We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our favorite side of the Island” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Bay

Coral Bay
Book In Advance
More Info
$249.99*
and up
St John Round-Island Snorkeling Tour from St Thomas
Ranked #22 of 95 things to do in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A home decidedly away from home for a number of U.S. expats who now reside in this eclectic community.
Inland Northwest, Us
Level Contributor
254 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Our favorite side of the Island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2011

Skinny Legs, Aqua Bistro, Miss Lucy's and Donkey Diner are some of the best restaurants on the Island. This side of the Island has great beaches and moves at a slower pace than Cruz Bay!

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Wildsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    31
    13
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
33 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2011

If you don't have time to make it over to coral bay, don't stress. We took the drive, had lunch and then went over to drunk bay. Other than that, not much to do/see...

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Krispy831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grover Beach, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worth the drive”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2011

At the far end of St. John, much more laid back than the main town. Fewer restaurants and other services, but fewer people as well.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Joe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskego, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
92 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Coral Bay and St John Tips Feb 2010”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2010

Spent a week in St John and just returned last night. Spent one night in St Thomas in a villa I found on VRBO which was near Red Hook, nothing special and it's a good idea to try to get a flight and arrive while it's still light outside so you can find the place.
We rented a 4WD Jeep through Dependable Car Rental which is one of the few that allow you to take the vehicle to St John. One of the best places we ate during the whole week was in St Thomas in Red Hook called East End Cafe. Ordered a salad with blackened Mahi. Great dinner. Wonderful atmosphere.
We took the car barge over to St John the next morning. Best tip from tripadvisor is NOT to get a round trip ticket on the barge as you may return on another carrier. Stayed at a VRBO #139522 in Coral Bay. The owner is quite attentive and has to meet you so you can follow him for the first time up this one way steep drive to get to his villa. The views are worth it. Coral Bay is very nice but you will have to drive to the other side to do most things. The roads are narrow but you get used to them, the speed limit is low. The pool at his villa had sun until 3pm this time of year. This would be the perfect villa if you want to just park it, read and enjoy the views.
The island appears to only have satellite without network stations so we were disappointed to find out we couldn't watch the Superbowl unless we went to a small bar with 300 other people! So set your DVRs so you don't miss your favorite shows back home. We were told our AT&T iphone would be normal charges but when we got there we had a text message warning us about $19.95 a minute so we didn't use the phone again.
Coral Bay is echoey and we had to turn on a portable fan to block out the music from the bars at night. But the music only went until about 11-11:30.
The beaches we visited seemed to mostly have narrow strips of sand, not alot of room for beachgoers. Our favorite place to snorkel was Honeymoon Bay on the left side. Great fish and coral. My favorite beaches turned out to be the one with facilities and a place to eat. Little Maho, Trunk and by far my favorite: Caneel Bay. Next time I would either go by cruise ship or just save enough money to spring for Caneel Bay. The reason for this is because eating out and groceries was extremely expensive. The best meal was at Caneel Bay lunch buffet. For the cost of their buffet you get a great meal. We were spending that kind of money for bar sandwiches anyway.
Regarding meals: the restaurants seem to have a schedule for lunch (11:30-2ish) and dinner (6pm). Once we got to Miss Lucy's around 3 and we could only order appetizers. Spent $12 for 3 scallops! Didn't go back again.
Was thinking of taking the ferry over to Virgin Gorda but glad I booked Bad Kitty instead. The staff was very attentive and fun. It was nice and not some drunk boat, even a few kids onboard. The day we were in Virgin Gorda there they had swells and you couldn't snorkel the Baths anyway.
My favorite shop was St John Spice and the Pharmacy above The Marketplace.
One last word to those directionally challenged, it is very hard to find your way around the island since roads are not well marked at all. You get on a road and eventually will see one sign showing the route you are on. The beaches aren't necessarily named or marked and the parking is horrible everywhere. The locals give you directions by buildings as if you know where those buildings are. It was a constant source of frustration.
TIPS:
Bring anti itch pen for whatever bites your legs and ankles (you never see them do it)
Rent 4WD Jeep
Just use baby shampoo and water for snorkel mask (got that tip from our excursion with Bad Kitty-well worth the money)
Buy one way car barge ticket if you do rent a car and take it to St John
Small portable cooler with freezer packs

Helpful?
12 Thank mauiwahine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Carolina
Level Contributor
117 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Simply Paradise.........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2009

Third trip in four years. Hate to recommend this place and make the best keep secret of this place in the Caribbean known. It is simply soooooooooo laid back. Rent yourself a house up at the top of the hills, get a 4X4, go the the bars and restaurants, drive to all the beaches, sandy on the north shore, rocky and snorkel specials on the SE. The cast of characters indeed justify the bumper sticker that "St. John is the World's largest outdoor asylum". I wish I could join them on a permanent basis. There some issues, like lack of a water system, each house has a cistern for rain water and you must learn to really conserve water, but all I can think of is returning next year. Hit the place in the low season, May through October, it is even better when the snow birds go away........

Helpful?
6 Thank Solrac24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coral Bay also viewed

Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
Virgin Islands National Park, St. John
 

Been to Coral Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing