We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great food with a wonderful view” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Miss Lucy's

Miss Lucy's
Route 107, 00830, St. John
13406935244
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 120 Restaurants in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Bar, Seafood, Bahamian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Miss Lucy's offers a true taste of old St. John with fresh and flavorful Virgin Island cuisine plus unforgettable views! The flavors of St. John are unlike any others and we love to share them with our guests. From steamed clams to our West Indies fish fry or a juicy rib eye steak, we have something for everyone! We recommend Miss Lucy's Famous Paella with its fresh shrimp, scallops, clams, chorizo, and spicy pulled jerk chicken served over saffron rice. It's truly a dish that you'll always remember! Or join us for our incredible Sunday brunch featuring classics like eggs benedict or Miss Lucy's signature piña colada pancakes with pineapple, bananas, and toasted coconut. And don't forget to complement your meal with a beer or craft cocktail from our full service bar! Enjoy your brunch, lunch, or dinner on our outside patio with sweeping views of St. John's beautiful beaches as you listen to live music nightly or soothing jazz with your Sunday brunch. Miss Lucy's looks forward to helping you enjoy your time in St. John with incredible cuisine and an inspiring environment!
Indiana
Level Contributor
108 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Great food with a wonderful view”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

The grouper sandwich and homemade fries are some of my favorite on the island. The first time we were there we got there when it was crowded The wait was a hour and a half. The waitress was hustling and kept our drinks full while we were waiting. The second time we came back we made a point to get there earlier to beat the crowd.

When you go plan on it taking a while. Enjoy the view and the good food is what keeps bringing us back

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank cindygad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    353
    172
    51
    17
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great casual brunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Enjoyed the Sunday brunch here. Be prepared for at least an hour as there's a crowd and service can be slow but who can complain with the views.

Great menu including piña colada pancakes, black strap French toast, salmon scrambled eggs and a ginormous burger with an entire breakfast on it. (Bacon and an egg). Get there early for a seat and be nice and share your table with those waiting if you have room. You'll be glad you did.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mrscherry2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

This is a great restaurant. On the water, friendly staff, fresh food. We ate there 4 times on our vacation. Just one time a bit slow but with that view it did not matter. We will go back as soon as we can.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank HCS4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killingworth, Connecticut
Level Contributor
84 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

MISS Lucy's was the bed, most flavorful food on the island! Every dish we had was wonderful. The view from where we sat was breathtaking, facing the ocean just a few feet away. It is on the other side of the island from where we stay and down a long dirt road, but well wort h the trip. A car is a must for getting there.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“very good but....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The food was really terrific. We each had a different fish entree, with veg, sauce and rice. Delicious and beautifully presented. Salad equally as pleasing! What suc---d for us was the service.
M---was hurried, rude and rushing around the whole time, making little eye contact, grabbing menus from our hands and slamming drinks and plates down. We can handle a long wait anywhere, when service is congenial, and engaging. Tell us we'll wait, tell us your slammed, make us laugh, and make us like you. Her female assistant was no better. It wasn't until the BT and other boys from the kitchen came out to help did we see polite and courteous service. We learned later from other wait stafff around Coral Bay, that the locals love M's behavior, and she takes pride in holding onto her NY state of mind. We were mightily turned off by it. Having said all that, the food was great, the drinks strong, the view fabulous , and the reggae excellent. We'll tolerate M if we must, but she could really learn a thing or two and increase her tips!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank discerningbugetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Lucy's also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
 
St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Coral Bay, St. John
 

Been to Miss Lucy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing