We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real clotted cream!”

The Old Barn Tea Room
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Merthyr Tydfil
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Cowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Real clotted cream!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We found this place after we had been fishing for the day. It wasnt too busy with only a handful of customers. Every table was set with a tea trio of real china cups. We had a cream tea which was very nice. The scones were a little heavy but we were thrilled to have real clotted cream! Woo hoo! It made a nice pit stop before going home for dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hinnibell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

328 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    40
    9
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best lunch I've had in a long while”
Reviewed August 2, 2013 via mobile

We went to the picturesque tea room for a leaving party lunch. They accommodated us all in the converted barn. Tea was serviced in beautiful China cups and food was home made (scones still oven warm when we got them). Will Defo be going back the cakeis pportions where amazing and all the reviews about the Vicki sponge where spot on and the chocolate cake was equally good. Overall an absolute gem of a place that if it were anywhere near civilisations would be rammed! So make the effort it's well worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ablender86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fab,friendly place”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

One of the nicest places,setting is wonderful,Mike and Julie are fantastic hosts,and their food is top notch. Cannot fault it,and guys,definitely worth a visit for the lovely cakes...will definitely call again

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bluebee65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top notch”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Visiting this area from afar we stumbled upon this gem quite by accident. Signposted but hidden we parked up expecting no more than a couple of the usual choices but were very pleasantly surprised with large choice available & all very reasonably priced.
Service was prompt & with a smile and we sat in the sun drenched garden loving every minute of what we were lucky enough to find, overall excellent!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MartyHel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Powys
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Quality at a good price served by friendly staff in great location.”
Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

This place really deserves the good reviews it gets on Tripadvisor. We went on a Sunday not wanting the Sunday Roast on offer as we were very hot and were planning a walk up to the waterfalls afterwards. We found a shady spot outside behind the building and proceeded to be entertained (endless quips and anecdotes) and really well looked after by the owner. She suggested the sandwich, cake and cream tea option. All lovely and under £7 a head. Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cricktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Old Barn Tea Room also viewed

Merthyr Tydfil, Merthyr Tydfil County
Dowlais, Merthyr Tydfil County
 
Pontsticill, Merthyr Tydfil
Cwmtaf, Merthyr Tydfil County
 

Been to The Old Barn Tea Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing