We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Great Place for a Christmas Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 29, 2010

My spouse and I, plus our adult daughter, spent five nights over Christmas at Bolongo Bay and thoroughly enjoyed every minute of the stay. Our room # 139 was advertised as beach front, and beach front it was. We walked out the door and the beach was only about 20 feet away and the ocean another 20 feet. It was a short walk to the pool, gift shop, and the Lobster Grill Restaurant. Iggies Beach Restaurant was about a 5 minute walk down the beach. Plenty of water play equipment for the whole family to enjoy. The room was very comfortable with 2 double beds, a microwave, refrigerator, and coffee maker. The staff was remarkable, always friendly and helpful. This is a great place for a family or couple to spend a vacation. Dress is always comfortable. Would recommend to all.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SeaWeedLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
There are newer reviews for Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

809 - 815 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2010

We were married here in 2007 and returned in 2010. This hotel has an excellent Caribbean feel. If you have been more than once you know you are treated like family every time you return. We will continue to stay here for every trip to St. Thomas

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2010

We stayed at Bolongo Bay for several days in early December. We left with the feeling of “you get what you pay for” here. The property is run down but generally clean. The bellman was the friendliest person we met on the island and for the most part the people on the property were nice. The service was friendlier than at Caneel Bay which we had just stayed at. We had a bad interaction one morning when we went down with our towel vouchers at 8 am when the towel station was supposed to open and no one was there. We wandered over to the front desk around 10 after 8 and asked for towels and explained that no one was there. The woman said “it doesn’t open until 8” and when we pointed out it was well after 8 she replied “just wait”. A very nice man who was cleaning ran and found us towels so we could make our excursion on time.

The first night we arrived we went to our room and found that the bed and side table were covered with a fine white dust- it also looked like the sheets hadn’t been changed. We went downstairs to complain and they sent someone up to “do some more work”.

Our major complaint with this place was the safety factor. Our door was a screen with slats that were broken so you could see into the hotel room. There was only a lock on the door handle and the safety latch was removed. It was not very secure and we didn’t feel like our belongings or we were very safe.

The rooms smelled a little smoky since they allowed smoking both on the balcony and the beach.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranegrrll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2010

We chose Bolongo to break up our trip back to Boston from St. John. We don't like large, overly corporate places so Bolongo looked interesting to us.
We were greeted by a really warm and genuine host/bellman, but then left waiting to register for 15 minutes while the front desk manger finished what seemed to be a pretty angry phone conversation. This registration person was not very helpful, and we got the impression we were annoying her by having arrived at 1P when check in was at 3P. This was a shame, as the rest of the staff were fantastic, and among the most helpful we've come across.
The room was spacious, and right on the ocean . . just what we wanted! The beach was fine . . not the North Shore of St. John, sure, but clean and with a nice vista of a couple of offshore islands. Plenty of free beach toys if you have kids, but for us just being able to relax right outside our room directly on/in the water was what it was all about.
There are two places to eat, both of which were reasonably priced with decent but not amazing food. There is also a swim up bar, plus loads of snorkeling/catamaran activities.
It's not Caneel Bay or The Ritz, but if you're just looking for a good value beachfront hotel with a family-owned (except for the front desk) flavor, you might like this place. Just hope the front desk is in a better mood!

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonTropix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2010

We stayed at Bolongo for two days and on a scale of 1-10, Bolongo was a 7 and met most of our need but rarely surpassed them. Let’s start with the resort itself. It is a fairly isolated resort, not in walking distance to anything worth going to on the island, so if you don’t plan on renting a car, do plan on some expensive taxi rides to get to Red Hook or Charlotte Amalie ($25 one way) where shops and other nightlife are. That being said, it is a self-sufficient resort with two restaurants and a gift shop, so you don’t have to leave. The beach is nice enough with a dock splitting two stretches. It is cleaned daily by the staff and there were people always out grooming/landscaping. The beach is a bit rocky, there was lots of seaweed and the snorkeling was poor, but the water was nice and calm most days. Although we never used it, the provided watersports equipment was nice and we notice many people taking advantage of this. The room was nice, clean, large, and had good air conditioning and a nice kitchenette with microwave and mini-fridge. The showers are very small (no tub) and getting hot water was hit or miss. The views from the room were nice, overlooking the beach. We had meals at both restaurants, the Lobster Grille and Iggies Beach Bar, and both provided decent food for island prices ($15-$30 per entre) and live entertainment most nights. The Frenchtown Dip at Iggies is a good choice. All the staff we encountered were very pleasant and willing to help, although we found the service at Iggies to be lacking on several occasions. After two days, we agreed that Bolongo was perfectly fine for what we needed, which was some lazy beach time, a clean and basic room, and decent food on the premises. Although we were never “wowed” we would recommend staying here, as it is a good deal for the money.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alienz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2010

My friend and I spent a week at Bolongo (hotel only) but ended up eating most breakfasts and dinners there due to the distance to the downtown/shopping/dinning areas. We spent a lot with transportation (taxis each way downtown $8pp).
The staff was nice (with one or two exception) especially the bartenders and it's convenient that there is a dock by the beach for activities.
The negative part were the mosquitoes, they devoured us, no amount of "off" would keep them away. In the room, at the restaurant, computer room, beach, etc, there was an infestation, I had over 200 bites on my body!!! And some noise/screaming from neighboors in the middle of the night twice!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManyPlacesToGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

From the minute we stepped out of the taxi we knew we were going to have a great vacation! We were greeted by the doorman who took our bags and ran to get us a rum punch immediately and my name was on the cork board for arriving guests! The hotel is gorgeous but it is of course St Thomas. I had been to the island many years before and did not remember a lot about it, but was very pleasantly surprised. I did a lot of research and despite many negative reviews, still booked the Bolongo. Let me tell you, I MUCH prefer the hospitality of the staff making you feel like family as opposed to the sterile environment of more expensive resorts. Bolongo feels the way a relaxed atmosphere should. Beverley was very nice and accomodating for my birthday and the next morning at breakfast Vernita went out of her way to book us some sighseeing tours and went beyond hospitable by requesting a large lobster for me for my birthday dinner!! Iggies is fun and has a great happy hour, (Thanks Chucky D and Bri!!!, we miss you guys) and The Lobster Grille is fantastic!! The water sport amenities are great but I suggest bringing or purchasing water shoes because it is quite rocky when you go in the water. The shower was small and the pressure was practically non-existent, but it was hot enough! The only real complaint I have, and I am not sure for other rooms of course, is that the bed was rather hard, and although the room was cleaned everyday, I know that they did not change the sheets the whole 7 days we were there and because of the humidity, they smelled moldy...
Other than that, Bolongo is a fun, relaxed, beautiful resort that is priced well and away from the posh! I love the "beachy" feel and there is something going on at Iggie's every night...check out Carnival on Wednesday night! We are already planning a trip back in April or May of 2011!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emjay73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Coast
2.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
571 reviews
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.7 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,812 reviews
3.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range: $205 - $495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing