We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just "so-so" for a Ritz” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas
Save
You added The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas to your Saves list
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
190 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Just "so-so" for a Ritz”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Wow, where has the quality of Ritz Carlton sunk to? This property is not much better than a motel 6. The rooms were nice and the view and setting was great. However the finishes, quality of furnishings, towels, amenities were below standard. The staff was just so-so. I had to ask every day for the same things like extra towels. The housekeeping service was sub par and the towel were horrible!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FunTravelerForSure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    40
    7
    1
    3
See reviews for
118
57
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
52 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2012

Service was great. Staff more than friendly. Kitchen was great for cooking meals in. Grocery store is very close. Pools, beach and food outstanding. Great water sports. Easy to park a rental car. We went on vacation to dive. We used the Red Hook Dive Shop. Outstanding shop that is very close to the Ritz.

Room Tip: I think all rooms are the same. Very nicely decorated and plenty of space. Sofa folds out to a bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandra A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We had an amazing time here!

Our view was phenomenal and the residences are absolutely beautiful. We rented a paddleboard and went snorkeling around the club. We saw sea turtles, sting rays and other incredible sea life not too far from shore. Most of the staff was very friendly but we did encounter a couple local staff members that did not want to be disturbed. Although, we found this to be common throughout the island. We did find it a bit rude/odd at times but assumed it was an "island time" thing.
Restaurants:
Bluewater- Incredible. Amazing!
Sails: Also amazing! Try the lobster pizza!.... (I know, right?)
Coconut cove: Just okay for us. We ordered the lobster and there was little meat in it :-(
The desserts were great though and it's a fun place to hang out if you get locked out of your residence :-) - (The system to open our door just died and they had to replace the battery).

The concierge that we dealt with, Ashley, was fantastic! She was super helpful with everything and very friendly every time!

Spa: I got a pedicure and the staff was very friendly there as well. I was hoping for maybe a foot massage or scrub since the pedi came to $70ish with mandatory gratuity and service charge.

I think that's it! :-) Overall, very happy!

If you are staying at least a week, definitely rent a car (As long as you're okay with driving on the left side of the road!) because for an active couple... well, we needed to get out every once in a while. Exploring the island is super fun! Just get lost :-)

Room Tip: If I remember correctly, we were in the Jasmine building and our room was unbelievable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Méryl D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

I had the pleasure of staying in one of the Villas at the St. Thomas Virgin Islands Ritz-Carlton Destination Club. This 2BR, 21/2 bath fully furnished Villa came complete with a full kitchen with all the appliances, dishes and bake-ware you would need and a washer and dryer. The floorplan was perfect with two split master bedrooms/baths and a 1/2 bath off the living area.. Each bedroom had it's own balcony as did the living room overlooking the ocean and pool area. Travertine floors were a welcome cool relief to the feet coming in from the hot sand. Granite countertops, the spa bath products, blow dryer and spa robes for each guest were a welcome luxury. There was an outdoor restaurant by the pool/beach for drinks, appetizers, sandwiches and salads. The staff in the lobby were kind and took care of our needs. Two days they were doing work in a utility room replacing a door or something and unfortunately it was the wall of our (end)Villa so we were somewhat bothered for 2 days worth of jack-hammering and construction noise. There was no attempt made to contact us the first day to warn us but the second day they did. We did not complain but I suspect they may have offered something in return if we had. We chose instead to leave the room and spend the day at the private "Great Bay" on a lounge chair under a shade tree sipping our drinks and listening to the surf. We also were guests with some friends on a day chartered sailboat trip on the Ritz-Carlton's Lady Lynsey for a tour of the islands, and a snorkeling outing. Iguanas and ferile cats were more than common sightings on the property but did not bother us...they just made the experience unique to this property and our travels. Watercraft were available for rent on a daily or per stay basis and although we didn't partake we enjoyed watching the younger crowd playing in the bay with hobie-cats, paddle boards, paddle boats and rafts. The grandchildren participated in the afternoon activites of crafts and water activities provided by the Ritz; Coconut breaking, sand creations and snorkeling. We had a wonderful time on this beautifully designed and kept property. Beautiful location for a tropical destination!

Room Tip: Any of the rooms have an equally desirable view of the ocean and bay. Don't be concerned about b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TRL54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorba Linda, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

We went to the Ritz for our honeymoon and decided to spend the extra money on the club. We had never stayed at the Ritz before but new we wanted to have the best honeymoon possible. Some of the reviews said that the Ritz in St. Thomas was not up to par but we do not know how it could have been any better. We arrived several hours before check-in and there were no rooms available. We were escorted to the club lounge, given a tour and indulged in an alcoholic beverage and a variety of delicious lunchtime foods as we took in the magical blue water. We were at the club for only 30 minutes before the club consierge came down and informed us that our room was ready. Jake escorted us to our room and waited for us to make sure that everything was in order and then informed us that they would have our bags brought over. While we settled in our room we made several trips to get to go drinks from the club. We choose to make our own drinks but they offered every time to make it for us. We were always called Mr. & Mrs., which took me several times to realize that they were talking to me not my husbands mom. Carl, at the club lounge, went above and beyond and helped us on multiple occasions to arrange different excursions. The Ritz delivered a plate of congratulation deserts and a bottle of champagne to our room which set the tone for the entire trip. The club lounge was not to far from the pool and beach but the stairs were more than we wanted to do sometimes so we did pay for some drinks, the best mojitos I have ever had. They were pricey, the best deal for your money was buckets of beer and the staff would bring fresh buckets of ice to keep the beer cold. The food at the club varied greatly from day to day and we had a hard time not making a meal of it. We ordered pizza, really good not too thick or greasy, from room service twice because we filled up at the club and were not hungry for dinner until late. We felt the club saved us money and was well worth the extra you pay up front. The Ritz is nicely spread out but someone who is not in shape may have a hard time walking all over the resort in the humid heat. The infinity pool is spectacular and the beach is beautiful. There are a lot of conch and coral in the water so bring water shoes. The bay is great for water activities that are included in the resort fee. We snorkeled in the bay and saw a wide variety of sea life including turtles, squid, and a barracuda. We advise taking the ferry from red hook, $12 round trip which leaves every hour until 11pm, to St. John to have dinner and or go bar hopping. A much better experience than Red Hook. We will definitely be going back soon.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ninastan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2012

We found the Ritz to be comfortable and well maintained. The staff was very friendly. We stayed in the residences. The water toys (Hobie, windsurfers etc are available for a daily fee. Changed this year and we needed to sign up for three or four days even though we were only there three full days and knew we would go to St John at least one day. View from the top of the Ritz is incredible. Food was very good to excellent, although pricey like most of the island. We had two couples in the unit and we had plenty of room. Rum punch is offered on arrival. Nice touch. We will be back.

Room Tip: The Ritz hotel is fabulous. The residences are not as "Ritzy" and a less crowed. That work...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TnTNapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

We had a nice 3 bedroom at the end, farthest from the hotel section. Said they were upgrading appliances soon, and while they were very low end, how much do you use the washer/dryer on vacation, or really care if the dishwasher is bottom end? The condo itself was very nicely done otherwise, very comfortable, granite countertops, huge bathrooms, walk in closet, etc. Two bedrooms were on the beach side, third in back, but all 3 had nice balconies and the LR balcony was largest of all. Easy to get some private time on your own balcony. The beach is much larger than the hotel side, more spacious, and when we were there, much less crowded. Only downside, and this may well only happen on the end units where we were, when the ferries crossing from Charlotte Amalie, which is hourly, there is a very strange echo/reverberation effect against the Ritz buildings! Annoying, to be sure, but only lasts a few minutes. For this reason, best to ask about this issue or just ask for a "condo" in the middle or towards the hotel side if you are concerned. I would still opt for the end we had, as we were RIGHT on the sand, and the annoyance was worth the privacy and proximity to the waves and sand. I don't know that I would have liked the hotel side, too crammed. Service was great, as one would expect at a Ritz. Food at the beach bars decent, not great, but better at night at the "highest" dining room at the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TamaraK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
0.7 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Elysian Beach Resort
Elysian Beach Resort
#2 of 5 in East End
3.5 of 5 stars 553 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 799 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
5.2 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 stars 1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas

Property: The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas
Address: Great Bay, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Specialty Lodging in East End
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Breathtaking natural beauty right on the beach. A bounty of outdoor adventure with perpetually perfect climate are just a few of the reasons why St. Thomas attracts the savy traveler from around the world. Everything the Ritz Carlton is famous for but raised to a higher level in these stunning private residences. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas Hotel u.s. Virgin Islands
The Ritz-Carlton Club, St. Thomas U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing