We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In Coral Bay, not much to choose. This is probably the best.”
Review of Shipwreck Landing

Shipwreck Landing
Ranked #36 of 122 Restaurants in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Orlando, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“In Coral Bay, not much to choose. This is probably the best.”
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Decent variety of food, bar, and good service. A few salads, soup, burgers, and fish entrees. An outdoor covered cafe on the bay.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank OrlandoTraveler32814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    256
    190
    84
    26
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good food/good service”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Ordered crab cake lunch and shrimp blackened shrimp appetizer. Food was very good and service was prompt.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank robdawg925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good Grouper Sandwich”
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Grouper Sandwich was very good. The sauce gives it a unique flavor. Fries were very blah. I hear the coleslaw is the best side but they had just run out so I had the pasta salad. Not bad. Drink was decent and atmostphere in the open air dining is nice. This is the second time we have visited and we had an issue with our service/bill this time around which left a bit of a sour taste. We ordered conch fritters and never got them, but they were still on our bill. When we raised it to the manager or owner or whoever was trying to help the 1 waitress out, rather than just recalculate our bill, she just saw that our bill was $48.25 and since they conch fritters were that (which they weren't - they were $8.75) she just crossed off the amount and said "let's just make it $40.00 even. Sure, we're talking cents but the tax is all figured on that higher amount so you just can't deduct the amount from the final total. It really shouldn't have been such a big deal to go recalculate our bill. It's too bad because otherwise I would have provided a much better review. Next day when we were back in the area, we went somewhere else. If you do go, be sure to check the shops adjacent. Make sure you have time to chat with the show owners/keepers. They are very friendly and have some intersesting stories.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WorkingTravelMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went to this restaraunt at the suggestion of the innkeeper. The food we ordered was fresh and quite flavorful. We had a fabulous and HUGE martini so if you are looking for a good cocktail, this is the place. We did not love the key lime pie, though...the only dissappointment.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesliefk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Grab the Grouper”
Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here a couple of weeks ago. Was originally recommended by a friend who lives on the island - usually a good sign. Had a delicious grouper sandwich and a great chicken soup. Have had several other menu and special items in the past and have never been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Landing also viewed

 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Coral Bay, St. John
 

Been to Shipwreck Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing