We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“as expected”
Review of Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“as expected”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

3 rooms booked, one for me and my wife, one for son and daughter and one for daughter and b/f. When we checked in, the booking was wrong, but was soon changed by the receptionist. Central to Merthyr town, so convenient for shops, and the hotel car park is a 2 minute walk.

The hotel is stuck in a time warp, clean enough, but the carpets and decor are faded..corridors and rooms. The room was big enough, and bed comfy. Some noise from late night revellers as we had a room at the front. Bathroom was fine but no,pressure from the shower.

Breakfast was very basic. Juice and a bowl of cereal, cup of tea/coffee. Limited choice for cooked brekkie, 1 rasher bacon, 1 sausage, 1 hash potato, 1 egg (Cooked to your preference, poached, fried or scrambled) and a spoonful of mushrooms and beans. The only alternative being a vegetarian version of the above.

Staff were friendly and helpful though and arranged a taxi for us to our venue.

Recommend. No. Would I go there again? Only as a last resort.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicostag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
279PaulaS, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
This is not Castle House Hotel Hereford but the Castle Hotel in Merthyr Tydfil Wales which has nothing whatsoever to do with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    36
    36
    62
See reviews for
36
46
16
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Held our wedding reception here. Absolutely perfect. Staff were marvellous, everything so professional & food lovely. Spot on. Didn't stay in the rooms so couldn't comment but can highly recommend this Hotel for functions.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

stayed there last night and it stinks of damp it looks like nothings been done to it since it was built ... we had three rooms me and my son in one my sis and her girls in another and mother and step dad in the third all as bad as each other... after booking in with a lovely girl on the desk unfortuantly they had messed up our booking and said we'd booked four rooms not the case ... when settling my nieces we found the bed broken and nails and screws sticking out when we complained they denied the bed was broken but moved my sis and children to another room ..when using the bathroom i found hair and pubs in the bath the shower was either ice cold or burning hot my poor son was frozen ... we got to sleep around 2 ish because the noise from outside was horrible (no double glazing) i wouldnt stay here again terrible

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emmak30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
279PaulaS, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
This is not Castle House Hotel Hereford but the Castle Hotel in Merthyr Tydfil Wales which has nothing whatsoever to do with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merthyr Tydfil hotels

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Hotel looks nothing like what is advertised. Upon arrival we waited 20 mins at the front desk ringing the buzzer we then had to call the hotel phone and ask if anyone was there as we were being checked in it felt as if we were being spoken down to. The bathroom was clean however the shower was either boiling hot or near freezing. We booked three rooms one of which had an outdated T.V, there were freestanding fans in the rooms which barely worked. All three rooms were different in decor, one of which was connected to an adjoining room occupied by another guest. there is a pub just below so keeping a window open during the night is out of the question.
The hotel is cheap for a reason, the area is quite rough and we only felt slightly safe during daylight hours going out after dark was out of the question.

Room Tip: Your better off staying at Premier Inn
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kisuke91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
279PaulaS, Public Relations Manager at Castle Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
This is not Castle House Hotel Hereford but the Castle Hotel in Merthyr Tydfil Wales which has nothing whatsoever to do with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

first of all, the hotel does not look like what it is advertising on different online websites, so be careful, if you want a cheap place to put your head for the night and your not really bothered about what your rooms looks like or the standards then this is the place for you, however, our rooms looked like something out of the 60's and there are mucky marks everywhere, the bathrooms smells revolting, there is a car park quitea walk away from the hotel that gets locked up at 10pm, so if you have suitcases that are heavy then your stuffed! the benefit is that there is a few pubs and a good complex just up the road that includes a cinema and some good restaurants! we were going to change hotels but due to lack of availability we werent able to!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Worst hotel i have ever stayed in. I was booked in for 3 nights and only stayed the one night. Bathroom was dirty, Toilet was filthy and sink plug was broken so couldn't drain water away.
The bedrooms are are good size but the décor is very dated with broken or dirty furniture.
The stale dusty smell is too much to deal with.
Night porter was very helpful checking me in. When checking out I had to inform the owner the reasons why I was leaving to find another hotel and his reply while quickly charging my card I used to reserve before I could tell him i was not willing to pay a penny was that I was the first person in 7 MONTHS to say such bad things. Now this obviously proved that someone has had the courage 7 months ago to tell him the truth but has still not done anything about.
Clearly a hotel ran on the cheap with faults left uncorrected. Tired, Dated and lack of cleanliness sums up this hotel. I wasn't brave enough to try the breakfast included after seeing the bedrooms but have been told the food is ok there by locals. I would want to see the kitchen first though.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We ate Sunday lunch at the Castle Hotel recently. The Traditional Roast Dinner was adequate, however the pre-ordered vegetarian meal was the worst food I have ever been served.

The Castle Hotel caters to fast turn over basic food. Basically in and out quick. No fuss, no flair, zero ambiance and in a deteriorating setting that has seen zero maintenance in 20 years. If you are into a quick feed in a central location, go for. I want be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merthyr Tydfil
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
301 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tregenna Hotel
Tregenna Hotel
#2 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
114 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
6.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
0.5 mi away
Studios at Glenthorne
Studios at Glenthorne
#2 of 11 in Merthyr Tydfil
83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Hotel

Property: Castle Hotel
Address: Castle Street, Merthyr Tydfil CF47 8BG, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Merthyr Tydfil
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A superb privately owned hotel situated in the town centre with 45 En Suite rooms fully modernised and tastefully decorated, with telephone, tea/coffee making facilities, T.V, Hairdryer, trouser press. etc., Excellent menu's available including a la carte evening menu, off road secure parking. Convenient for all local routes and town facilities such as law courts, civic centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Merthyr Tydfil, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing