We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“yes one can wait...”
Review of Miss Lucy's

Miss Lucy's
Ranked #23 of 122 Restaurants in St. John
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Caribbean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Miss Lucy's offers a true taste of old St. John with fresh and flavorful Virgin Island cuisine plus unforgettable views! The flavors of St. John are unlike any others and we love to share them with our guests. From steamed clams to our West Indies fish fry or a juicy rib eye steak, we have something for everyone! We recommend Miss Lucy's Famous Paella with its fresh shrimp, scallops, clams, chorizo, and spicy pulled jerk chicken served over saffron rice. It's truly a dish that you'll always remember! Or join us for our incredible Sunday brunch featuring classics like eggs benedict or Miss Lucy's signature piña colada pancakes with pineapple, bananas, and toasted coconut. And don't forget to complement your meal with a beer or craft cocktail from our full service bar! Enjoy your brunch, lunch, or dinner on our outside patio with sweeping views of St. John's beautiful beaches as you listen to live music nightly or soothing jazz with your Sunday brunch. Miss Lucy's looks forward to helping you enjoy your time in St. John with incredible cuisine and an inspiring environment!
Newark, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“yes one can wait...”
Reviewed February 16, 2012

the food and unique character of this place is well worth it.
we were told we'd wait , and we did. don't go if your in a rush, period.
you'll miss the charm, and likely a very enjoyable dining experience.
beats shipwreck, unless of course, thats your thing.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank discerningbugetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    477
    212
    67
    26
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Amazonia, MO
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“TERRIBLE!”
Reviewed February 15, 2012

We had heard a lot about Miss Lucy's being a must eat at place on the island. My husband and I decided to eat there for our anniversary/Valentines Day; what a horrible end to a perfect. We went to the bar area when we first arrived since the limited sitting that they had were taken. We were greeted by a very rude bartender, which maybe should have been a sign. We waited a short time for setting to be available and then waited FOREVER before the waiter even acknowledged us; again rude, short and generally bad service. We proceed to order the conch chowder (very over priced), mussels and scallops. After another long wait our chowder arrived cold.....and then we waited some more. I finally asked our waiter about our other items we had ordered; again rude and we were basically told that he was busy and we would just have to deal with it. Once others, that had arrived after us, started receiving their dinners and desserts I had finally had enough! I asked the waiter for our bill and decided to cut my loss. Waiter was very rude at this point, as was the manager, not to mention that we ended up paying 32 dollars for two bowls of COLD chowder and two drinks and didn't get the correct change back!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MOAEdwards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Narragansett, Rhode Island
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a beautiful setting!!”
Reviewed February 11, 2012

Very relaxing and great food. Loved being able to sit by the water, with that tremendous view, having a cocktail and enjoying local West Indian cusine.

Helpful?
Thank Creston H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
111 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Worth the trip”
Reviewed January 30, 2012

I will travel from one end of the island to Miss Lucy's for the conch fritters and the view!!!!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank jmwzawza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Best Dinner on the Island”
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We nearly missed the entrance (with a car on our tail around the curve) but were happy to find this gem. After a goat greeting on the patio with its gorgeous views, we opted to sit inside with the threat of rain and wind. We were early for dinner (about 5:30) and chicken items were not available yet. No problem. We had the most delicious conch fritters to start along with a very good Kallaloo (sp.?). We all chose the lightly fried grouper - large portion and done to perfection, fried plaintains (I'm drooling just thinking about them), johnny cakes and assorted veggies. Our very pleasant and attentive waiter soon became very busy as he was the only waiter for maybe 10 tables! so we were really happy we arrived early. It's very casual so don't dress up! but more importantly, put this restaurant on your "must do" list.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deeann7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Miss Lucy's also viewed

St. John, U.S. Virgin Islands
Coral Bay, St. John
 

Been to Miss Lucy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing