We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Closed!”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Donkey Diner - CLOSED

Donkey Diner
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: American, Pizza, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Donkey Diner is an 'eclectic' restaurant situated in Coral Bay...sometimes mellow, sometimes zany, but always outrageously fun! We specialize in breakfast, pizza & Kickass Bloody Marys!We are located on Route 10 across from the Guy Benjamin Elementary school. There's plenty of parking but we're also easily accessible from the dinghy dock or VITRAN bus. We are open daily from 7am to 8pm. Cash or traveler's checks only please.
Elysburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Closed!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

Very disappointed to find the Donkey Diner closed. They had great pizza when we stopped in last year.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank BandBinPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    58
    16
    5
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken
Level Contributor
126 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Closed, as is OUT of business.”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

Disappointed to learn, first hand as we drove the entire island for Sunday brunch, that the owners have left us beggars in the lurch - rumors fly, but it is closed.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank rddevita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent place for breakfast”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

Great breakfast & service. Nice stop on way to Salt Pond Bay. The English Muffin sandwich was gigantic and good for a day on the road.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank beachcomber1313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coral Bay, St. John
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Somebody buy this place, please. (Be prepared to spend your time there)”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

It takes special kind of attention to bring a successful brand to disaster. Unfortunately, the beloved Donkey Diner succumbed to such a fate. Past history has shown that this Coral Bay icon has transcended recurring transfers in ownership, with sustained, and sometimes heightened, success. I've been a DD patron since first visiting Love City in '03, again in '05, many times during extended caretaking jobs in '07 - '10, and then as a regular, several time a month guest beginning 2 years ago, when I became a Coral Bay resident.

I wrote a disappointed review last October, just after the recent owner took over. I needn't repeat the historical chronology that's truthfully attested in the reviews the past 8 months. I was being kind in rating with 2s and 3s, looking at what positives were persisting. These "positives" likely gave rise to the great ratings of a few visitors who had the good luck of things rarely going right. During the merry go round of staff turnover, some good employees might have given some folks a legitimate, satisfying DD experience. I have continued to go to DD for take out pizzas, and most have been pretty good. They've always been promised in 20 minutes and were never ready, sometimes, not even in the oven in that time. (Not once, because the place was busy.)

I take out, because I was dissatisfied with the sterile environment and installation of big screen tv's in place of the good karma of funky atmosphere, good music, friendly and attentive management, mirrored in the staff. Only since early spring has a new manager been actually on site during my brief visits. The prior manager was not available, even when I called to know when he would be in and still could not make contact about overpaying for missing ingredients on a prior takeout.

I'm not opposed to someone making the DD their own, that's an owner's prerogative. I'll hope the current owner is able to make a quick sale and that another owner will show more knowledge, skill and experience in restoring friendly and attentive management. Regularly dependable 3-5 day a week pizza and 4-7 day a week breakfast on a fixed schedule with timely and consistent service of reliably good food will bring back sustaining local clientele and clear up the hit and miss experience of vacationers. An owner's investment of capital, without an equal measure of on the job presence, will augur continued failure and damage. Skinny's is a good example of how to keep the success of a brand in Coral Bay after it's creator and long term owner retired and sold.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank BordeauxLP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
159 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Closed again”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Ive listed it as terrible because it has once again closed and is for sale. The new owners didn't even make it a year - they started out on a rocky path when they threw out funky memorabilia folks had donated over the years. Shooting roosters and chickens put some people off. My concerns were the long wait just to get coffee or a menu. They just seemed to struggle....any Coral Bay business relies heavily on locals/ regulars. They lost people to the newly reopened Pickles....

It's a real shame because over the years the Donkey Diner has successfully branded itself with cool stuff, tshirts and coffee mugs. It had soul, karma. Maybe the new owners, whoever they will be, can put the funky stuff back up!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank hungrytraveler0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donkey Diner also viewed

 
Cruz Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing