We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Wedding”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We went to Bolongo Bay for our daughter’s wedding. Overall the resort could not have been any more accommodating. While there were over 20 guests for the wedding and I’m sure they enjoyed the added business, I noticed they paid attention to all of their guests. The place is older, but out room was very clean and comfortable. There are places it shows it age, but our general rule is if it is clean and things are old but maintained, we are fine. The pool area is small, but they do have a very nice beach. While we did not get the chance to enjoy the water sports equipment, there were things to do and the offered diving right on the property? The food was good, very good for the Caribbean (most of our vacations are in the Caribbean) and there is a club as part of the property that offers lunch and dinner and has nightly entertainment, so you have an option. The resort was comfortable and really do not have any negative comments about the resort itself.
Our biggest disappointment was the wedding. For a wedding planner who stated she did this for the upper crowd, I question this or she has forgotten the simple things. Our daughter selected the boat wedding, which is a catamaran. There really is not a good place on the boat for the actual ceremony unless there are just a few people. OK, not the planner’s fault, but think information about the boat layout should have been stated. Plus the process was, everyone get on the boat and wait for the bride and groom. As for the parents, they were told to wait on the boat and fortunately, my daughter asked for me to escort her to the boat. Since there was a larger crowd, there was not any consideration to at least allow the parents to be close to the bride and groom. The wedding planner was not on the boat and the overall setup of the two assistants was to make sure everyone had a drink, Ok, this was not a church wedding, but a lot of simple things were not even considered, like the parents of the bride and groom. If you decide to get married at Bolongo Bay, I would make sure you tell the exactly what you want, step by step and if there is a group of people, avoid the boat.

Room Tip: First rooms allow access directly to the beach, but don't count on seeing it as there is a lot o...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,226)
There are newer reviews for Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

540 - 546 of 1,226 reviews

Reviewed June 15, 2013

Just returned late yesterday and miss everyone already. We had such a spectacular time last week. Beautiful sights, beautiful people, beautiful vacation. The entire staff is wonderful. The only bad thing I have to say, is that we had to leave! What a great place to stay, kids loved it, we loved it. There was something or nothing to do at all times. We could not have asked for anything more (except a few more days). Thank you for making us feel so welcome.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank destiny1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Enjoyed last year so much we decided to come back again this year for 9 days. Anyone , any age can fit in here. We saw families with small children, newlyweds, and people different ages up to maybe upper 70's - doesn't matter. We both work and were burned out. Just wanted a vacation to pick when we wanted to be around people or be alone. There are plenty of water sports to enjoy and the people that work at the water sports cabana are very attentive to people who are trying to learn something new...like paddle boarding, kayaking, windsurfing etc. It's easy to pack 1 large suitcase for this stay. I brought 3 swimsuits, 3 pairs of shorts, 7 lightweight tops, 4 beach coverups that could be used for dinner. No heels, just 3 pairs of sandals. (I can be somewhat high maintenance so that's saying alot for me to pack 1 suitcase). Enjoyed the all inclusive at both Iggys and Lobster Grill. As far as the room, we stayed in room 136, 3rd floor. They have window units that are loud but a/c worked great and allowed you to sleep without hearing any outside noises. Love the view as it's unobstructed. Heavenly Days Catamaran is OUTSTANDING, worth your time if you love sailing. We went to Buck Island to snorkle with the turtles and also went for the sunset cruise. Fun crew. Don't waste your time coming here if you want sophisticated. The rooms are spacious and clean with a small frig. Plenty of room for your clothes. Never got bug bites but we followed the simple rule: dust and dawn, spray your legs if you're out walking on the sand. Any trips you may want to take, ask the people in the gift shop. They know EVERYTHING. We booked a separate sailing on the Daydreamer Catamaran so we could visit Jost Van Dyke for the day - outstanding. For $130 pp we left at 8am and came back at 4pm. Big, beautiful catamaran which doesn't overbook with people. Got the recommendation from the helpful gift store staff. They also arranged for taxi's which were ALWAYS on time. Hope this helps!

Room Tip: I'd call Bolongo and speak to someone. They can't guarantee you a room but it doesn't h...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CC M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

Varneta you ROCK. Thanks for helping us book our excursions they were worth while and we had a blast. Bolongo Bay your condo was Great and you cleaning services were great whoever cleaned the room did a great job. The view from our Condo was breath taking and everyone was very polite and accommodating. I would Rate the experience there with people/staff a 5 and the condo a 3.5. just had a few issues with the bathroom facilities but other than that we had a great time. Iggies, Mims, and the Lobster grille had wonderful food and just a step away. We stayed 5/31/2013 through 6/6/2012 The weather was awesome. Thanks again and we will return :)

Room Tip: Ask for recently renovated condo and if you stay so many days ask what you excursion you can get for...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TRTalbot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Bolongo is the worst resort ever. The rooms are nasty the tv reception was poor the room phone didn't work. The room smelled like a damp basement. We stayed there for 1 hour and moved on to another resort. They offered us a free upgrade to a bigger stinky room but we passed. The pics on there website must be 20 yrs old it looks nothing like that. What a dump

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank shtmetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

This was out second stay for our anniversary and honestly this resort makes you feel like your coming home. The staff is great everyone including the owners remember about your day and ask how it was.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NLPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I stayed at Bolongo Bay Resort for one week and it's possibly the best stay I've ever. At check-in I was given a Rum Punch, an open door, and a million dollar smile at the desk. Any complaint I had was empathetically received and quickly tended to. The Lobster Grill has a rude hostess who refuses to smile at anyone in the mornings, but 007 is an awesome and friendly bartender. Iggie's was a fun-packed party house every night I was there. For it's age the resort is in pristine condition, for the price it's worth every dollar. I intend to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank IanHobbs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Coast
2.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
571 reviews
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
4.7 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
3.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range: $201 - $492 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing