We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 18, 2013

My husband and I were there from the 8th to the 15th for our honeymoon,
We had a wonderful, relaxing time. I have read MANY reviews and let me say that
it isn't the top of the line resort...but We were treated as if we were a King and Queen.
The staff EXCELLENT!! and the food delicious....our room was 10 steps from the sand
it was clean and nice in m y opinion. If your looking for high end travel, This may not be for you.
I can't say enough about the staff and the swim with the turtles...the drinks the friendships we made ect...I recommend Bolongo Bay to everyone and I will go back year after year.
For those of you who didn't like....MORE room for those of us who ADORE it!
We love and miss you all already, Mike and Brenda Skala

Room Tip: Beach front was our favorite(room 147) ;)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

526 - 532 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013

Tons of sea life right off the shores of your room. Swimming or snorkeling in the water near the hotel we saw an abundance of healthy sea life. There are not many hotels that are beach front and this one is about midway between the shops and the boats to other islands so a taxi ride to most places.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsNina1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We booked a long stay from July 1 through July 10. We reserved a 2 bedroom condo, all inclusive, for my wife, my 2 kids (4 years old and 15 years old), and myself.

The condo was lovely. It is part of a condo complex right next door. It has an amazing view, access to a pool, and is right on the beach. It has a nice kitchen, big living room, a balcony, and 2 bathrooms. It was even better than we expected.

The resort is great. A nice pool, a big beach that was never crowded, access to lots of non-motorized water sports, etc. And, again, the view is awesome.

We highly suggest the all-inclusive. You will not go hungry. With Iggie's and Lobster Grill to choose from, you can't go wrong. Breakfast, lunch, dinner, appetizers, deserts, booze, soda, etc...they have you covered! And the food is great!

And don't forget to go out on the boat! Heavenly Days, her captain, and her crew are great. Be sure to swim with the sea turtles!

The people there are awesome. Super friendly, and they go out of their way to make you happy! They are the best part of the resort!

We also renewed our vows right there on the beach! Awesome!

In case you can't tell, we loved Bolongo Bay Beach Resort! We will be back!!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kraz_Eric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

We had a amazing honeymoon. Did the all inclusive so we didnt have to worry about spending a lot on food and drink. We really like our food and drinks so that was great. Our room is right on the beach. Like only a few feet out the door and there is was. Really great views. 2 resturants there Lobster grille has awesome mango pancakes. Their stuffed lobster is to die for. Make sure to take a cuise on their catameran. Everyene we met was smiling and having a great time, including the staff. big shout out to renida in the gift shop. and momma viola at lobster grille. what great memories.

Room Tip: do beachfront all inclusive
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank koolchic82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This all inclusive is smaller than your bigger corporate ones but was a pleasant surprise in a BIG way. Upon arrival the staff was very friendly and welcoming. Our room was big and spacious and very clean. We had a room on the 2nd Floor and it had an amazing view! The onsite restaurants were fantastic and the calendar of events were plentiful. We were only there for 5 days and were able to fit in quite a bit of activities. We enjoyed sailing on the Heavenly Days (we did this three days in a row) the crew is funny and very entertaining. The snorkeling was fantastic and the sunset cruise amazing! They have jet skiing and wind surfing...you name it. The only time we were in our room was to sleep....so much to do! Don't be deceived by it's smaller size....it makes up for in a much bigger way! Highly recommend! Enjoy!

Room Tip: 2nd Floor is the only way to go. The first floor has a lot of traffic passing by and I would imagine...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Melissa_Brown831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

As soon as we arrived, (Late due to weather) we were greeted with smiles and a drink which I had definietly needed. The staff was super friendly and would help with any questions we had. The price was right for us. The room was perfect for us. The beach/bar/restaurant was perfect beings they were all in the same area. The only downfall was we didn't get to stay long enough!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SaraDP12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We only stayed here for one night while passing through from staying on Virgin Gorda. We had toyed with the idea of staying elsewhere but chose Bolongo Bay based on price and reviews.

We got a really good deal on a value room and the "European" (non inclusive) plan. Upon our arrival at check in we were given a rum punch. Checking in was a little slow and then we had to wait for the bellman to come back and give us a ride to our room in the golf cart even though it wasn't too far from the main area. Oh well.

Our room was a little dated but clean and comfortable. It had a mini fridge, microwave, coffee maker and some dishes. I thought that was nice to have. Our room had a door right to the back of the resort and the beach. It was literally steps to the beach. The little deck outside was nice too. The bathroom was small and shower was tiny but it was one night. I did think it odd to have the soap, shampoo and conditioner in dispensers but again, we only stayed one night so this didn't affect us.

We had drinks at Iggies. Service was a little slow at first. They had some good fruity drinks and the St John's beers which was great. There were some locals there as well as the resort guests. I liked that. We didn't eat at Iggie's. Drink prices were pretty good though, especially for a resort.

The food at Lobster Grille was solid. We had both breakfast and dinner there. For breakfast we suggest ordering from the menu which was way nicer than the buffet.

The beach was a little rocky but nice enough. We didn't really go in the water since our stay was so short. We saw a lot of people taking advantage of the free water sports though and wished we could have.

The tennis courts were ok but a little run down. We couldn't figure out where to get the equipment.

There were several cats on the property. We made friends with one who was super friendly. I like this since I like cats but could see how some might not enjoy it.

Overall I'm not sure we'd stay again since it was just ok. I could not imagine staying here a week or more though! It's pretty small. Especially if you are looking just to stay on the resort. Unless you have a car and are going to go exploring, I'd probably stay at a larger resort just to fight boredom.

The Wifi worked for us but it's area was limited to Lobster Grille (some parts, the lobby area and some parts of the pool. They should expand it to include all common areas and Iggie's at the least. Wifi in every room is always a plus but at least expand it to the other common areas!

The staff was all VERY friendly and we have no complaints about that!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laina990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Coast
3.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
577 reviews
3.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
2.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
640 reviews
4.7 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,820 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range: $194 - $506 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Since 1974, Bolongo Bay Beach Resort has welcomed guests from around the world curious to discover life in the Caribbean. Bolongo Bay is a small, authentic Caribbean beach resort on the southern coast of St. Thomas, Virgin Islands. Located in a beautiful bay touching the Caribbean Sea, Bolongo Bay offers a perfect harmony of relaxation, solitude & adventure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing