We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Island style”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Miss Lucy's

Miss Lucy's
Ranked #23 of 121 Restaurants in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Miss Lucy's offers a true taste of old St. John with fresh and flavorful Virgin Island cuisine plus unforgettable views! The flavors of St. John are unlike any others and we love to share them with our guests. From steamed clams to our West Indies fish fry or a juicy rib eye steak, we have something for everyone! We recommend Miss Lucy's Famous Paella with its fresh shrimp, scallops, clams, chorizo, and spicy pulled jerk chicken served over saffron rice. It's truly a dish that you'll always remember! Or join us for our incredible Sunday brunch featuring classics like eggs benedict or Miss Lucy's signature piña colada pancakes with pineapple, bananas, and toasted coconut. And don't forget to complement your meal with a beer or craft cocktail from our full service bar! Enjoy your brunch, lunch, or dinner on our outside patio with sweeping views of St. John's beautiful beaches as you listen to live music nightly or soothing jazz with your Sunday brunch. Miss Lucy's looks forward to helping you enjoy your time in St. John with incredible cuisine and an inspiring environment!
NYC
Level Contributor
200 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Island style”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

We are Miss Lucy's new followers! Great vibe, completely laid back (you will be dining with chickens, cats, goats milling about). Drinks are delicious and service is friendly, but be forewarn that it is not quick. You will need to have the right mindset to dine here. When we came back for lunch another day, the service was painfully slow. We saw some people get up to leave when the servers could not get to them on time. However, if you are okay with island time, Miss Lucy's will win you over.
The conch fritters and fried plantains are worth waiting for. Paella at dinner is delicious. Actually, everything we had is good. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    448
    202
    65
    24
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Eh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

Food was fresh but fair in quality Caribbean cuisine. This restaurant is a VERY long ride from the Cruz Bay area, and the cab was as expensive as the meal ($75 without tip for 2 people). It's a nice ride for site seeing, but so far that the cab had to take off for an hour and wait for us as we ate at Miss Lucy's in order to take us back. If I was in the area and looking for lunch rather than a nice dinner I'd be more apt to return - but not under other circumstances. Dinner is outside near the water, which is nice, but also somewhat buggy and frequented by feral cats (and in earshot of goats).

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NYKnicksNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“#Fail”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We gave them 2 shots to win us over but they failed miserably. After waiting 20 minutes the first time for a rum punch and a frozen drink we were unimpressed and decided not to order food. The second time we wanted to come back for a band. We sat for 10 minutes to get waited on and no one came over or even looked at us. This was after a waitress told us to "grab a seat anywhere we wanted". We looked at eachother and decided not to waste our time. I understand "island time" but this was unacceptable. The ONLY good thing was the view. If you are going to go- have a lot of time, grab a drink, look at the view and the cute cats. Sorry Miss Lucys.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Johnny Cakes to go??”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

So we had been hiking all day in salt pond area and decided to stop at the tourist trap for lunch. Delicious and cheapest meal we had while at St. John. Reading amazing reviews of miss Lucy's Johnny cakes we decided we couldn't possibly leave the area without at least getting an order to go. Well let me tell you this was the rudest and longest wait for an appetizer in my restaurant history. I mean the view is amazing but dealing with the bartender when she realized we were only interested in two orders of Johnny cakes to go she acted like she had never heard of "to go" and had a very weird confused look. She was not overwhelmed as it was a very slow lunch shift by the looks of it. 40 minutes later we get our change and food. Will never be back. Miss Lucy, while we never met you you are probably a joy but you should seriously rethink the attitude of your bartender. The view can only do so much for your business.

Helpful?
3 Thank Josh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pultneyville, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“We Love Lucy”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2014

My husband recently discovered Miss Lucy's while visiting St. John for a week. We went back three times. The vibe is completely relaxing, the drinks superb, Joie the bartender was a joy and the owner very nice. For an island experience, you can't beat Miss Lucy's. The grouper ruben was out of this world. We are already planning our next visit!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Refresherfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Lucy's also viewed

Coral Bay, St. John
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Coral Bay, St. John
 

Been to Miss Lucy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing