We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lobster Grill”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Certificate of Excellence
Hendersonville
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lobster Grill”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We stayed a week at Frenchman's Reef and never had a meal that impressed us as much as the one at Lobster Grill. The Filet Mignon was absolutely incredible as well as the potatoes au gratin and the vegetables. The service was equally wonderful from the moment we walked up and made our reservation until the end of our meal. The view was also great. Wish we would have found this at the beginning of our stay on St. Thomas! We would have paid for a taxi to take us there every night!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank catwoman28739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    586
    338
    140
    73
    50
See reviews for
263
516
22
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hekesq
Level Contributor
74 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Was here in 2008 and was pleasently surprised. Friendly staff and good services. When we decided to go back to St. Thomas there was no hesitation about going back to Bolongo. A week before we left I went onto the hotel's website to check out the activities schedule, only to discover that the pool was going to be closed for most of our stay (8 days) and the main restaurant (Lobster Grill) was going to be closed almost the entire trip. If you go to the Carribean you want to spend some time at the pool sipping rum punch. Not going to happen this time. When we got their we cokmplained and they offered us two excursions which we would not have chosen ourself - a swim with the turtles and sunset cruise. We had already booked a snorkel excursion so this was kind of repetative. The pool was supposed to open (according to the calendar) on Wednsday so we would still have two days use. Wednesday came and no pool. The front desk said Thursday. Thursday came - no pool. Then they said Friday. Guess what - still no pool. We left Saturday and the pool was still not open. No pool all week. They suggested using the pool from the condo next door but that was several hundred yards away and no swim up bar. Not what we bargained for. And then several days the beach was filled with seaweed so we could use that either. The Restaurant also closed all week. Glad we didn't purchase the all inclusive. We ended up changing our plans, rented a car and visted beaches. They should have closed that week, contacted us earlier and either offered a different week or another hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hekesq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nj
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

My sis, friend and I visited St Thomas and St John in September. We decided to stay at Bolongo because of the great reviews, the beach and the restaurants. We did the room only, not the all inclusive.

We were greated at the front desk with rum punch and a smile. Ross checked us in right away and we had some help getting our stuff to the room. We were upstairs. The room was a bit dated but it was fine. We didn't plan on spending a lot of time in the room anyway. There was a queen sized bed and a day bed with a trundle so it worked for the 3 of us. They also left us a bottle of rum and some chocolates, neither of which went to waste! We had a nice view but didn't sit out on the balcony too often because the AC unit was pretty loud. Whenever we did sit outside, we turned it off.

We quickly headed to the bar to have some cocktails. We made friends with 007, the bartender. What a great time we had with him and met some other guests. We had several cocktails and ordered dinner. Ouch!! Very pricey.....but we were on vacation! The next day, we spent most of our time on the beach. Had breakfast first....I thought the pricing was reasonable, about $11 per person for eggs, bacon, toast, potatoes and coffee. Hung at the beach all day, took advantage of the watersports. The kids working at the equipment hut were very friendly. Later in the day, one of the other guests started having a seizure on the beach. The staff did everything they could to get her the medical attention she needed. The Romance Director (i think ther name was Lorna) took great care of her. The EMTs were a bit slow to respond, but once they got there and took control of the situation, they helped the woman - turned out she was diabetic and her sugar was way too low. Too much excitement for the afternoon! We invested in a bucket of Voodoo Juice and enjoyed....and then made our own with the liquor we bought.

The restaurants were great as was the food and entertainment. The mosquitos bite like you would not believe! I think they were immune to the Off spray that they kept at the bar and restaurants. We did go to Mim's, a restaurant next to BBBR, one night. Great food there as well. There was a Manager's Cocktail Party that we enjoyed. We got to meet all the managers and learn more about how they all came to work for the resort. Everyone was very friendly. Our housekeeper was great, we left her notes and a tip every day and she took good care of us.

Overall, this was a great beginning to our Girls' Trip. We had a wonderful time there. Just keep in mind that it's an older, less flashy resort and it is very easy to spend a lot of money on food and alcohol here. With that in mind, the all-inclusive may be the way to go and I think it would definitely be worth it to not worry about how much you are spending at each meal.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a simple property on a fabulous beach with great people to take care of you.

Room Tip: If you like to eat and drink, consider the all inclusive. And go for a first floor room so you can j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gemi3886
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I just returned from my third stay at Bolongo. This time I took 3 of my girlfriends and they had the best time! The resort continues to be the best at hospitality, the food is 5 star with lots of choices...not a buffet like other all inclusive resorts. You can't beat the sailing trips offered by the Heavenly Days catamaran and the crew makes sure you have a great time. Thank you to the Doumeng family who continue to create a wonderful vacation spot for all to enjoy. I can't say enough about the staff, the amenities, the excellent cuisine and location. Thank you for making this all girls, Libra, birthday trip a blast!!!!

Janae Kelly

Room Tip: Getting a balcony is great as well as the floor level rooms...you can just walk out to the beach if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karamelhni66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amelia Island, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Restaurant and pool were closed for remodeling which was disappointing. Had fun at Iggie's. Sunset harbor cruise was lovely! Friendly and helpful staff. Beautiful view from balcony. Would probably stay in town next time where there was more to do and more places to eat.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LSU32034
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Tennessee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We always stop at Bolongo Bay Beach Resort when visiting St Thomas on a cruise. It is a beautiful beach that is nice and quiet. The beach bar Iggies provides great food and drink for our day at the beach. Thanks again for making our trip GREAT!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank s2thfairy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
37 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

Well what I'm getting at is yes it's beautiful. Yes the location is perfect. Picture perfect beach. Just a dream. The bar iggies is on the beach. Who could ask for a perfect place!!!!!!!
Well let dive into this. First at the airport I received an upgrade from a compact to a midsize. I thought nice, well not so nice stick to smaller cars streets are very small and you are driving on the left lane. Bolongo bay beach resort is on the beach. Nice chairs to lay on and enjoy the sun. Make sure you have sea shoes with you because you can't go in with out them. Lots and lots of rocks and seaweed. You need to hit a different beach. Rooms are old very old but comfy. The A.C. were right next to the beds. I had to put something next to the vents to divert the air from hitting me while I slept. The food at the beach bar is awesome. Service leaves to be desired . If you don't get up to get your own napkins and utensils you will be eating by hand. Breakfast was served in the conference room. It was very good, or was I hungry and ignored what I saw. It was dirty And falling apart. But the service and food were good.

All in all it was a good place to eat ,stay and rest. beech, you need to drive to one.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jafstat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near South Coast
2.9 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
3.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.8 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
3.6 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
979 reviews
3.0 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
664 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bolongo Bay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bolongo Bay Beach Resort

Property: Bolongo Bay Beach Resort
Address: 7150 Bolongo, 00802, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > South Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in South Coast
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Bolongo Bay Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bolongo Bay Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bolongo Bay Beach Hotel South Coast
Hotel Bolongo Bay Beach
Bolongo Bay St Thomas
Bolongo Bay Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing