We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Better than Advertised”
other traveler has booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
23 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 23 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Evan Z
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Better than Advertised”
Reviewed April 4, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

La Bella Vita is better than advertised. The pictures do not do the place justice. We had a group of 9 people and one infant. Out of the 9, six were adults and three were between the ages of five and twelve. This house was perfect for us. Three of the bedrooms had king size beds for the three couples. The four bedroom had two twin beds—and then we had a rollout brought in—which was ideal for the three kids. The infant slept in a pack-n-play which the house provided. All four bedrooms had their own bathroom and shower, plus there were two additional common bathrooms throughout the property.

The pool, while not technically an infinity pool, practically is. It is large enough for kids to play-in. the depth of it ranges from 4ish feet to over 6 feet. The best part of the house is all of the outdoor space. The property has plenty of terraces, complete with lounges and chairs. The outdoor Viking grill and outdoor Subzero mini fridge are also convenient. As for the house itself, each bedroom is private in that it can only be reached by walking outside on the covered veranda. The house is wired inside and out with the Sonos sound system, which is easily accessed through the Sonos app. Also, the house has wireless internet but given St. John, it can be sporadic. Each room of the house has its own AC unit, complete with remote control. The most difficult part of the house is learning which switches control which lights and ceiling fans. In defense of the house, there are labels on all of the switches.

The house is great for families or for couples. Note though, the house has many steps from the pool up to the main floor. One of our favorite parts of our trip were the iguana friends who shared our patio almost every day! We loved the house and are already discussing when we might visit again.

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
irish34nd
Portland, ME
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome villa!”
Reviewed April 27, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We have been travelling to St. John for many years and always rent a different villa each year. We have found our favorite and would definitely go back to La Bella Vita. The views are the best we have seen on the island - great sunsets (as with most houses near Chocolate Hole and Great Cruz Bay), but also was high enough to see to the north, over other hills of St. John - other homes in Virgin Grande Estates right down the road don't have views as good as La Bella Vita.

We had 2 families with a total of 4 kids - plenty of room for everyone to spread out with the equally sized bedrooms. The living space was excellent - ate outside every night at the outdoor kitchen. Great Viking grill and fridge outside that allowed us to not make many trips back to the kitchen during happy hour.

Service from Catered To is outstanding - we broke an outdoor light fixture and their maintenance staff came to clean up the glass that day, along with the pool staff who swept the pool so we could enjoy it the rest of our stay.

The only issue we had with our stay was that the kitchen did not have a pot big enough to cook the lobster we had caught while snorkeling!

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great sunset views
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathleen...
Livonia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautiful home with great views!”
Reviewed January 31, 2016 for a stay in January 2016

The house was as described and we were not disappointed. The beds were very comfortable and loved the individual air conditioning units in each bedroom. The open air shower was wonderful but it really isn't an "outdoor" shower as it's enclosed in the bathroom. But it did have a great view through the screened window. The outdoor Viking grill was outstanding and worked great.
Only problems were small but did affect us. The patio refrigerator did not work at all which created a lack of storage for cold drinks when we were laying out by the pool. So we had to go up the stairs and in to the kitchen fridge each time. And with food for 8 people in there it didn't leave much room for the beverages. The property manager did tell us about it when we got there and said he was going to try to replace it while we were there but it didn't happen. There were not enough cushions for the patio furniture which was unusual because the rest of the house was so well appointed. Overall it was an excellent rental I would recommend to anyone.

Date of stay: January 2016
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 1, 2016
Hi;

Thanks so much for the positive review of La Bella Vita. We wish to apologize for the patio refrigerator not working. Being a Viking appliance, it is challenging getting replacement parts here in the Virgin Islands. We have been able to find the pieces necessary and should have this feature repaired soon. We hope to welcome you back in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houstonhu...
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Amazing Villa”
Reviewed August 31, 2015 for a stay in September 2015

The pictures don't do this villa justice. It's absolutely AMAZING. We had 7 people in our party. It was more than enough space for all of us. We took full advantage of the pool and outdoor areas. The villa was nicely appointed. Cateredto was awesome to work with. The villa isn't too far from Cruz Bay or the beaches to the north. I will miss waking up to those incredible views.

Date of stay: September 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Agsetsail
Saint Simons Island, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Villa for our First Time Islanders”
Reviewed June 30, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
2
people found this review helpful

La Bella Vita fit the bill for this years trip. We traveled with three other couples and they all loved this villa. The villa has four separate and EQUAL master suites with outdoor showeres. The view was spectacular over looking the Westin Resort and the twinkly lights of St. Thomas. La Bella Vita easily accommodates eight people and has a nice kitchen and Viking grilling area on the pool level. The entire villa is also air conditioned which is not the norm on the island. It is just 10 minutes from Cruz Bay and 20 minutes from the beach. One of the best things about this villa is that it is managed by Cateredto Vacation Rentals and they are the best! Cateredto sends a represenetive to meet you at the ferry dock so you never go through the hassle of checking in. Lots of comp goodies await you when you arrive at the villa. The only down side on this villa is it's sub standard sound system.

Date of stay: June 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Equal bedrooms
Liked least: Sound system
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bushola
Houston, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Doesn't get any better than this!”
Reviewed May 31, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary at this amazing home with another couple. The service with Catered to was fantastic and helpful. The home was amazing with the best views in St. John and we could not have had a better week. This property is perfect for large families or four couples wanting to enjoy the pool and views. It was easy to access, (after getting over driving on the opposite side of the road) close to town and attractions, but far enough away to feel privacy and some seclusion. The kitchen was stocked with everything you need to prepare meals and you could even have someone come in and cook for you! I can not say enough good things about this property and the customer service. We will be back!
Two wish list items: better beach chairs, speakers outside by the pool.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: beach chairs
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 1, 2015
Thank you for your review of La Bella Vita. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your time on St. John!

We have gone ahead and replaced all of the beach chairs and we will certainly take into consideration installing speakers outside that will enhance the poolside experience while not disrupting the neighbors.

Thank you again for the kind review and we hope to welcome you back in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
susanlst
Senoia, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Stunning views overlooking a beautiful vista”
Reviewed September 19, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Our group of six spent a week at beautiful La Bella Vita. The four bedroom home accommodated our group of three couples perfectly. Each couple had a private retreat bedroom which included a king size bed and a spacious bathroom. The linens were fresh and high quality. The bathroom is stunning, including double sinks and plenty of room to spread out toiletries. A large bench provided a great place for suitcases, as well as two empty shelved closets for unpacking. The shell/stone large very spacious shower is stunning, and the same in every room. Unfortunately, the bathrooms are NOT air conditioned which makes for a warm, humid room. There is a window in each bathroom, but the window did not provide any of us the privacy or air flow we required.

Catered To, the rental company met us at the dock in St. John and escorted us to the house. We were pleased with the welcome food package that they had provided - munchies water, coffee and tea, just enough to get us started that first day. Unfortunately, they had not turned on the fans or air conditioning in the house - so we were greeted by a warm, stuffy house. Turning the air on in advance of our arrival would have been very welcoming.

The main room of the house includes a lovely granite counter top kitchen with all of the appliances/accessories/cooking tools one could want in any home. The dining room has a large dining table, big enough for eight. It is covered in glass which badly needs to be removed and cleaned. The sitting area includes comfy sofas and chairs and a media cabinet with a television and sound system. There is also a half bath. This main room is separate from all of the bedrooms, you must exit the room, go outside to the covered patio area to access any of the bedrooms. There are two bedrooms upstairs, and two down a set of stairs, which is also where the pool is located. We enjoyed breakfast outside on patio furniture each morning overlooking the beautiful view.

The pool is not large but certainly big enough for the six of us to cool down in each afternoon after a day at the beach in St. John.

We loved the house and had an awesome week! Here's what we would have needed for this review to have said Excellent:
Air conditioning in the bathrooms.
The house needed a good cleaning - lots of cobwebs and even bird poop on a vase in the living room.
The 3 king size bedrooms have four poster beds that each have a post that blocks the view of the television for the people in the bed. So weird! Cut the foot board posts off or mount the tv's on the wall.
There is no outside sound system - we provided our own speaker system.
More floating mats for the pool - there are only two.
Upon arrival we were told there would be a cleaning service coming on Tuesday. We decided we didn't want it/or need it and didn't want to deal with the worry of people coming in the house while we were not home. When we called the housekeeper to tell her not to come, she said, "Oh, was that today?" This would be a nice optional service. We will have paid for a cleaning we did not want or need.
An inventory needs to be done, some of the equipment needs replacing - coolers have broken handles, laundry basket is broken, etc... The stuff is here, but it is showing its' age.
The pool needs a good cleaning.
The refrigerator by the pool does not keep drinks cool enough (warm beer)

Note, these are minor 'complaints' and we make them in the spirit of making this an excellent stay for those who follow us. The house is stunning and deserves to be in tip top condition.

Things we loved about the house:
2 washers and 2 dryers! So great for washing towels after a day at the beach.
2 grills, one upstairs, and one downstairs by the pool.
Plenty of outdoor furniture - we had noted this was an issue in previous reviews.
Great location, very private. No obvious neighbor noise.
Pool was great.
Plenty of beach towels.
Picturesque views!

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views are awesome.
Liked least: Cleanliness of the house.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 21, 2014
Thank you for your detailed review of La Bella Vita. We are very happy to you enjoyed your stay. thank you for the feedback rewarding the inventory. We do order inventory as needed throughout the year, and we have added the items you mentioned to the most current order. The villa has also received a very deep cleaning as a result of your review. Thank you again for your review and we hope to welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
No pets
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing