We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic”
Review of Vie's Snack Shack - CLOSED

Vie's Snack Shack
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: We are open Tuesdays to Saturdays from 10:00 am - 5:00 pmClosed Sundays and Mondays
Maryland
Level Contributor
140 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Authentic”
Reviewed July 14, 2014

A St. John landmark, Vie's is the real deal. An extremely limited menu, everything is made fresh as you order it. We loved our meal of garlic fried chicken, johnny cakes with honey, dirty rice, and conch fritters, and in combination with the drive out along East End, the entire experience made for a truly memorable day. Definitely recommended!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennJ14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    79
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mukwonago, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A piece of Island life”
Reviewed July 12, 2014

A shack it is but, a fun spot to take in the island spirit. Be prepared to have a wait for your meal (definitely island pace), with an outdoor picnic table dining experience. Very limited menu. Then why 4 stars you wonder. It just a fun little place with real island food and spirit. We tried the fried chicken dinner served with 'Johnny cakes' and of course the conch fritters. Both were very good perfectly cooked and satisfying. Grab a couple of Red Stripes, park butt at a picnic table with the gang and just enjoy this family run, island staple, out of the way "shack". Not to be missed for the lovers of the best island in the Caribbean.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
128 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
“Nice day at the beach”
Reviewed June 30, 2014

Hansen Bay is a very beautiful spot to snorkel and to just lay on the beach. We saw four squids, some fish and a shark! Entrance has a $2,50 fee and you can stay as much as you want (from 10am to 5pm from tues. to sat.). We also rented two kayak ($18 for one and $30 for two). We spent a very nice day relaxing on the beach. We also eat at Vie's shack. The menu has few choices: conch fritters are really good while the hot dog and the Johnny cake are so so... Anyway, it is a place to try both for the food and to spend a relaxing day on the beach.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Holden83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Vie's”
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Great place - I believe it is the MOST EASTERN snack bar in the US!

Great chicken and conch and dirty rice.

Nice place to hang an just take it all in.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter-from-Darien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Delicious conch fritters ~ super friendly owners!”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Best conch fritters we had on the island ~ love the drive out to the east end ~ and well worth the trip!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jenny n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vie's Snack Shack also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing