We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A good value home on Bordeaux mountain”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
travelgir...
Huntsville, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path with great views, but pool needs some TLC”
Reviewed June 2, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Our small family (me+husband+baby) rented Esprit for a week, and like others have stated, was a good size for us. If you have a baby, finding a villa with two bedrooms in close proximity within the house can be difficult.
The downstairs bedrooms are a perfect setup if you have a small child that needs to be in a room close by. Just FYI, the stairs in this house are pretty steep, on both the inside and outside.

The upstairs does not have A/C and it got very hot during the day, even with the windows open to let in the breeze. There are big windows with no curtains or blinds to block out the sun. The downstairs bedrooms do have individual A/C units. Normally this would be fine for my husband and I, but our baby got really hot and sweaty upstairs. We couldn’t go outside because the mosquitoes were so bad you would get eaten alive. Even when going in and out of the house, we had to shut the doors very fast so they wouldn’t get in. Also, the pollen and Sahara Dust were really bad during our stay. This made hanging out upstairs even worse because of all the open windows.

The pool was the most disappointing thing about this rental. It did NOT look like it does in the pictures. It looked like a mosquito breeding ground, and I wouldn’t stick my big toe in it. Our greeter noticed the condition and said she would send maintenance out, but no one ever showed up. The pool deck was also disgusting and I wouldn’t have walked barefoot on it. I get that you are in the mountains with all the vegetation, but this was beyond that. It looked like the pool and deck hadn’t been maintained in quite a while.

This rental is also way off the beaten path and down some rougher roads. With a baby, this was a pain. She got sick one night during our stay, and it felt like forever getting to the 24 hour clinic at 1am in the morning. Also, although this is a small detail, there is a gate at the end of the drive that you have to manually open and close when you leave or arrive. My husband got super tired of opening and closing this gate a million times a day.

We ended up having to leave this rental after staying only 3 out of our 7 planned nights. Our baby was having breathing difficulty with the lack of A/C, open windows, and dust/pollen situation, so Catered To allowed us to rent another villa for the other 4 nights (for a hefty fee). Luckily, this wasn’t our first trip to St. John or our first villa rental, and we know how amazing the island is. Lesson learned is that you really do get what you pay for. This is a good value, but is not a luxury property by any means. I wouldn't recommend this property to families with small children.

Date of stay: May 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 3, 2017
Thank you for your review of Esprit. We are sorry that you experienced any challenges during your stay.

While mosquitoes are not a problem on the island, or Esprit for most of the year, the entire island was experiencing a major mosquito outbreak during the period of time that you were visiting. Moreover it was unusually hot and muggy that week as well.

We were very concerned to hear that your child was having breathing difficulty, the result of extreme Sahara dust that had blanketed the islands, and we were pleased to have a villa available with full air conditioning to help make your group more comfortable. We are sorry that all of our efforts to accommodate you in a difficult situation at a substantial discount were not sufficient.

We would like to mention that the pool cleaner did visit the property as promised however your group was not at the villa when they arrived.

Again we apologize for any difficulty that you had, and we do hope that you otherwise enjoyed your visit to St. John and we hope to welcome you back under better weather and environmental conditions.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark S
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A good value home on Bordeaux mountain”
Reviewed March 14, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Our family has stayed at this home several times. The location on the mountain affords wonderful views and a a welcome breeze. It is in close proximity to 2 other houses but still very quiet. The road to the house is unimproved in parts, so a Jeep or similar vehicle is best. The location is equidistant from north and south shore beaches, so you can reach any spot within 30 minutes or so. The house is very clean and there is a mid week linen service by a friendly crew. This is an excellent rental at the price point, but I would not classify it as a luxury house. It is dated and I have not noticed many improvements over the years. The air conditioning unit has been upgraded in the master bedroom and is much quieter now. I think that with some attention to small but needed repairs, this place would be more special. We got one call from the managers at the end of our stay, to make sure that we understood the departure process. I think a call earlier during the stay to make sure everything was in order would be more appropriate.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
floridali...
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“high in the mountains”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

What a beautiful, high in the mountain view. The breeze was unbelievable and the comfort of the rooms was great. the only hard part was the drive way, but you can make do with that. Great home...

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the view, the breeze and the mountains
Liked least: drive way
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
31tricia
Centreville, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great St John Home on Bordeaux Mountain for small family.”
Reviewed September 24, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Our 4th summer trip to St John with our two college age children and first stay on Bordeaux Mountain. The constant cool breeze was a refreshing change from our previous stays in properties closer to water and kept those pesky mosquitos away. Very clean home and well equipped kitchen kept us in for dinner most nights. The quick trip to the north shore beaches and easy access to Coral Bay grocery will keep us coming back to this location. The Catered To property managers are the most accommodating, responsive and professional people to work with and would highly recommend them for any property on St John. Note: 3rd bedroom is not suitable for small children and is accessed out side the main house.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashrenwil
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful home and views!”
Reviewed April 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We couldn't find a home that compared to this one for the price especially since they throw in a rental car! The views here are amazing the house is MUCH bigger than the pictures portray and everything looks just as beautiful as the pictures show. The neighbors are great they have two dogs which are very friendly our kids loved them! I will say if you are pregnant in the first trimester you may want to stay somewhere closer to Cruz Bay I really struggled with the roads and we made the trip down and back 2x a day everyday. We loved the home it felt like we were in the jungle all by ourself! Also Catered To did a great job accomadating us they met us at the ferry dock to welcome us and got us set up with our car took us to get groceries then to our home. The house also had some groceries in it which was helpful!

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quakertown
Reviewed December 14, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: November 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MILLVILLE
Reviewed August 3, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Date of stay: July 2013
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing