We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Heavenly days”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2011

We spend 4 great days at Bolongo Bay. You feel welcome right from when you step out of the taxi and are given your welcome drink.

The rooms are facing the beach and has a reasonably size close to the beach, bar, restaurant and Iggys. I have seen others write about rooms being a little outdated – frankly we didn’t notice as we spend all our time at the beach, the bar, the restaurant and Iggys ☺

We actually never went sightseeing on St. Thomas as we so much enjoyed the beach with all the (free) water sports possibilities. Thanks to the guys at the beach activity center for being patient in teaching our son how to windsurf. The beach it self is as you would expect with palm trees and white sand, but it is true that you should bring (or buy at the shop in the hotel) beach-shoes as there are some stones/rocks when going swimming.

We did take the “Turtle Cove” tour on Heavenly days – great fun, and we did see at least 10 turtles + a lot of colorful fish. The tour back was nice – relaxing with at drink on the front deck of the boat.

For the first time ever we tried an all-inclusive plan. It worked to our full satisfaction – no low budget feeling here! The restaurant serves delicious food – much better than expected for an all-inclusive resort. You soon will be good friends with 007 in the bar and the staff at Iggys – the place to have lunch and afternoon snack + nightcaps. It feels like an open air sports bar with a great atmosphere and live music every night. It is a couple of hundred yards away from the hotel, so you don’t get disturbed from the music.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jsolsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

797 - 803 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed March 9, 2011

Okay, I checked the reviews, I checked the weather, I checked everything that could be checked...CHECK. I didn't want to stay here because of all the comments about the out-dated rooms. The pictures and virtual tours did not put this place on my top 5 list, or top 10 for that matter. Our flight was 4 hours late due to the weather, but remember...I checked it all out.
Well everyone was right about the rooms, they were out dated, but very clean.
Now...the service is over the top. The staff is the best. The food is amazing, and Hubby and I are returning April 9. We've been to many resorts, and Bolongo Bay is now in the top 3 of my favorites.
From the front desk, to the Captain and Crew, Bolongo Bay Beach Resort, We love you. We swam with the turtles, enjoyed an evening sail, and met a boat load of really nice people, that's why we're returning.
I must admit, I'm snooty when it comes to vacations, but we were treated like family in a royal way.
Thank You my friends,
Christine and Larry Hicks

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineHicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2011

It's true Bolongo Bay has its fans. We met people there who have been returning for years and met a family on a day trip who had stayed there in the past. It seems to be well known.

We just wouldn't go back.

Bolongo Bay hosts weddings and during our stay, the wedding (with which we were not associated) came with a pack of loud, foul-mouthed, self-absorbed and generally uncilivilized twenty-somethings who generally were well-behaved during the day, but were allowed to roam the property after returning from a night of drinking. We actually aren't all that far past our twenties, we just think we all owe our fellow travelers some baic level of consideration.

Three of the four nights we stayed we had to listen to partying on the beach in front of our room, in the rooms above us and yelling in the halls starting between about 1 am and going on for 2 or more hours. Twice we called security and things eventually quieted down. On the fourth day there, we spoke to the hotel management. While they did rein the partyers in after an hour or so the fourth night, it seemed like they would have preferred to let the people who filled about half of the hotel for the wedding do what they liked at the expense of the rest of us. The hotel was full, so it's not like we were the only other people there.

The rooms are adequate, but our bathroom had an odd, moldy smell I couldn't quite figure out the origin of (but looked clean) and it seemed like there was a pump running frequently nearby, not really loud, just enough to break what quiet we did get at night.

The beach is OK, but bring water shoes; you have to walk over rocks to get into the water and it's seaweedy.

We found the service at the Lobster Grill to be somewhat indifferent; never refilling wine or water glasses, for example.

One bright spot was the very helpful and pleasant woman at the gift shop who acted as concierge and set up dinner reservations and taxis for us each night and a guided us to a really great day trip to the BVI. Remember to tip her well!

If all this sounds great, hey, have at it! If it sounds like unpleasantness you would prefer not deal with after saving for three years to go on vacation like we did, you might want to try your luck somewhere else.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank TRVLISTIMEWELLSPNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2011

I would recommended Bolongo Bay to anyone. The food was great, the staff warm and friendly. The place is very casual and family friendly, a great place for younger or older active couples. The free water sports was a huge plus and the folks at St T dive club were great and eager to give good snorkeling advice, the gear was loaned out for free for guest at the resort. Laura in the gift shop lined us up with Double Headers fishing guides. Nothing like landing a 100 lb shark..... The people on the island are some the nicest people I've ever meet. The rooms have shutter windows, open them at night to hear the waves while you get the best sleep you could imagine. Its alot smaller than some of the other resorts making it more comfortable and the staff have more time to make you feel at home. All this talk is making me miss the place.....

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank funNdaSun420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

I booked this trip through Bookit.com during a "$185 Beachfront Resort Fall Sale---All Inclusive" promo. When we arrived, we were informed that we didn't have the all-inclusive option.(An issue that neither the resort staff or Bookit.com staff were interested in helping us with....unless we wanted to pay an additional $125 per person per day ) While the location was good-- it was right on the beach, the quality of the rooms were not at all worth what we paid for them($328 pr day--$185 per person per room) The resort is small, noisy, old and in need of several repairs. Ceilings were water-stained and mildewy. The door of our second room was in need of repair(very hard to open) and maintenance opted to spend one entire day to repair it--even to the extent that they wouldn't leave while our daughters showered......(in a shower that may or may not have hot water).
The staff at the beach activities were very helpful and accomodating as were the Captain adn staff on Heavenly Days.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debdeck157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

I would highly recommend Bolongo Bay. If you are looking for a place that will make you feel like family and total relaxation this is it. Two great restaurants. Lobster Grille is best for a nice dinner. Iggys is more sports bar atmosphere. At Lobster Grille make sure to get 007 as your bartender and ask for "voodoo juice". Looking for a fun adventure check out 340 watersports on the beach talk to Matt about renting a wave runner. I would recommend the 90 minute tour. When you stay at Bolongo Bay I would recommend the all inclusive package

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jzaret67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2011

We stayed two nights at the Bolongo Beach Resort in January, 2011 and found the staff to be wonderful, caring, and helpful. The rooms were good, but clearly "older" - generally well kept but with a bit of a dated atmosphere. Examples - "sticking' doors because they had multiple layers of paint (not a big dea for usl), a bit of mildew in the grout at the bottom of the shower stall (something that should be fixed), etc. The food was good at both restaurants, the ambiance great, the staff wonderful, and the prices fair, given the generally high cost of beach front accomodations and food in the USVI. Not a "wonderful, sandy" beachfront (i.e., some smooth coral rock in the beach water - not excessive, and generally "good", considering that there aren't many (any?) great beachfront resorts on St. Thomas with sandy beaches), but also a lot of free water sports equipment for guest use (sail boat, paddle boat, etc.), and a geat pool. Free internet access at the Conference Center.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DEKACEHN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Coast
2.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
4.7 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range: $214 - $691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing