We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome bakery cafe in Cruz Bay”
Review of Baked in the Sun

Baked in the Sun
Ranked #1 of 2 Bakeries in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Takeout
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
303 reviews
189 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 232 helpful votes
“Awesome bakery cafe in Cruz Bay”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

This bakery cafe is a hidden gem in Cruz Bay. They get a lot of local traffic which is a good sign. The prices are very very good. This is a good breakfast and lunch spot. Good quality coffee and home made fresh baked goods such as breakfast sandwiches, fresh loaves of bread, bagels, cookies, cakes, pies. The breakfast stuffers are great - huge hot rolls with bacon, cheese, veggies, whatever you want inside ! The menu offers several vegetarian options as well. This is a no-frills plain bakery cafe with indoor seating. Limited parking. Order and pay at the counter and then seat yourself. The lady working the counter was very nice and also offered tourist advice when asked. We liked this place so much we went several times. Stop by for cookies and brownies to go. And at mainland prices ! This is a must stop for everyone that likes good quality baked goods.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pirateparrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    24
    4
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern California
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best sandwiches on the island!”
Reviewed July 14, 2012

Excellent place for great sandwiches and friendly service! We decided to try this place on our way to the the Star Market. Excellent decision! The sandwiches were fresh, the bread was excellent and the portions were great. The prices were very reasonable for the amount of food! Try the California Rueben-turkey with coleslaw, melted swiss and thousand island dressing on their grilled rye. They bake their own breads and they are wonderful. We bought a loaf of their whole wheat with walnuts and my husband cannot stop eating it! They give free refills on their ice tea! We are going back today to pick up more sandwiches to take to the beach!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OceanLOver27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great place”
Reviewed May 13, 2012

Great little place for coffee, sandwiches and cookies. Also has air conditioning which is rare in St. John.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank sunnykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leesburg, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
76 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great place to stop for sandwiches”
Reviewed April 20, 2012

We stopped here on the way out of town to the car barge to come back home. Parking is a challenge at times, but it is everywhere on St John. Service was very friendly, always a plus when someone greets you with a smile! We ordered five sandwiches to go and ate them on the barge over to St Thomas. Yum! This will be our family tradition when we leave. Excellent sandwiches!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank adsjayhawk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Bakery”
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I have been visiting St. John since 2005 and always make a point of stopping at Baked in the Sun as often as I can each trip. Not only is it a great bakery by St. John standards, it is a great bakery by any standards. I enjoy searching out great bakeries, diners, and delis, and this among the best of any that I visit in LA, NYC, or any other city with good dining options. I like to go early in the morning for breakfast (egg, ham and cheese on a freshly made bagel, cinnamon roll, and coffee) and grab a sandwhich on the way to or from the beach. I also stop by to grab food on the way to the airport for the trip back home. There is nothing I have tried that has not been first rate. Parking is tight since they moved from the Market Place, but KAO, the new owner, has kept everything up to the usual very high standards.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RoslynVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Baked in the Sun also viewed

Frederiksted, St. Croix
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
Frederiksted, St. Croix
 
Coral Bay, St. John
Cruz Bay, St. John
 

Been to Baked in the Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing