We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love Bolongo Bay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We stayed for seven nights,and did the all-inclusive,which included two sails.We loved the all-inclusive.You can have breakfast,three courses at lunch and four courses at dinner.Unlimited drinks alone,made it worth it to us.If you are going to do a lot of sight seeing,then probably not worth it,but we had planned to spend most of our time relaxing at the beach with a pina colada.We stayed in beachfront room #144,which I highly recommend.Our patio was steps from the sand.We liked that once we checked in,we never had to see the parking lot again.Fyi,I don't recommend driving in St Thomas.The roads are narrow and hilly,and the local drivers are crazy.If you do rent a car,definitely get a jeep,because you won't make it up some hills otherwise.The snorkeling at the hotel was great.We saw sea turtles,rays and a small octopus.When facing the ocean,swim to the point on the left,the snorkeling is great there.I don't think there is a better beachfront hotel in St Thomas.We would love to bring our children there next time.With all the included water toys,I know they would be entertained all day.The service at Lobster Grille was great.We loved Magic Mike and 007!We did visit Trunk Bay in St John,which was gorgeous,with white sand and turquoise water.As beautiful as St John is,it is mainly national park,and doesn't have many hotels to choose from,and might be a little boring for a long stay,and no hotel there has the beachfront access that Bolongo Bay has.We had fun a few night at Iggie's.The music was mediocre.Granted we are from Austin,and are a little spoiled in that department.During our week stay,we saw many sad,depressed faces when leaving Bolongo Bay,as were we.

Room Tip: The building that houses rooms 141-145 is the best!Beachfront is worth it for access to the beach,bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carmenheiple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,225)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 1,225 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

I was very disappointed in the resorts internet service and the staff's response to our inquiry.

My family has 8 internet devices (4 verizon droid phones, 1 iPhone, 2 kindles, and 1 laptop) and none were able to connect to the resorts "FREE" Internet. Several people were having similar problems. When my family and others raised this issue to the staff repeated, the response was "I'm on the internet, must be a problem at your end" I found that very odd as there were at least 8 other people experiencing similar problems and my family has never had a problem connecting elsewhere. Even the few people that were able to connect said the service kept dropping out. Also Internet service is only available in one small area.

If you want internet service....stay at another place.

Location: excellent. plenty of sea turtles just off the beach.

Hotel comments: We stayed on the first floor and the acommodations are basic and need updating with some TLC. Our room was clean, but little things like a camp-like shower with rust on the fixtures, stained / corroded bath vanity, use of plywood under the sink, curtains for closet doors, loud AC units, and poorly patched floor tiles detract from the rooms.

Food comments: Food was good and plentiful at both restaurants, but not gourmet for sure.

Staff: with the exception of the internet issue, the staff is very good. ...nice and friendly. We found the water sports staff to be particularly helpful.

Room Tip: Try a second level room, maybe they are better?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vienna_Family5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

I would definitely say, do the ALL INCLUSIVE!! The staff, food, "DRINKS" etc... was GRRRRRRREAT, Everyone I encountered were extremely friendly and courteous.. The activities that are available are amazing, I literally wore myself out by doing so much in the 1st 2 days. LOL (like a 5 yr. old sent outside to play) and don't regret it a bit!! Lobster grill food 1st thing in the morning with a drink from "AL-XXX" of course, afternoon activities (JET-SKi's with cool MATT), shower and then off to IGGIE'S for some SERIOUS drinks..

Hotel; what can I say? Comfortable atmosphere, and on point with everything.. 1st floor rm.
with the beach 20 ft. from my back door!? WOW REALLY!!!!?

Heavenly Days; Capt. "P", Kyle and Lindsey (Hope I spelled it right) lol
Make your Turtle Dive and Sunset Cruise a memorable experience.
I saw Turtles, stingrays, various species of fish and even a "SHARK"!!
I'll tell anyone that goes here to take in those sites..

Iggie's; Can you say SERRRRRRRRIOUS DRINKS!!
Nighttime grub, and live bands made me wanna' sleep at the bar instead of
going back to my room. I chilled with the bartenders most of the night, Chuck, Rachel,
Brent and of course my man "JOSH"!! (just watchin' the game) I would recommend
for anyone going here to try the NEW n Improved Josh Killer.. Woooo weee

St. Thomas Diving Club; I don't even know where to begin, Everyone and I mean EVERYONE
from the shop were so laid back and patient from getting on the boat
in the water and back on land.. We had 3 instructors on the boat with
us, Sean, Josha and my personal favorite MARCY.. I LOVE THESE
people, they took their time and never make you feel pressured...
These are GENUINELY good people and more concerned about
you having a FUN/SAFE time then "YOU" are, I'll be back next year
for my certification. Hell maybe even sooner...

To sum this up, let's put it this way, I am a 43yr. old man, and when it was time to go, I pouted, sulked and threw temper tantrums etc..Like a lil' kid...ROFL This is the place to go for couples looking to really chill out and relax or take that 1 friend that likes to travel like you do, either way, you won't be bored...

Room Tip: ANY room was a good one, but you just can't have mines...LOL That 1 was the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dante S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Our second time traveling to Bolongo Bay. The Lobster Grill's food is outstanding, Iggy's is more bar food and bar activities. We did opt for the All-Inclusive package again, since the only way to eat elsewhere is with a cab ride ($$$) added to the cost of your meal, not terribly logical.
Our first morning at breakfast, there were 4 green sea turtles in the lagoon. I couldn't get my snorkel gear from the dive shop fast enough! I spent all morning watching them graze and giving them their space. One was surfacing near me and I was shocked to see that it was over 4 feet long! We swam with the turtles almost every day of our stay.
The management of the resort goes out of their way to care for the local schools, members of their community and feral animals on the property. I would not dream of staying elsewhere!
We will return!

Room Tip: All of the rooms face the beach. Rooms in the middle third of the main hotel have the best views of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TurquoiseBlues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2012

our trip was so fantastic,the staff,from the housekeepers,to front desk,capt.petes trips,laura,the staff at iggies especially rachael,josh and the whole group at the lobster grill,my wife jennifer and myself felt as if we where at home,the Dumane family treated all of us like royalty. this was our 10th. wedding anniversary and we had so much fun and relaxation,we are so excited to be coming back again the 1st. week in May 2013 ,really enjoyed all the trips on heavenly days with capt. pete and his awesome crew.Our room on the second floor gave us an amazing view out onto the bay WOW!!!!!!!!!,wish this winter would hurry up and end so we can come back and start rechargingour batteries.this resort has the most wonderful all-inclusive in the caribbean they have left nothing out,amazing food,drinks,staff,accommodations,and all the fantastic new friends we made,hope everyone at bolongo has a fantastic holiday season,we will see you all soon,love from Jim and Jen,CAPE COD MASS.DEC.11,2012,peace and love!!!!!!!.

Room Tip: Get a room on second or third floor, the views are to die for,also do the all- inclusive,you wont re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jdougy56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

Hearing waves right outside the room made our stay at Bolongo extra special. But the people around us were what made our stay so fabulous. The staff is wonderfully friendly, right from Ross checking us in after a very long travel day from Illinois, to Laura giving us excellent advice on what we could do on our vacation on St. Thomas. Plus the people who stay at Bolongo are so friendly! We vacationed with some of the best guests in the Caribbean!

Yoshi and Dave at the Beach Hut did everything we asked for and more at the waterfront. (Getting fresh beach towels was beyond their control... maybe the one drawback of the place is their linen service.) We have many places we still want to visit in our retirement years, and we have never gone back to any of the 10 island vacation spots we have been to, but we likely will go back to Bolongo Bay.

"Heavenly Days" is the name of the resort's own 55' catamaran. Captain Peter, Lindsay and Kyle are a fabulous travel team. We booked all three of their voyages (Sunset Cruise, Morning Swim with the Turtles, and Day Sail to St. John) and thoroughly enjoyed them all. We took an island taxi tour which included the Mountaintop, but their advertised "Best Banana Daiquiri" was not as good as the one made by Bolongo bartender, "007." Other island places to enjoy are Coral World and Coki Beach. Check out their reviews.

The room was comfortable with excellent service, but as others have said the bathroom has a small shower stall. It was manageable. Nightly live entertainment is a short walk away at Iggies Bar. They offered different musicians each night, but Wednesday's Carnival Night is great for families as well with conga lines, limbo, and a show. You will not want to miss their Thursday night karaoke!

Internet wi-fi did not always connect and is only available in the public areas like the patio and the restaurant. But I was not on vacation just to spend more time online while I could swim with sting rays, turtles and fish right at our own beach! Non-motorized watercraft is free to use, and they include a Hobie Cat, paddle boards, snorkel equipment, etc. Only parts of the beach are rocky, a small portion. There is plenty of sand to enjoy.

Lobster Grille has a good menu even for breakfasts, and the food at Iggies is also fine. We opted not to do the all-inclusive (we don't drink that much) so we also enjoyed other restaurants around the island. One fine one is Mims, a short walk beyond Iggies so does not require a taxi ride - taxis are quite an expense at about $20 for two of us to go almost anywhere. We generally rent a car when we vacation, but the roads on St. Thomas are very hilly and curvy.

This is a family-run resort, and they accommodate wonderfully. We do hope to go back.

Room Tip: All rooms face the ocean, but those at ground level are more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SongBirdMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

First the good: Bolongo Bay is right on the water and in a pretty good location. 90% of the staff we encountered were outstanding! We didn't get in until after 11:30 pm and Iggies was the only thing open, but the kitchen was already closed. We dropped our stuff in the room and headed over there for a cold beer after a long day of travel. The cooks Stephen and Japhan were there having a beer and when they heard we had just got in they offered to go back in the kitchen and make us a sandwich or something! We declined and instead had a few beers with them and the fabulous bartender Joshua. Thanks to "local" Laura in the gift shop, she gave great advice and we were able to book some amazing excursions. She alsorecommended 2 exquisite restaurants (we went on the European Plan). Rachel, one of the other bartenders at Iggies was equally awesome as were Kristy and Danielle. Shayla, the new hostess at the Lobster Grille also stood out - I think it was her 3rd day working there but she was a pro! And we can't forget Selma, the only front desk person who was genuinely glad we were there!
Now the not so good: The place is in need of a facelift. The rooms aren't horrible but the bathrooms are, not dirty (although the grout in the shower could use a good scrub) but so dark and the tiniest shower ever. Ladies if you plan on shaving your legs be warned - it is no easy task. I think the shower is about 3' x 3'. The bathroom is so dark I hardly wore any makeup for fear of looking like a clown. The housekeepers didn't do a bad job, but even though we followed the protocol for towel replacment they took them anyway and didn't replace them! We called and asked for some and never got them. We had to use our beach towels for our showers. They don't fill up the gels in the shower daily (gel, shampoo, conditioner) so right in the middle of a shower you run out! And they shampoo hardly lathered my hair. The water isn't the beautiful turqoise blue because of the rockier bottom and it doesn't have much of a shoreline to walk. I emailed twice before our stay to find out if I needed to bring my computer or if there was one for guests. I was assured there was but when we got there guess what? Nope, they were remodeling. We're not fancy people but when you pay over $300 per day you expect a decent bathroom. One last thing, daily you will be charged room, room tax, $18.00 resort fee and $10.00 utilities expense.

Room Tip: All rooms overlook the water but we really enjoyed the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 4dpkeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Coast
2.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
574 reviews
5.1 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,813 reviews
3.4 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
709 reviews
3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range: $214 - $447 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 74
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing