We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing service and no response to complaints”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmtaf
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel several times, it has become a bit of a tradition to stay there for my girlfriend's birthday each year. Normally I can't say enough good things about it and would recommend it to anyone, especially the food, but after our last stay I'm totally disappointed and will be finding somewhere different to stay in 2013.
I'll try and keep the problems to the point:
- No hot water in our room, waited over an hour in total, calling reception several times to be told it would be warm soon. They even suggested we used the changing room showers instead! Not what I'd paid so much money for.
- Due to the shower saga we were later getting down for food than we'd have liked, and were starving. The service was unusually appalling, several times I had to go to the bar to remind them to take an order or to find where our drinks had gone. I'm all for decent food taking a while to cook, but an hours wait for our main with no explanation or apology is too much. We didn't eat until 9.45pm. By the time we had dessert the restaurant was empty and the staff were laying the breakfast tables around us! On the plus side, the lamb was great.
- Having had so many good experiences at the hotel, I sent an email to complain after our stay with the expectation that the management would be concerned about losing longstanding customers. 3 months later and I still have no response, which is very disappointing.

It's frustrating to have spent so much money for a birthday gift only for it to have so many problems and spoil the occasion.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

I am really so sorry to hear that your recent stay did not go according to plan and I hope you will accept mu apologies. Water is an intermittent issue and seems to be caused by fluctuating supply from the mains which runs past the hotel and means that at times the hotel has an issue replenishings its tanks. We are addressing this by massively increasing our holding capacity on site.

The other issues you raised are unacceptable and I am truly sorry.

I do hope you will use Nant Ddu again and if I could ask you to contact Adrian and Vanessa when you book we will provide a complimentary upgrade [subject to availability] a bottle of fizz and a return to the standards more usually associated withy us.

Thank you

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
There are newer reviews for Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

539 - 545 of 786 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

The Nant Ddu Lodge is located in the foothills of the Brecon Beacons and has a well-equipped spa [sauna, steam-room, pool & Jacuzzi] and gym. The location, spa, various bars and snugs and a superb restaurant, make this a perfect venue to base yourself for a walking break in mid-Wales, or so you'd think.......

Staff: We received a warm welcome from the hotel staff, who remained superbly efficient and accommodating throughout our 3-day stay.

Bedrooms: The bedrooms looked a little 'tired' and much of the older portion of the hotel could do with a 'refresh. However, I appreciate that's easier said than done in a busy location, which this hotel undoubtedly is. However, taking each room off-line in turn could achieve some noticeable improvement.

Food: The choice and standard of food in the restaurant was superb and dinner was a real pleasure. However, the cooked breakfast came at a supplement, ranging from £3.50 - £5.00, to the normal B&B rate and is something that I wouldn't expect in a £95 per night hotel in mid-Wales.

Facilities - Spa: The hotel's excellent Spa and gym was very popular with hotel residents, spa-package guests and local spa members; as a consequence the facilities available (including the limited loungers, sofas and changing room lockers) were quickly used up.

Facilities - Internet: Wifi [limited bandwidth] was available in much of the front portion of the hotel with nil/unreliable reception elsewhere - this is an easily, and cheaply, resolved limitation and one should really be addressed by hotel management to support today's guests.

WATER!!!: Without doubt the most serious issue is the lack of mains water-pressure at the Lodge - the flow is pitiful, so much so that the 'shower attachment' on our bath had insufficient pressure to generate a shower 5 feet off the ground. The water pressure also meant that filling a bath took 20mins and the hot water often ran out before the bath filled - this is a serious issue for a hotel located in an area where guests will spend hours walking in the muddy Brecon hills. The Hotel's literature mentions the latter hot-water problem, but fails to mention the low-water pressure - and hotel staff confirmed that this was an enduring problem and suggested taking our morning shower in the spa rather than our room.


I didn't set out to make this a negative review, but that's how it probably now reads, and I'm not sure that this is an unfair assessment of our stay. We left our 3-night stay, including 3 days of hard walking, feeling a little-disappointed and, dare I say it, a little cheated. The location and facilities offered by the Nant Ddu Lodge mean that it is rarely going to be short of guests...maybe this fact alone has led to a little complacency?

Room Tip: Rooms in the newer portion of the hotel may have better water pressure (although I'm not sure th...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PinkyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of lester Hotels at Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2013

Thank you so much for your review which I think was a very accurate summation of the hotel and I am glad you enjoyed your stay.
Wi fi as you say is available in part of the hotel includiing the public areas and we are looking to extend this during some refurbishment works we commence later this month. At the same time we intend to increase the water holding capacity for the hotel which we hope will resolve the intermittent issues with water issues which result from problems outside of our land/property which means that at times the flow of replenishing water into our property is reduced through no fault of ours. Whilst we would naturally have hoped to have addresed this sooner, it has been difficult to "pin down" an engineer and get a definite solution. Every option is coupled with caveats, so we are taking a leap of faith to try and sort this out by dramatically increasing our water holding capacity at great expense. but we feel this is worth it.

We are going through each room making improvements, and you are right with the hotel being so busy it is difficult to take rooms off. Many of the improvements we make like the £300,000 state of the art sewerage treatment plant go un noticed, but are none the less essential.

Historically the hotel has always charged for a cooked breakfast and this charge is lower than that at a Little Chef, and about the same as many supermarket restaurants charge. The reason is simply that the vast majority of the thousands of guests who stay each year are more than happy with the included spread we put out which includes, cereals, fruit, compotes. yoghurts, selection of breads,bagels, hot waffles with syrup, hard boiled aggs, fruit juices, selection of teas and coffess etc.

The hotel is not busy because of its location......we are situated miles from anywhere and just outside Merthyr Tydfil which is hardly renown as a centre of affluence. We serve thousands of meals each week to non residents who travel from far and wide quite simply because they like what the team are doing at Nant Ddu.

Complacent? Perish the thought, but yes we are proud of our team and what they do, and apologies for those bits we have still to get right.........and yes we will.

Happy New year.

Kindest regards

David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

Lovely gem of hotel, so close to brecons.
Restaurant is amazing.
We came, hiked, jacuzzi'd, sauna'd, massaged, ate and slept. Heaven
Look about for deals on this hotel, this will be the spa hotel i come to every time.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank missbrookes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We took advantage of a 'great little break' at this welsh gem of a hotel. The deal included bed, breakfast, use of the spa, £25 towards a three course evening meal and free entry into Penderyn distillery (all for £49.50 per head). My brother had raved about the food and we were not to be dissapointed. The food was superb. The restaurant and bar were buzzing with life and loads of Christmas parties were taking place. Streamers and crackers adorned the restaurant areas.
The room was very simple and our view was over a flat roof, however, the bed was so comfy and the hotel very quiet. Continental breakfast was ample for me and my other half had eggs and bacon at a small extra cost. The pool and jacuzzi were great and very quiet. We found the steam room and sauna too hot!
Well done the Nant Ddu, we will certainly be back and recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cariad89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHMS, CEO of Lester Hotels at Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2012

So pleased you enjoyed your stay. Have a great Christmas and we look forward to welcoming you back in 2013.

Kindest regards


David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2012

I booked a room for the weekend as a base for walking on the Brecon Beacon and was not disappointed. As you walk in a black board said "a warm welcome" and that is exactly what I got throughout the weekend. Staff were always friendly and helpful; eat in restuarant both nights and was not disappointed.

I stayed in room 301 above the bar - which according to others is tired and smells - but there was no smell and it was absolutely fine. It's a twin room, but I was on my own, so was happy with it and had been told when booking (24 hours beforehand).

I have not stayed in The Brecons before so have nothing to compare the Nant Ddu Lodge, but I regularly stay in hotels across the UK and this was great, location was fantastic as you I not even 5 minutes from the bottom of Pen Y Fan.

Oh! ... had the Slow roast Welsh Lamb on Sunday and it was excellent, melt in your mouth!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chill281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2012

Having passed this place many times while travelling through the 'Brecon Beacon's', a hotel/spa in stunning surroundings, we decided to give it a try. So very glad we did, it's a wonderful place. On arrival we were given an automatic upgrade to a suite (always a good start), shown personally to our door, while pointing out where everything was. The room itself was so unique, very warm & welcoming, a cosy bathroom, & a sitting room, this in itself is worthy of 5*. The spa was lovely, just enough & very relaxing, slight moan as the whirlpool didn't have much pressure, upon asking we were told it was due to the water pressure in the area, this is understandable, but maybe it could be changed, something that would cope with the problem of water pressure perhaps? Not normally a big worry, but my partner had been looking forward especially to this as the main reason we decided to stay away was for my partner to relax his injured back, just bad timing. We sat in one of the many beautifully decorated rooms for a drink while waiting for dinner, you are spoilt for choice with different eating & drinking area's, coal effect fires, wooden chairs to big soft armchairs, each with a different ambiance. Dinner was delicious, good value & delightfully served. Every single member of staff were friendly & helpful, nothing ever seemed too much for them, it is beautifully run, something I find, unfortunately a bit of a rarity in all of the hotel's I've stayed at!!
I have stayed at many hotels & honestly, I have to say Nant Ddu lodge is probably my new favourite. I hugely recommend staying here, but at the very least stop by for the wonderful food!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sarah t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012 via mobile

Never stayed the night. Had some lovely food good service and friendly staff. Try the prawn cocktail! Main meal was a chicken supreme. In my opinion some dishes are worth the price but others are over priced £16 for trout. Would dine there again

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank MrFlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cwmtaf
9.5 mi away
Castle of Brecon
Castle of Brecon
#2 of 2 in Brecon
478 reviews
9.4 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
958 reviews
5.7 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.9 mi away
The Old Rectory Country Hotel and Golf Club
13.4 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 3 in Crickhowell
604 reviews
6.0 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa

Address: 470 Cwm Taf, Cwmtaf CF48 2HY, Wales (Formerly Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Cwmtaf
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Cwmtaf
Price Range: $136 - $212 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A former AA Welsh Hotel of the Year, the Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel, Bistro and Spa is a contemporary inn in the heart of the Brecon Beacons National Park. You could not find a more ideal location for your short break or business trip with highlights including: 32 individually designed bedrooms, extensive grounds with two rivers for the summer, blazing log fires in the winter, a bustling bistro and an intimate bar, extensive menus specialising in game and fish dishes with great puddings, a state-of-the-art health spa with 18 metre pool, gym and spa pool, a treatment centre offering a wide range of health and beauty treatments, attentive staff at all times and all at great value prices. The Nant Ddu Lodge is also a great place to base yourself while exploring the Beacons and the Valleys of South Wales with Cardiff being just 30 minutes drive. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HRS and Hotel.de so you can book your Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nant Ddu Hotel Cwmtaf
Nant Ddu Cwmtaf
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing