We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Vacation done the right way!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vacation done the right way!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

My stay at the Ritz-Carlton Club was nothing short of amazing. The staff was very attentive and helpful. I was there celebrating my birthday, and they gave me a card, cake, champagne, guava juice, and rum to wish me a happy birthday! Housekeeping came twice a day, definitely needed for our group of 7. The property is right on the beach, and we had access to all of the amenities at the Ritz-Carlton Hotel right next door. There was a fully equipped kitchen so we cooked some meals there. If you go during slow season, there aren't many food options nearby and most places stop delivering after lunch. If I make another trip back to St. Thomas, this will easily be my first choice for accommodations.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kcrusto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    178
    41
    9
    1
    4
See reviews for
127
64
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

7 of us stayed in a 3 bedroom villa and fit very comfortably. There is a sofa bed sleeps two or one would sleep comfortably without pulling it out. We bought our own groceries & cooked most of our meals in the room. I would recommend bringing non perishables from home as groceries here are pricey - we brought things like instant oatmeal, granola bars, snacks, and other dry goods. Housekeeping comes twice a day which is great! We were close to the beach and had access to all the ritz amenities. Everything here is high end and great quality! Loved this stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miinocente
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

We visited the Ritz Carlton Club in St. Thomas and enjoyed a three bedroom residence on the second floor of the Kava building. The location within the resort was perfect because it was close to the pool, had unobstructed views of the water and islands in the background and was close to the members reception where we were treated to coffee each morning.

The residence was well appointed with plenty of room for everyone. There were three and a half baths and a large kitchen. There was granite in the kitchen, marble in the bathrooms and luxurious fabrics throughout.

We staff was incredibly friendly and they kept checking in to see if we needed anything. As it turned out, we barely left the resort! Between snorkleing, tennis, swimming in the three pools, spa treatments, lunging by the beaches and enjoying the various restaurants, we were busy and completely happy. They had movies,parties and activities for all ages.

Kids loved the Ambassadors of the Sea program (kids club). They were nervous that it would be too educational and not enough fun, but learning to take photos of coral and stingrays underwater was fantastic experience.

We reserved through Concierge Realty and they made it very easy. We paid far less than if we had stayed at the hotel.

Already looking at dates to return!

Room Tip: Stay in the Iris or Jasmine building to be closer to the pool. Ask for Lily to be steps from the bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtravellers113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at the Ritz Carlton Club Aug. 11-18th and had a wonderful time. We stayed in a 2 bedroom condo on the 5th floor overlooking the ocean. We had 2 private balconies and the rooms were outstanding. The service was impeccable and we will definitely be returning. The grocery store is just down the lane (you will need a car or taxi to get there). The staff was very helpful regarding restaurants or directions to various parts of the island.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner condo and it was very quiet. On the 5th floor you don't really hear any n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank btramont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, New Jersey
Level Contributor
93 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

just returned from a great week at the Ritz Carlton. The service was 5 star in every respect. Our 3 bedroom 3 and a half room suite was huge. It was as large as some condos back home. We had 4 private balconies each overlooking the Ocean.
The infinity pools were amazing. We did the jacuzzi s under the stars almost every evening!
It was a perfect family vacation and get together!

Room Tip: stay in Lily condo - closest to the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank asheffrin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Our family of four visited the Ritz Club from July 27th - August 3rd and had a fantastic time! Our two bedroom unit absolutely awesome and the facility and service from all Ritz employees were excellent. If you rent a car, the entrance to the Ritz Club is just past the hotel entrance. We stayed in a 2 bedroom unit on the 4th floor of Jasmine (see pictures). We used VRBO to book our residence and Jasmine and Iris were the only available buildings. Jasmine is right behind the pool and Iris is next door to the west behind the Coconut Cove restaurant. We were happy with our choice and felt Jasmine's view was preferable. Our view (see pictures) from 2404 was absolutely spectacular and looked straight out at St. John, I recommend the 4th or 5th floors, although all floors in Jasmine have excellent ocean views with the possible exception of the 1st floor. The grounds (see pictures) were beautiful and impeccably maintained. It was almost like walking around botanical gardens with such a large variety of plant life that were perfectly groomed. They even have small signs describing many of the flowers, shrubs, and trees.

The interior (see pictures) was clean and beautifully decorated with marble floors throughout, very nice quality furniture that was in perfect shape, solid doors with lever handles, beautiful moldings and vaulted ceiling. The kitchen had granite counter tops with GE Profile stainless steel appliances including an ice machine on the refrigerator door. It included all the standard accessories including a Cuisinart coffee machine, Hamilton Beach blender for drinks, stainless steel Martini shaker, and knife block with Henkel knives. One small complaint, the lack of a garbage disposal was somewhat inconvenient. The main living area has a 42" (approx.) TV with standard hotel viewing options, but also includes Bose speakers for listening to radio or CD's. The master bath has a small walk in closet, separate room for the toilet, standard bathtub and was stocked with shampoo, conditioner, and body wash. There is an available safe, iron, and hair dryer. The master bedroom has two dressers, a desk, a clock radio with an iPhone dock, one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in, a 36" (approx.) TV, and its own separate balcony with an ocean view.

On the Ritz Club side there is a large pool and a couple of small pools including an adults only pool and hot tub. On the hotel side, there was an infinity pool that we preferred with an incredible view. The lounge chairs are very comfortable and the Ritz offers a fitted lounge cover in addition to their towels. It took us a couple of days to catch on to the fitted cover, which is a great amenity. We did not have any issue finding open chairs, but early birds can hit the towel sheds at 6:30 if you want to reserve your chairs. On the hotel side, they were a little more insistent about helping you set up your chairs, so we would give them a small tip.

Maid Service
Daily maid service and nightly turn down service is provided, which we did not expect. They did a great job and often did unexpected services like running the dishwasher, etc. The only negative was that turn down service arrived at 6:30, which was an inconvenient time for us most nights.

Rental car vs. Taxis
We rented a four door Jeep Wranger from Discount Rental (see picture) for $601.25 for the week and loved the convenience of having our own vehicle for dining and entertainment. Discount is not located at the airport, but is about five minutes away and they will pick you up as soon as you get your bags. I chose Discount due to their competitive prices and the fact that they are one of the few rental companies that allow you to take your vehicle to St. John. When choosing a vehicle, I highly recommend renting a four wheel drive due to the steepness of several of the roads on St. Thomas and St. John. The four door Wrangler was perfect for us and had plenty of room for all of our bags.

July Weather
The resort is in a protected bay which blocks some of the natural ocean breeze, however, we had a decent breeze every day except one and were fairly comfortable. We were told that it had been unusually calm over the last few weeks.

Restaurants
We were scared off from the Ritz restaurants due to pricing and many of the negative reviews so we went off premise for every evening meal. St. Thomas Restaurant Group (STRG) manages/owns a number of restaurants on the east end and we had good experiences with all four of their restaurants we dined at. There are a number of restaurants located in the Red Hook area, which is less than a ten minute drive from the Ritz.

Duffy's Love Shack - We dined at Duffy's our first night and had a great time. Our favorites were the Fish Tacos that were packed with fresh Mahi Mahi and served with a mango sauce and Ahi Tuna salad served with a wasabi dressing. Service was excellent and music selection was eclectic and fun. It is located in Red Hook Plaza.

Sunset Grille (STRG) - Located at the Secret Harbor Beach Resort (5 minute drive from the Ritz), Sunset Grille had excellent food and was our favorite for ambiance. It had a great view of the bay in an open air atmosphere. The Bone in Rib Eye ($34), Mahi Mahi with lump crab ($29), Snapper special ($36), Tomato and Mozzarella Salad, and Prawns Tempura appetizer ($17) were all excellent. The Crab Cake appetizer with red curry remoulade was too spicy for some. Service was adequate, but not great.

Caribbean Fish Market (STRG) - Located just off the beach next door to the Ritz at the Elysian Beach Resort, the Caribbean Fish Market had excellent food and service. Our sever aka Mr. Big Life provided the best service of any of the restaurants we dined at. Fried calamari ($10.50) and tuna tartar ($17.50) apps were excellent. 12 oz NY Strip ($34) was served sliced with spicy hollandaise sauce, broccolini and fingerling potatoes and was very good. We also enjoyed the Spinach Apple salad ($13) and Coconut-Panko Crusted Chicken roulade ($25.50). Recommend dining at the outdoor tables for the best ambiance, only negative was the view of the cheap beach chairs.

The Cellar (STRG) - Located in Red Hook, the Cellar has a great lounge atmosphere with expanded happy hour that includes discounted appetizers. Food was very good, my son enjoyed the "$20 Burger" and he said it was one of the best burgers he has ever had. We also tried the Salmon with BBQ broccolini, Crab Cakes with romesco sauce, and Black Truffle Lobster Mac & Cheese, all very good.

Fish Tails - Tried Fish Tails based on a recommendation from a local, our experience was less than great. Food quality was inconsistent for us, the breading on the Pan Fried Calamari ($11) was falling off and soft and cocktail sauce not great, Shrimp Po'boy ($13) was fair. Fresh catch ($28) (we tried mako shark and tuna) and Fried Shrimp were pretty good, but the rice side served with the entrees was the worst rice we have ever had. It almost tasted like tobacco was mixed in with the rice. Atmosphere was casual open air right on the harbor in Red Hook.

Island Time Pizza - Casual outdoor pizza restaurant with a view of the harbor in Red Hook. Service was good, but pizza did not live up to the hype. Large Uncle Vinnies with Ham, Salami, Capicollo, Pepperoni & Banana Peppers ($20.50), beer selection was fair.

Sangrias Beachside Grill (STRG) - Located next door at the Elysian Beach Resort, it is a very casual ocean front restaurant. We dined there for breakfast one day and tried their eggs ($8), loaded burrito ($13), blueberry pancakes ($11), and banana pancakes ($11). All were good and the service was attentive.

Sails - Only Ritz restaurant we dined at, we tried the Hamburger ($19) and it was good, Chicken Panini’s were all arugula and little meat. Expensive, but can't beat the atmosphere.

Banana Deck (St. John) - Looking for a casual lunch in St. John, we tried Banana Deck based on Trip Advisor reviews. Service was very slow even by island time standards. It took 45 minutes to get our food in a practically empty restaurant. Server/Manager never checked on us or refilled our drinks as we waited. Food was pretty good, burger and fries was $10.

Grocery stores
There is a Food Center on Route 32 about 10 minutes from the Ritz. It is below average, but had all the staples and a good liquor department.

Entertainment
Scuba - Dove two days with Aqua Action Divers located at Secret Harbor Beach Resort about 5 minutes away from the Ritz. Our favorite dives were Cow Rock and Packet Rock. Saw a spotted eagle ray, moray eels, southern sting ray, lion fish, trumpet fish, lobster, flounder, porcupine fish, lizard fish, a queen and grey angel fish, multiple varieties of parrot fish, etc. We enjoyed listening about the history behind each site from Captain Bill. Visibility was pretty good.

Sailing - Went on the 1 hour 45 minute sunset sail on Ritz's Lady Lynsey and really enjoyed it. It was $80 pp and included heavy appetizers and open bar, their rum punch was excellent. Both the food and drinks were great, but best of all was the service. Our hostesses were hard workers and were constantly asking if we needed drink refills or someone to take a picture of our family. The Lady Lynsey boards at 5:15 for the Sunset Sail and sails three times a week. If you want a picture with the sunset in the background, sit on the starboard side.

St. John - St. John Island is a great day trip if you have the time. We took the Virgin Islands Car Ferry in Red Hook over to St. John ($50 round trip plus a $4 port fee). The ferry runs every two hours and takes about 25 minutes, the last ferry back is at 6:15. We started with lunch at Cruz Bay, then took the very scenic road to Trunk Bay, (make sure to stop along the way for some great photo ops). Trunk Bay ($16 entrance fee) is a great beach with perfect white sand and crystal clear water. It was crowded, but not overly so during off season. The snorkeling was pretty good and they boast an underwater trail, although we only saw a couple of underwater signs.

Mountain Top - If you want a break from the sun for a few hours, Mountain Top is worth the trip. Located at the top of St. Peter Mountain on the North Central part of the island, Mountain Top offers panoramic views of Magen's Bay, St. Johns, Tortola, and several smaller islands. It has a good gift shop and bar that specializes in rum drinks, we enjoyed their world famous Banana Daiquiri's. It is about a thirty minute drive from the Ritz and includes some steep, windy, but very scenic roads.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank TunaClipper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in Lily, 3 bedroom, 3.5 bathroom condo.. Perfect for our family.. The 2 grandchildren, 3&1 slept in the back bedroom..large enough for 2 double beds and a crib.. We had one suite & our daughter & Son in law the other suite.. Beautiful views from our balconies. Dined al fresco every morning. We went food shopping the first day, quite expensive..$8 gal of milk???had breakfast & lunch in condo everyday.. Dinner out every night.. Fish tales in red hook.. Good! Iggies in bolongo bay lots Of fun. Pools were perfect! Beach lovely .. The kids & adults had fun building sand castles. Lots of shade for the baby..the only negative being no airport shuttle.. Cab ride back to airport was $110 :( all in all a fantastic time was had by all and hope to return to the ritz in the near future

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Debsheff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
0.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Elysian Beach Resort
Elysian Beach Resort
#3 of 5 in East End
3.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
5.2 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
5.1 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas
Address: Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in East End
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking natural beauty right on the beach. A bounty of outdoor adventure with perpetually perfect climate are just a few of the reasons why St. Thomas attracts the savy traveler from around the world. Everything the Ritz Carlton is famous for but raised to a higher level in these stunning private residences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas Hotel u.s. Virgin Islands
The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing