We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shipwreck Landing

Shipwreck Landing
Ranked #39 of 125 Restaurants in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Williamsburg, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
69 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2013

We went to this restaraunt at the suggestion of the innkeeper. The food we ordered was fresh and quite flavorful. We had a fabulous and HUGE martini so if you are looking for a good cocktail, this is the place. We did not love the key lime pie, though...the only dissappointment.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank lesliefk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    176
    77
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hellertown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
74 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Grab the Grouper”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Had lunch here a couple of weeks ago. Was originally recommended by a friend who lives on the island - usually a good sign. Had a delicious grouper sandwich and a great chicken soup. Have had several other menu and special items in the past and have never been disappointed.

Helpful?
Thank Thomas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
303 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“Always a great choice on St. John”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is always one of the best places to eat on St. John. You know its good if locals eat their regularly. We went last year and returned again to another good meal. Its in Coral Bay, on the other side of the island from Cruz Bay, but worth the drive. It is a small unpretentious casual place on the water (across the street from the water). Here you can dress up or down, either way. Open air but covered seatings. Daily specials. Large portions for the price compared to other Cruz Bay spots. Good attentive service. Fresh seafood. Wonderful blackened fish and fish and chips. The salads are small but remember they have to have that shipped from half way round the world. We like this place for high quality seafood, good service and casual atmosphere. We always eat here on every trip to St. John.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pirateparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice Little Place With A Great View”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

A nice place for a late lunch after a day of snorkeling. As with most things on St. John, it was a little expensive ($85 with tip for 2 adults/3 children), but it was a comfortable and relaxed atmosphere right across the street from the water. Food was good and we give bonus points for a kids menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DarkBlueInk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsdale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
70 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great stopover from Salt Pond”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013

After a long day at Salt Pond, we were starving... but it was "too late for lunch and too early for dinner." We were beyond thrilled to find that Shipreck Landing has a menu for that odd time of day! The Gazpacho and Greek salad were so refreshing and we enjoyed a side of conch fritters that didn't disappoint. Our kids enjoyed the cheeseburgers (we thought they were a little overdone). Nice cocktail selection and atmosphere...loved the view. As with most places, when you visit around that time, don't forget your bug spray!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank msnewll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwreck Landing also viewed

Coral Bay, St. John
Coral Bay, St. John
 

Been to Shipwreck Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing