We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful”

Review of Chateau Margot

Quiet Castle Like Retreat
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Quiet Castle Like Retreat
Estate on Verdant Bordeaux Muntain
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
12 reviews
Quiet Castle Like Retreat
Estate on Verdant Bordeaux Muntain
Entrance
Breezeway Between Living Room an Office
Great House with 3 Bedrooms and 2 Baths
Great Room
Beautiful Plantation Style Dinint
State of the Art Kitchen
Breakfast Alcove
Serene Island View Pool
Master Bath
Polished Coral Shower in Master Bath
Master Suite With Four Poster Mahogany King
SeaStar bedroom with twin beds, which may also be made as a king
Parrot Room with Queen Bed
Bamboo Suite, the lower level of Guest House
Orchid Suite, Upper Level of Guest House
Walkway to Coral Cottage
Coral Cottage With Kitchenette
Island Views from Cottage
Listen to the Stirring of the Palms
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
LUVSNL
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful Property, but challenges with manager”
Reviewed July 25, 2012 for a stay in January 2011
5
people found this review helpful

We rented this property for what I thought would be a dream come true for me and a select few of my wedding guests. The view, layout, architecture, decorum, everything was even better than what I imagined. The only challenges we faced were with the pool not staying filled and there was some sort of contractor or repair person on the property at least 3 out of the 7 days we stayed there. No sweat, we didn't make a big deal out of it because overall we had a great time, until...

...we returned home in anticpation of getting our security deposit back and the owner managed to nitpick us out of 90% of our $$. =:-O We're talking minor stains from eating dinner on the table cloth (isn't that what you're supposed to do on a table cloth?), to inoperable TV/DVD system (which was buggy from day 1--we just figured we lacked the technical expertise to figure it out), to a couple chairs and tables not in the exact spot where they were originally. The only justified infraction was for smoking in a room by one of my guests (shameful, I know). But everything else was just really petty, especially considering this was my wedding and we brushed off so many inconveniences by random visits from strange men (contractors/repair guys) over the course of days when many female guests were scantily clad around the pool--inappropriate.

As I bride who paid for her own wedding out of pocket (no family help), I was really hurt & disappointed. It was just a bad ending to what would have been an almost perfect wedding villa rental. We got some of the money back, but not all--it was really the principal of the matter moreso than the $$. I understand the travel industry gets hit the hardest in times of recession and often times property owners have to make up expenses any way they know how, but great customer service goes a looooooong way.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Breathtaking Views
Liked least: Presence of workers, Security deposit fiasco
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Reviewed August 31, 2011 for a stay in April 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Family with teenagers
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2015
Hi Stephen!
We are so sorry we are just now responding to your review, we are just now learning we can respond to reviews. We love that you enjoyed Chateau Margot and it was a place you could join together families for such a lovely time! We hope to host you again soon and until then, please follow us on insta and FB to keep St. John in your thoughts!
Have a lovely day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kshinn200...
Greencastle, Indiana
1 review
“Breath Taking Views”
Reviewed May 24, 2011 for a stay in May 2011

The home was beautiful and very accommodating to a party of 12 people (6 couples) who were there to witness the union of a beautiful marriage. It was very spacious and open and exceeded our expectations for amenities. We were able to hold a small dinner party there for 12 in the dinning room which provided ample room to seat and serve everyone. The kitchen is just as beautiful as it looks in the photos and was well stocked with quality cookware. Overall, the pictures on the website truly reflect the beauty of the property and home with the exception of the pool which is much smaller then what it appears to be in the photo yet it was still very nice. The driveway is a little difficult to maneuver in but anyone visiting St. John will find this to be true for allot of driveways and a 4 wheel drive vehicle is a must. We would definitely recommend this villa to family and friends.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 19, 2015
Hi KShinn2000,
We are so thankful that you enjoyed the views and that our description of Chateau Margot did not let you down! Do please forgive our incredibly delayed response to your review, as we were unaware we could respond! Please do know Chateau Margot has only improved in its beauty, every September we do work on the villa and have improved the grounds as well. I am sorry that the pool was a little smaller than you and anticipated, and I don't know if we listed the dimensions of the pool then, but on our new website (check it out!!!) the dimensions are prominently listed. We would love to have you back down and we hope to hear from you soon! Until then, please follow us on FB and Insta to keep our lovely rock in your thoughts! Have a wonderful day!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delaware
Reviewed March 22, 2010 for a stay in January 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: House fully equiped
Liked least: No pool heater
Traveling group: Family with young children
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ms
Reviewed July 3, 2009 for a stay in April 2009

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Luxury villa
Liked least: Challenging drive to get there
Traveling group: Family (extended)
Your age range 55-64
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Luxury-minded travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
IL
Reviewed June 23, 2009 for a stay in February 2008
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Families with teenagers Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing