We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!!:) mountain biker friendly!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Studios at Glenthorne
Ranked #2 of 11 Merthyr Tydfil B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome stay!!:) mountain biker friendly!!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The stay at glenthorne was absolutely brilliant...studio 2 is the room we had and was comfortable and welcoming and housed 3 lads easily for the night...
We couldn't have asked for more as the quality was obvious from the first minute...both the owners were brilliant and welcoming and they do the littlest things so well...
We were even left a hand drawn map to wetherspoons which was nice, and it was spot on!!! :)

We travelled with 3 mountain bikes which can back muddy and messy, but we used hoses and they were all securely locked away which is all a mountain biker could ask for!!!:)

All in all it was spot on,cost was good and we would recommend without question!:)

Rob,cam & Chris. Dirty Customs!:)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bertimusmaximus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire H, Owner at Studios at Glenthorne, responded to this review, March 7, 2014
Hi Guys

thank you for your lovely review! it was great to meet you and we looking forward to welcoming back. So pleased you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    2
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
15
38
8
13
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Beautiful house & apartment. Really well presented and finished to a high standard - the apartment is obviously brand new! The whole house is very tastefully decorated and extremely clean. Lovely bathroom and kitchen. Also very friendly and welcoming. We arrived late and had tea and welsh cakes waiting for us!
We had a lovely stay at Studios at Glenthorn and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in studoi 2 - beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire H, Owner at Studios at Glenthorne, responded to this review, February 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely review.

We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2013

Just came back after a 3 night stay at studios at Glenthorne. This was our first visit to south of Wales and the studio gave us a great base to explore the area. The Brecon Beacons were within 20 minutes drive away and so were the other attractions. Our hosts were simply wonderful who gave us some great recommendations for activities to suit our family. The studio itself had a fully equipped kitchenette giving us the flexibility to cook for my fussy kids. We loved the complimentary Welsh cakes, fresh fruits and chocolates. Thank you Claire and Dave for making our stay so wonderful.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banchhita S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

Without doubt, the best self-catering accommodation I have ever stayed in! Superb hosts, attention to detail and comfort. I stayed in studio 2 which was superbly equipped with everything you'd need and a convection oven, a power shower and even complimentary welsh cakes, fruit and chocolates. The bed is so comfortable, the fridge well stocked and the wifi is extremely fast. Claire is a lovely host and I will definitely return. The value for money is amazing. In a quiet area of Merthyr with the Brecon Beacons less than 10 minutes drive away. Amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrevMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Not an area of Wales I know very well but because was meeting up with friends needed to be in Merthyr Tydfil. The accommodation provided was really lovely, the décor and the fittings so well thought out . Also so unusual to have the facilities of your own kitchenette, could even have done my washing if I had been there longer! The Harris` couldn`t have been more welcoming and there was plenty of local information, visitors guide provided in the studio. Would like to have stayed longer and wouldn`t hesitate to recommend this as a place to stay.

Room Tip: At present the studio is the only accommodation available but I gather a similar set up will eventua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire H, Owner at Studios at Glenthorne, responded to this review, September 30, 2013
Thank your for your lovely review! We look forward to seeing you again soon, and hopefully it will be for longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at Glenthorne for the weekend of the Brecon Jazz festival, its an easy 30 min drive to Brecon town and the Brecon Beacons national Park. We really loved the flexibility the the studio offers as we were able to cook and eat in if we wanted too.

The building is an old victorian family home, that has been modernized with a really quirky style, best option we saw for staying in Merthyr Tydfil and the owners were really helpful and friendly.

The best bit was the fresh chicken eggs, from the hens in the garden!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jessica M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire H, Owner at Studios at Glenthorne, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review. We are so pleased you had such a good time whilst you stayed at Studios at Glenthorne, we look forward to seeing you again soon- the eggs will be waiting for you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merthyr Tydfil
5.1 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
2.2 mi away
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
Premier Inn Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 1 in Pentrebach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
3.0 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
3.5 mi away
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
Arfryn House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
2.4 mi away
Penrhadw Farm
Penrhadw Farm
#1 of 3 in Pontsticill
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studios at Glenthorne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studios at Glenthorne

Property: Studios at Glenthorne
Address: The Grove, Merthyr Tydfil CF47 8YR, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Merthyr Tydfil
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Merthyr Tydfil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Studios at Glenthorne 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Studios at Glenthorne offer self-contained, serviced, studio apartments securely located within a fine Victorian house. Each studio has a beautifully appointed modern kitchen with fridge, washing machine, microwave and convection oven, along with all of the crockery and cutlery you could want during your stay. Tea and coffee are complementary, along with shampoo, shower-gel and hand wash. The Studios also have a drying and ironing facility. The tasteful and relaxing Studios have flat screen free view TV with DVD, USB connection and HDMI (10 metre cable provided), along with a double bed, a comfy sofa bed and a dining table. WiFi access is free and reliable. If you would like us to provide your breakfast, we offer a delicious continental breakfast of yoghurt, croissants, jam & marmalade, granola and fresh juice. We provide secure bike storage, as well as washing facilities for your bikes. Glenthorne is a no smoking establishment. Sadly, we cannot accommodate guest's pet (as we have our own!). At present there is no wheelchair access to the Studios, although Studio 1 is on the ground floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Studios at Glenthorne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studios At Glenthorne Merthyr Tydfil, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing