We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chicken is excellent”

Uncle Joe's Barbecue
Ranked #40 of 121 Restaurants in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
107 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Chicken is excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

You can smell the smokey barbecue on the grill as you walk around lower Cruz Bay....this is the enticer for sure! They baked the chicken first...then place on the grills to get that yummy taste and super aroma.... you must try.... it is well worth it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geojourneyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    155
    48
    14
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome, best ribs ever!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

The ribs and chicken are so good here, and you can't beat the portions and side dishes. What a nice change from the over priced tourist traps....so glad we walked by this place, we went back three times while we were in St. John...

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eastcoastkitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“He ought to patent the ribs!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Nothing like meaty ribs ... the sides are generous too, so you don't walk away hungry. Try to make time to pop in ... if not during your frist trip then your next.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank PAKMANOFTHEVI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richland, Michigan
Level Contributor
127 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Don't go with a toddler”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

I've eaten here alot - and love it. However, this time around we had our daughter with us and they don't have high chairs. Ever try to eat ribs with a toddler in your lap? So I can't completely blame uncle joe for the experience - we did decide to stay once we knew there wasn't a high chair, but the ribs seemed a little off this time as well. Maybe they were getting cold from wrangling the kid. Who knows. In any case, I'd normally give uncle joe's 4 stars minimum, but I wanted to warn others with small kids ... it can be a challenge.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wilkintj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“killer ribs”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Anyone that comes to St John knows how expensive dining out is. If you are here for a while do yourself and your wallet a favor and pick up a plate from here and take it back to your room. 2 plates for about 25.00 and more food than you can eat. I could get the ribs every day but my wife vetoed that idea although she thought the ribs were awesome too. Come down in the evening, get a beer, and take in the local sights, sounds and flavor of Cruz Bay. Great way to experience local St John. Did not get the "unfriendly service " people post about. Seemed just about right to me. Don't expect Zozos going there and you will be fine.
'

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Uncle Joe's Barbecue also viewed

 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Cruz Bay, St. John
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Uncle Joe's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing