We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location but over priced spa facilities let it down!” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmtaf
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location but over priced spa facilities let it down!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

Having stayed here before and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, we decided to stay again this year. The food in the restaurant is fantastic and service very good, bar welcoming with open fire, shame the bar man felt the need to discuss how awful some of their wines were though. This time we decided to book ourselves a 25 minute back massage each. We arrived 10 minutes early were given a consultation form to complete and waited and waited until one of our therapists arrived for work late! We went in for our massage at 10.05 and were back out by 10.22, this included time to get undressed and dressed again and have a glass of water. On complaining to the manager she said the treatment was 25 minutes from the start of the consultation ( they didnt even look at the form) although I argued that that still did not add up to 25 minutes she just shrugged her shoulders and said she would have a word with the therapists. I asked if there was someone i discuss this with and she said to email the hotel. I was left feeling my complaint had not been resolved and we will not be returning or recommending it to anyone else.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Polperro1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

714 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    233
    116
    77
    29
See reviews for
107
352
10
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had a large, well appointed room; clean and quiet, overlooking the river. The bed was huge, and very comfortable.
Dinner in the Bistro (should be entitled restaurant) was excellent. A good,varied and innovative menu, hearty and nicely presented.
Buffet breakfast was dismal. Just prepacked cereal and other bits, with some stalish bread for toast. Cooked breakfast was extra, but should have been included at the price.
Only other gripe was the absence of wi fi , surely an essential these days.
Overall, a pleasant stay, and reasonable value if you make use of the extensive spa facilities.

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor River room in the original building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

As you would expect it was a wet and windy arrival in Wales however this did not deter us from having a great weekend. Reception was helpful and explained everything from meal timings to spa and pool timings etc. Another excellent pet friendy room clean well laid out and most of all warm. The room was peferct for a pet friendly stay as the door to the rooms lead out to a large grassed area at the the front of the hotel plus is perfect seating area when the warm weather eventually arrives.
There is a good selection of beers wines and cider in the bar with excellent food on offer.
The staff are very friendly and cannot do enough for you. Our evening meals were top class with a huge selection on offer. The chefs and staff were very helpfull as my wife has various allergies and vegitarian but every meal was not a problem even breakfast.

A fantastic stay perfect for people wanting pampering or walkers or just couples wanting a nice break.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WinstonHarrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
144 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from a one night stay with family. The hotel is in a lovely location off the main road and next to a stream. Rhe surrounding scenery is stunning. The hotel entrance is at the back and we arrived early so couldn't get in our rooms. The staff showed us where the gym and pool were and so we happily wiled away a couple of hours until it was ready.

The spa area was beautiful with clean changing rooms and towels. The gym is well equipped and overlooks the pool which is nice. The steam room was hot enough and the loungers are very comfortable. When we were there it was very quiet and I am not sure what it would look like if it was busier. One lane in the pool is roped off so that serious swimmers are ok.

The evening meal was a good menu and the restaurant was pretty busy. I had a delicious scallops with belly pork starter. The rack of lamb I had was overdone but tasty, the additional onion rings and chips we ordered were very expensive and poor quality. The pannacotta dessert was excellent as was the wine. Despite the minor gripes the restaurant is good value I think. The breakfast is a buffet as standard with the B&B and then you can pay extra for a cooked meal.

The rooms themselves are light and airy. The bed is very comfortable and there are some nice soaps, dressing gowns etc provided. The river rooms are wonderfully peaceful. All rooms have sky tv but the wifi doesn't extend beyond the lounge area.

Overall I think the hotel is very good value. We paid £105 for B&B which is excellent value for the quality of accommodation provided. My only negative comments were that the pillows provided are very uncomfortable - too big and firm and more like cushions really. The other is about the staff. It was only in the morning that the breakfast staff gave us a smile or a welcome - they seemed to work well as a team and were lovely. The reception staff seemed to feel that we were somehow in the way. We arrived unannounced in the restaurant and were treated to "what's the room number?". I think in reviewing hotels you have to bear the price in mind and I think this would have had five stars from me if the welcome had been acceptable

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Justaukcook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed on a Friday night with a large group to celebrate a 50th birthday. We were all put in superior river rooms (rooms 26 to 30 where 30 is the family room and I was in room 28). All rooms were immaculate and so quiet. We had the window open and all we could hear was the river and birds. Bed was one of the biggest beds I have ever seen.

Read some people say they had problems with the hot water but my husband was late arriving as he worked that day and had a shower the same time the rest of he family (post swimming pool showers) and I have to say nobody had any complaints.

The evening meal was superb as always. The restaurant staff know us all as we always dine at the restaurant for family birthdays but we return as the service has always been outstanding and food is always to the best quality.

Spa day for the women the next day was fantastic. We had never been to the spa before but I have to say my seaweed mud wrap was so refreshing. There were three beauticians there and from the 5 women in our party two were far more experienced than the third.

All in all we are already planning to go back for another trip.

Room Tip: Could not fault rooms 26 to 29 - superior rooms and room 30 is family room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlotte C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypridd
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

What can I say, if your looking for peace and quiet this is the place for you, me and my partner stayed here for a couple of days and had a great time, the staff were friendly and the food was to die for, couldn't fault it, some people might find the rooms a bit dated but I found them to be pleasant and clean. The spa facility was great it was nice to come away and relax. I would recommend it to anyone even if you are not planning to stay it's well worth the stop for food.

Room Tip: We stayed at the rear, quiet and relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rob1obe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caerphilly County, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent an afternoon here with female family. Had a full massage which was OK. However I felt the staff could do with some training in pleasantness. They were totally unprofessional, no conversation was entered into and the decor and facilities are very jaded. I would give the afternoon 3 stars for effort. The spa could do with a full make over.

The food, on the other hand, was second to none.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PicklesGwent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmtaf
9.0 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
8.9 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 439 reviews
13.0 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
20.6 mi away
The Lake Country House & Spa
The Lake Country House & Spa
#1 of 1 in Llangammarch Wells
4.5 of 5 bubbles 859 reviews
13.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#2 of 2 in Crickhowell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel

Property: Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel
Address: 470 Cwm Taf (on the A, Cwmtaf CF48 2HY, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Cwmtaf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmtaf
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former AA Welsh Hotel of the Year, the Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel, Bistro and Spa is a contemporary inn in the heart of the Brecon Beacons National Park. You could not find a more ideal location for your short break or business trip with highlights including: 32 individually designed bedrooms, extensive grounds with two rivers for the summer, blazing log fires in the winter, a bustling bistro and an intimate bar, extensive menus specialising in game and fish dishes with great puddings, a state-of-the-art health spa with 18 metre pool, gym and spa pool, a treatment centre offering a wide range of health and beauty treatments, attentive staff at all times and all at great value prices. The Nant Ddu Lodge is also a great place to base yourself while exploring the Beacons and the Valleys of South Wales with Cardiff being just 30 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Travelocity, LateRooms and Agoda so you can book your Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nant Ddu Hotel Cwmtaf
Nant Ddu Cwmtaf

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing