We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing resort, slight problem”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Amazing resort, slight problem”
Reviewed January 13, 2011

This is a great resort, I've stayed here on a number of occasions and will continue to stay here. The location is good, beach is great, and the food is ok. I would like to point out that the only reason I didn't like the food was due to my own tastes and nothing to do with the resort. I did want make two things clear, one is the spa has very little if any openings and two the club level isn't worth the money.

The Spa was almost totally booked with one 50 min opening each day I was there. They state that the spa closes at 8pm but all the therapists went home by 6pm which is not a good business practice. I did have a massage and it was very good, the problem is I tried to book something 3 days ahead of time and it was still "booked" which I assume means that they just weren't willing to pay for a therapist to come in.

The Club Level is a great concept but there are two big problems. The club level is the furthest rooms from the main lobby which means for the comfort of the guests they had to put another lobby near those rooms. The problem is that the Club Level is much more expensive. I would be ok with the extra cost if it were worth it, the food isn't very good at all and they only give you these tiny plates and bowls that are no more than 4 inches across. The funny thing is the peaces of lettuce in their salad are bigger than the plate so it's pointless. The food is not very good, they provide some things that are edible but nothing I can call "good food".

Despite all this I still loved my time there, the people are very helpful, the resort goes out of there way to help and the property is amazing. I recommend anyone who is staying on St. Thomas stay there, just avoid the club level.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kjve9876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    44
    10
    1
    3
See reviews for
133
64
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
new york
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2011

My wife and I stayed for 5 nights and had a fantastic time. The service at the hotel is really what makes it. We traveled one night for dinner by boat to St. John offered by the hotel which was so much fun, that evening made our night. Poolside service good for the most part, a little island malaise here and there but nothing major. The beach is quite slim so its all about the pool. We went to dinner at the restaurants right at the hotel which are all great, and ate dinner privately on the beach one night alone which was fantastic but way overpriced. Went to the Cellar in Red Hook which was fantastic and the same owner has an italian place that looked really nice also.
All in all a great stay at a great hotel, stick to the resort are and red hook, charlottte amalie is kind of a dump. Also go to St John for sure, many great eating choices as well. We would return.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank funcouple222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

We just returned from our trip to the Ritz. The resort was lovely - pool was fantastic and overall, the service was good. It was probably the best resort on the island. The location near Red Hook was convenient for taking advantage of meals outside of the resort and trips to St. John. It was a perfect location away from the cruise ships. We would highly recommend the resort for those visiting St. Thomas.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VACATION234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

This was our 3rd trip to St. Thomas but our first time to stay at the Ritz Club. We previously stayed at the Marriott, which I've written reviews on.
The Ritz Club is located in Red Hook, which is at least 30 minutes from the airport and downtown. There is only one road into town, which is very windy and can have lots of traffic, depending on construction and time of day. The good thing is that Red Hook has about 10 good restaurants so going into town isn't necessary.
The resort is set on a beautiful and private beach. There are 3 pools, one is located at the main hotel and one is adults only. Still under construction but probably will be completed soon.
We were disappointed in on-site eating but I will review on them separately.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksNOLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

We are a family with 5 year old twins and it was the perfect property for us. The property was divided up so families could enjoy their time without worrying about the 'noise' and those without children could use the beach or other pool area for total relaxation. Everything was as it should be for a Ritz Carlton but the hotel manager and staff made it outstanding and personal. Our two week stay was perfect and we thank them for making it a special time for our family.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pcolon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
Reviewed October 12, 2010

Stay in the Club suites with small meals included...

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michiganbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2010

This property is Paradise. It is the most relaxing spot and the staff is in the beyond accommodating!!! It is always in perfect condition and they bend over backwards to make your stay perfect. It is the most perfect spot in the universe.

Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank tranquilityoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
0.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Elysian Beach Resort
Elysian Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in East End
597 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
687 reviews
5.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.0 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas
Address: Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in East End
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking natural beauty right on the beach. A bounty of outdoor adventure with perpetually perfect climate are just a few of the reasons why St. Thomas attracts the savy traveler from around the world. Everything the Ritz Carlton is famous for but raised to a higher level in these stunning private residences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas Hotel u.s. Virgin Islands
The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing