. The Tap Room is a great place to sit and relax when you hit your shopping breaking point. There is a store with a lot of t-shirts that are wll made and at a good price. The nice jewelry store, R&I Patton, has unique and beautiful pieces. Parking is not too much of an issue, vehicles are constantly moving in and out of spots.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank blueoceaniris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“local bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2012

was so much fun.....and the shops terrific
the outside bar wsa great....purchased beautiful wine glasses that are being sent home!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank bahanowi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
170 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Beautiful stores with quality merchandise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2012

We visited Mongoose Junction frequently. The shopping center is beautiful and unique with a maze of shops, restaurants and an art gallery. We spent a couple of hours one day, an hour another day and half of a day walking and visiting the store owners. Everyone is friendly and easy going. The shopping center is very clean. Occasionally, you'll see a stray cat.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank goldilox057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mongoose Junction also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Mongoose Junction? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing