We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Mangrove snorkeling”
Review of Hurricane Hole

Ranked #51 of 93 things to do in St. John
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A storm-protected bay in the arms of mangrove trees with a lively and colorful nursery of fish.
Kentwood, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Mangrove snorkeling”
Reviewed February 22, 2014

I never thought I wanted to snorkel the mangroves until our captain strongly suggested I try it. Very cool and an interesting change of pace from typical reef snorkeling.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    1
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roselle, Illinois, Usa
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Best snorkeling we found on the island, as long as you have a boat to get there. Shallow waters make for flat calm conditions, and the mangroves offer varying 'theaters' for viewing a wide variety of marine life. Watch out for the enormous urchins, but enjoy everything else.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Jake Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, CT
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Peeking into Mother Nature's nursery...”
Reviewed December 19, 2013

When I first heard about snorkeling in mangroves, I thought it would be kind of creepy with all of those tangled tree roots. I imagined dark, creature from the black lagoon type of environment... boy, was I wrong! The first time I went, it must have been around May and sea grass had grown in great columns from the seafloor. The water was very clear and the columns made it seem like a mermaid's palace. Absolutely magical to swim with baby sharks and all kinds of juvenile fish. A little difficult to get to, either trying to find an opening from the road (be careful!) or by kayak.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank Tuxedocat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oh my never knew it could be so beautiful”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Snorkeling in the Mangroves is awesome, it is not stinky and water is crystal clear. However you need to hire someone to take you there snorkeling. Worth the money, don't touch anything it is amazing and it should stay that way for generations to see. Lots of coral, sea turtles, and this is like the nursery for all baby fish. Make it a day trip if you can, we only did a half day and it was too short, to much to see in such a short time.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Sharon O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Adventure snorkel on St John”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I've explored Hurricane Hole from a kayak and from the shoreline just off East End Road. Kayak out to the mangroves across Princess Bay - is a whole lot easier than swimming!

Investigate Otter Creek and Water Creek ( along the eastern shoreline) - they are the tiny coves lined with mangroves. Water ranges from about 20' to 2'. As you might guess the mangrove roots are a haven for all sorts of marine life! Well worth the effort - if you are looking for a unique adventure and love snorkeling!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Onislandtimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hurricane Hole also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Coral Bay, St. John
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Hurricane Hole? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing