We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really Organized and fun!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of New Horizons & Breakaway Charters

New Horizons & Breakaway Charters
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.99*
and up
St Thomas Snorkel and Sail Adventure to St John
Ranked #11 of 27 Tours in East End
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: 4 Islands in a Day! Explore The Baths of Virgin Gorda, snorkel at Diamond Reef, eat lunch at "Pusser's Restaurant" Marina Cay, and relax at Jost Van Dyke. This trip is not to be missed! It is a great way to see 4 different locations in the BVI. Also, don't forget that proof of citizenship (passport) is required, and of course there is a premium open bar offered, stocked with alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages. Spend a Day on Jost Van Dyke! Cruise to Jost Van Dyke aboard a spacious powerboat. Spend the morning snorkeling in the beautiful turquoise waters of the Virgin Islands. Enjoy a tropical lunch at Foxy's on Jost: from specialty cocktails to micro-brews, BBQ to seafood, Foxy's has something for everyone! Lastly, finish your day sipping on a famous Soggy Dollar Bar Painkiller, while lounging on a hammock in White Bay. This trip includes a continental breakfast, an open bar including alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, as well as an afternoon snack.
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for older children
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Really Organized and fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Went on the Breakaway to BVI with my family... The service was incredible!!!! Captain Lindsey was funny and kept us entertained along with Malana and Mitch. Those girls were awesome (bartender, tour guide, lifeguard, helped out in docking. We had to change boats because of an engine problem but the transaction was swift and smooth. The only thing we didnt enjoy was the fact that it was an open bar, but the girls kept making only the pain killers and offered it a wee bit too much and they were served in "sippy cups" they need to invest in disposable cups. But the lunch at marina cay was nice and as soon as we got there, our food was hot and waiting for us.. VERY ORGANIZED... the baths was an experience.. the hike back up was tiring and they had water that was ice cold but again in those damn sippy cups!.. I would highly recommend this trip to anyone...The crew is amazing!!!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Bobby2690
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    973
    113
    22
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort Mcmurray
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic Day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

We had a great day with Captain Lindsay, Michelle and Malana. The baths were beautiful, winds and waves were not co-operating that day so snorkelling was so so. Once again due to weather we were not able to go to Soggy Dollar, but Captain Lindsay through perseverance was able to get us into Norman Island, Pirates Bights Bar. Felt very safe with him and his crew, very safety minded. Great lunch at Marina Cay. A fantastic day was had by all !!!!! Great interaction between crew members, very entertaining.

Helpful?
Thank thomas2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewHorizons2013, Guest Relations Manager at New Horizons & Breakaway Charters, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you so much for taking time to write a review! I'm so glad you enjoyed your day with us even with the changes that were made. We all agree that Captain Lindsay and his crew are top notch! If you are ever in St. Thomas again we hope to see you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Virgin Gorda & Jost the BEST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had the most amazing time with this guided tour of the "Baths" and then on to lunch and snorkeling. Then we went to Jost. Well then, FABULOUS, the best way to do BVI! The Breakaway is the only way to see 3 spots in one day. And the Captin Lindsay is a hoot, with mates Matt and John, make for a very FUN day!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank WyattBoca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
53 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Look No Further - Best Trip to the BVI's”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

We just returned from a week in St. John. The Breakaway boat trip to the BVI's was the highlight of our trip. My husband and I have been going to the Caribbean for over 20 years. We've gone on numerous boat day trips. This is by far the best. The crew, Captain Lindsay, Tall John and JT made the day so enjoyable. It was first class all the way. Delicious breads and muffins with juice for breakfast as you head out to your first stop. The music they choose puts you into the island mood. Everything ran smoothly and on time. Although you feel like there was enough time devoted to each stop and activity. First stop was Virgin Gorda and the Baths. What an incredible experience. Second stop was snorkeling at Diamond Reef. Then on to lunch at Pusser's at Marina Cay. Beautiful location for lunch. Tiki huts right on the beach and everywhere you look is the beautiful water and BVI's. Last stop was Jost Van Dyke and the Soggy Dollar Bar. Great place to pick up a souvenir T shirt. Buy a plastic camera protection case so you can take pictures once ashore. We did not and wish we had. They will anchor and you do a short little swim to shore to the bar (hence the soggy dollars). Once back on board for the trip back, fresh fruit and shrimp cocktail were served. Painkiller drinks were offered on the boat throughout the afternoon after snorkeling. Very good recipe they used. It was a nice number of people on board, not overly crowded. Can't say enough except that if you have the opportunity to do it, book it! It may seem pricey but was worth the money for an experience you'll always remember. Make sure and request Capt Lindsay, Tall John and JT.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MarylandIslandLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grace, Idaho
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Breakaway Boat Charters”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

We spent a week in St. Thomas and Break A Way to the British Virgin Islands / New Horizons was really the highlight of the week. You need passports to go. We boarded at 7 in the morning from Sapphire Beach Marina and cruised past St. John, Tortola and many of the other islands and cays to Virgin Gorda. We explored through the Baths, which are huge boulders that lay strewn all over the beach area. Sometimes we had to go up wooden stairs, but mostly it was wading in 5-6 inches of water or over sand. We are 60 yrs old and my husband had a knew replacement last fall, but we were able to get through it fine. The experience was beautiful and really unique. We then were to Marina Cay and had lunch at a nice beach front cafe. We then snorkled at Diamond Reef. Beautiful!! Then cruised back toward Jost VanDyke for a visit to the Soggy Dollar Bar. The boat anchors aways out and everyone swims in thus the reason for calling it what it is!. We were back at the marina by about 5 pm. I am not really a water enthusiast, but I loved the trip. Those that are really enjoyed it too. There was plenty of snacks and fruit drinks offered as well as pop and mixed drinks for those that wished that too.
Justin that commandeered the boat and his helpers, Michelle and Malana, were sooo nice and helpful with everything. I highly recommend this as part of your stay in St Thomas.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank golflady7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New Horizons & Breakaway Charters also viewed

St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
East End, St. Thomas
 

Been to New Horizons & Breakaway Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing