We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in”
Review of Tregenna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Tregenna Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
Droitwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Worst hotel I have ever stayed in”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

We stayed two nights during which time we had three different rooms. No heat in the first or television. No lights in the second or lights outside to see the stairs which went straight down from the door. No television in this room either. The third was supposed to be luxury but was more like a poor bed and breakfast. Food was OK if the waiter understood what one wanted. The valves on the radiators were so old they fell to pieces. The tea and coffee facilities provided just two cups, one saucer and one spoon to serve.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mcsWM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    25
    24
    14
    30
See reviews for
21
34
8
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2010

We were travelling to Wales with a large group to attend a friend's wedding and needed a reasonably priced b&b near the wedding venue - and the Tregenna seemed to fit the bill. Ten miles from the reception at a price of £40 for a double room with breakfast seemed too good to be true.
A friendly chap greeted us and gave us the keys to our chalet room which was spacious, light and most importantly clean. The bathroom was large and had a decent enough shower although no room to put washbags, toothbrushes, etc.
The car park was directly outside of our room which we thought may have caused a problem with cars revving up but it was surprisingly quiet.
Breakfast was cooked to order which makes a nice change from the pre-cooked buffet-style which is the norm nowadays.
Perhaps the hotel decor could benefit from a touch of modernisation to bring it into the 21st century but was acceptable especially for the price we paid.
So all in all a much better stay than anticipated. Just a shame this nice hotel isn't in an equally nice town!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2009

As I'm from Merthyr it galls me to say this. Went back to see family pre-Christmas and thoroughly disappointed. Whilst the rate of £70 may seem like good value for a double room & breakfast there are things you should expect as a minimum. Double room suggests two people so why is there only one towel (same happened back in October)? Booked dinner for five and when finally got seated had to wait 20 mins before I HAD TO ASK FOR A MENU!!! Worse still, I was only given three and one of those was incomplete. They had failed to clear up at breakfast from the night before and there were crackers, ribbon etc everywhere. Waiting staff not very helpful or friendly and there seemed to be people coming and going out of the kitchen at will (maybe they are the owners/new owners)? When checked in was given wrong room - whats the point of the booking system and when checked out had been over charged £15. Bathroom had some "hair" in the bath and some radiators did not work. Television on floor which made it extremely difficult to see and kept buzzing which made it difficult to hear. Could only get four channels by the way. A thoroughly disappointing experience and the hotel needs to be modernised - it is almost a prime locaiton to visit Brecon Beacons and Cardiff, just needs to understand it's marketing power and position.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anon2903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Merthyr Tydfil hotels

Derbyshire
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2009

The Tregenna Hotel is situated in the heart of Merthyr with its own secure car park behind the hotel. The hotel consists of the main building,with some chalet rooms around the parking area. The staff are so friendly and helpful,it was like staying with a welsh family. A tourist from the USA was asking the waiter about his descendents who left Merthyr in the 19th.Century to make a new life and the guy immediately offerred to introduce him to a local historian who would know the details! The excellent evening meals are served in the light and spacious dining room-and the welsh breakfas menu is wide and substantilal. And of course-the big attraction is the friendly, well-stocked bar- excellent for socialising and getting to know folks after your meal. Forget the soulless and mundane competition-this hotel is where the heart is in Merthyr. I should add that I have absolutely no connection with this hotel-my review is purely based on MY experience of staying there. By the way-you can even take your pets if you select a Chalet room-and we stayed in one.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank buddygbDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bad Homburg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2007

Quite good hotel, although the room was a little bit old fashioned. Shower was not very good, but as we had a bathtub we used that instead. Excellent Breakfast!

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness
  • Disliked — Shower
  • Stayed September 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GarfGermany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 14, 2004

Very good value at £60. All the staff were freindly and efficient. Room was large, only gripe was that the bar was smokey (normal for Wales) and road niosey (route home from the town bars) If you are a light sleeper try to get put in one of the rooms at the rear. Car park is small, but empties later on when dinner guests have gone, would advise parking in it, and not on raod. Otherwise excellent. food very good!!

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed February 1, 2004

Lovely clean rooms. Friendly, helpful staff. Excellent food. Ask for the Tydfil suite- super.

Helpful?
6 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Merthyr Tydfil
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil
#1 of 3 in Merthyr Tydfil
315 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bessemer Hotel
Bessemer Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dowlais
135 reviews
5.3 mi away
Nant Ddu Lodge Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Ty Newydd Country Hotel
12.9 mi away
The Manor Hotel
The Manor Hotel
#1 of 2 in Crickhowell
590 reviews
12.7 mi away
Peterstone Court Hotel
Peterstone Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Llanhamlach
941 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tregenna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tregenna Hotel

Property: Tregenna Hotel
Address: Park Terrace, Merthyr Tydfil CF47 8RF, Wales
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > South Wales > Merthyr Tydfil County > Merthyr Tydfil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Merthyr Tydfil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Tregenna Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Tregenna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tregenna Hotel Merthyr Tydfil, Wales

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing