We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conch Fritter Queen !”
Review of Vie's Snack Shack - CLOSED

Vie's Snack Shack
Price range: $1 - $12
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch
Description: We are open Tuesdays to Saturdays from 10:00 am - 5:00 pmClosed Sundays and Mondays
Colleyville, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Conch Fritter Queen !”
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Almost as far as you can drive on the Eastern end of St. John lies a Jewel of the Caribbean!
My wife and I stumbled upon Vie's several years back while out just drive-seeing, and am I glad we did.
Hand's down, Vie makes the best darn conch fritters I have ever had...EVER..and that's saying a lot, as I am a self-proclaimed conch fritter NUT!
Each order is MADE top order, right there in front of you. Whether it is Vie's daughter, or the Queen herself, each request is then prepped, fried, and served with a smile. Just have a seat at a table nearby, enjoy a cold beverage and the scenery, and prepare yourself for culinary pleasure. Conch fritters aren't the only thing on the menu, but, they are so good, I can't bring myself to ever try anything BUT ! The price is so right..and so is the flavor !!
If there was any drawback at all, it is that Vie's isn't open on Sunday or Monday....causing us to miss her this year-around. So with a heavy-heart...and a desire that must wait until next year, we waved a fond farewell to our most favorite spot and headed back to Cruz Bay.
And as a bonus...the family also owns a beautiful little private beach, accessible by a path right across the road from the Snack Shak, for a mere few dollars per person. How can you lose ??

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Toonces300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    79
    20
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
United States
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fried chicken doesn't get any better”
Reviewed May 1, 2012

What a gem of a place on the east end of the island. Well worth the drive, evidenced by the number of people we countered - past 3 o'clock and 4 of the 6 picnic tables full. Johnny cakes with honey and the moistest, crispy chicken. What a great treat. Conch fritters were appreciated by the neighboring table. Avail yourself of Vie's private beach while you are there.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CleoandMonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Yummy conch fritters”
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Stopped in here for lunch after snorkeling at haul over south and the food was tasty. I enjoyed the conch fritters and the johnny cake was amazing! Nice little beach to enjoy after eating!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jglaserjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pa.
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“A must stop in the East end”
Reviewed April 13, 2012

Vie's was a welcome treat after a morning snorkeling North and South Haulover Bay. I had the garlic chicken meal with rice/beans, cole slaw, and johnny cakes with honey. The meal was HUGE. You get like 1/2 a chicken with a crispy skin. The johnny cakes were to die for. The cole slaw and rice/beans were also delicious. My husband had the rice/ beans with meat sauce that he really liked. We shared a homemade pineapple tart that was fantastic with a cinnamony crust, mmmmm. Vies is literally a snack shack and you sit in the yard area at picnic tables. The food was great and cheap. The ambience was even better. Definitely worth the trip over to the east end to enjoy some local food.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank snorkeler-6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Local Food”
Reviewed April 3, 2012

We stopped in as they were closing. Vie's daughter was working and she cooked us the last of the chicken that she had, fried conch, hotdogs, and johnny cakes. Everything was good, a good snack if you are looking for a quick meal on this end of the island. It was a little strange eating chicken while chickens roam around my feet.

The drive from Coral Bay was a little rough but it was worth seeing this end of the island.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank blueoceaniris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vie's Snack Shack also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing