We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (431)
Filter reviews
431 results
Traveler rating
184
133
74
20
20
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
184
133
74
20
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews leisure park travel lodge pub next door vue cinema plenty of places to eat breakfast box bowling alley room was clean food outlets chinese buffet eating places leisure facilities brecon beacons swimming pool town centre budget hotel stayed here for nights
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 431 reviews
Reviewed March 5, 2017

This is a billy bob basic Travelodge. It has all the basic requirements one would require for an over night stay. Good sized bath, shower, comfortable bed and tea and coffee making facilities. Television the size of a postage stamp, seriously and you would have to sit directly in front of it to be able to see it. No electrical sockets near bed so an issue for plugging in mobiles and had to keep getting out of bed to check the time. Rooms are what you expect, but relatively spacious and that makes you think that it would benefit from more appropriate furnishing as the table area and chair are very restrictive.
The staff are excellent, friendly, professional and keen to help. They kindly offer additional sachets of coffee, tea, long life milk and sugar at reception in case your feel that you may run out. They aren't precious about this which is refreshing and why don't four and five star hotels take a leaf from their book.
The carpark is too small and cars were having to park across the make shift zebra crossing, on verges and incredibley close to each other.
We were on our way to Brecon Beacons and this Travel Lodge after a four hour drive was to be a refresh stopover as it is located on the edge of one of the most beautiful areas in the world. However, my real gripe is that the literature on the Travel Lodge Website barely mentioned the extensive area around the hotel. All it said was that it was next to the local leisure centre . Therefore we thought we were staying at a barren area. It offered no on site restaurant, but you could purchase, from reception, for £4.95 a very limited, meagre breakfast to go. Nothing else was mentioned and therefore we took breakfast cereals, croissants and juices. As we had needed an evening meal before we checked in we chose to pay the premium cost to eat at a motorway services which was on the journey. We were flabber gasted when we arrived at the hotel as it was located in the most spectacular location. An Oriental Buffet, A Frankie and Benny's, , Harvester,Vue Cinema, Mega Bowl and even a fancy MacDonalsds. Made my motorway meal feel totally a waste of money and time. So unknowingly we had booked a great location to stay, but why oh why does nobody tell you that!!!!!

Room tip: Away from lifts and reception.
Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Dominic J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2017

Thank you for your review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your overall stay with us and you found our hotel to be in a great location. Detailed feedback like yours is very important to us and we have passed your comments onto the relevant departments along with our hotel management team. Thanks again for taking the time to review our hotel, we do hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2017

Me and my wife travelled here for a birthday party. We always try and book with Travelodge when away for a short break. The reception area was very clean and well maintained, the receptionist was very polite and asked if we needed to order breakfast. Our room was very spacious and very clean. Bedsheets were crisp and like new, thank you. Its was nice and quiet there even though there was a lit staying here. Lots of places to eat and activities around the area. First class, thank you

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank martin01443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2017

This was our second stay at this Travelodge and we once again had a good experience. On arrival we were met by a friendly reception staff member who gave us good advice and made us feel welcome. Spare tea & coffee supplies were at the reception desk and our room was clean and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and the shower was powerful and warm. We ate nearby for convenience and the car park was well lit. We will certainly be happy to stay here again.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank WidleyTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2017

Thank you for sharing your experience. Feedback is really important to us and detailed comments like yours will help us in improving our services. We will ensure our hotel team receive a copy of your review and we are really pleased that you enjoyed the cleanliness and comfort of your room and that you received a high level of service from our staff. We hope that there will be another occasion to welcome you as our guest and we thank you again for reviewing your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2017

This was a very nice stay for a budget hotel, well worth the money however the pillows were too big. They gave me and my partner bad backs as they were that big but there was no other smaller pillows that they could offer. However i would recommend this because of the price!

Date of stay: February 2017
Thank Le4nne97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded February 23, 2017

Thank you for your review. We are so pleased to learn that your stay was overall positive. However, we're sorry to hear you found our pillows uncomfortable during your visit. Feedback such as yours is invaluable and we will ensure the hotel receives a copy of your comments. We do hope you choose to visit Travelodge again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017

Can't fault the location, the hotel is a little rough on the edges but did the job. Main light in the room didn't work and there was a rather large hole in our duvet cover. Other than that it serves its purpose.

Date of stay: February 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Merthyr Tydfil, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We are pleased to learn you were happy with the Hotel’s location, however we would like to apologise for the issues that impacted your stay. Your feedback is very important as it allow us to improve the service we offer and we would like to thank you for the time you have taken to write this review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews