We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific Barbecue and Value”

Uncle Joe's Barbecue
Ranked #40 of 121 Restaurants in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
174 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Terrific Barbecue and Value”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

We loved the chicken and ribs and their sauces. Service excellent, and Uncle Joe visited with us. Prices excellent and will absolutely return. Not much atmosphere but didn't mind.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank FrankDiB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    155
    48
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Syracuse, New York, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Excellent BBQ”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

My hubby and I both got the combo plates with ribs and chicken. The meat was so tender it fell off the bones. The bbq sauce is scrumptious. And the homemade sides are delicious too. We had macaroni salad and cole slaw. Great to sit out on their small patio and watch the "hustle and bustle" of Love City go by.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peds_Nurse_Kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Saucy”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

I had BBQ Chicken for lunch and it was great, it was quite saucy (i like sauce) but if you don't want a lot ask for it on the side.. Slaw was great and the corn was just OK.. The service was good, they were very nice and accommodating..

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thequeenjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Not the same”
Reviewed December 26, 2013

Joe's used to be one of our favorite local eats. Not anymore! Everything is pre-cooked and thrown on the grill last minute, slightly warmed and then has BBQ sauce thrown over it. Very dissapointed!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank ginnyc48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Mansfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Awesome chicken BBQ”
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We go here every time we go to St. John. One block over from the ferry. Across from the post office. You can get a 1/2 chicken with extra sauce, rice with extra sauce, and cole slaw for $12.00 it is worth every penny. Outside seating is available or you can carry out.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dawnd1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Joe's Barbecue also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Uncle Joe's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing