We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, charming, and relaxing”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in East End
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lion's Gate Getaway
Reviewed March 19, 2014

My friend and I loved our stay at Lion's Gate Getaway. Maxine is a very gracious host and made sure our needs were met. We wanted a place that had a kitchen so that we could make breakfast and pack a lunch. The price is incredibly reasonable, which is why we chose to stay here. The views are incredible and will literally take your breath away. Clean, easy to find, convenient. Make sure that you can climb a steep hill if you plan to walk rather than take a cab (and some cabs don't want to go up such a steep hill). The lovely thing about being at the top of a hill is the rewarding view!! Also, the vibrant night life if Red Hook carries a bit up the hill so ear plugs might be something a traveler should consider. We felt very at home and truly enjoyed our stay at Lion's Gate. When I come back to St. Thomas, I'll be sure to book with Maxine!!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Audrey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
There are newer reviews for Lion's Gate Getaway
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

This was my 17th trip to the Virgin Islands and my absolute favorite place to stay on St.Thomas. I first discovered Lion's Gate last year on a solo trip, and had to bring my wife back this year. The view from the balcony is breath taking. If it had been totally up to my wife, she would have spent the entire time sitting on the balcony, enjoying the view and reading. She absolutely loved this place. I love the location in Red Hook, close to several beaches, easy access to the Ferry to St. John or other islands, and if you want to eat out, everything is right there - yet you are high enough on the hill to feel secluded from it all when you are looking for some peace and quiet. Maxine and Chris were the ultimate hosts and very accommodating. We enjoyed the great weather, the beaches and the relaxed atmosphere. Last year, I was able to go sailing with Max - which I also highly recommend. If you are looking for a place to relax or a home base from which to enjoy a variety of local adventures - this is the place. 5 Stars.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

A charming little place! We loved returning and opening the gate. Perfectly stocked to fix meals as well. I loved eating breakfast outside every morning and listening to the horn of the St John Ferry. Maxine was kind enough to get us a fan making it wonderful to sleep at night.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank cleanalot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just returned from our second visit to Lions Gate. Waking up everyday to a beautiful sunrise over St. John, feeling the cool breeze. Perfect. We love the Red Hook location, easy access to day sails, and the ferry to St. John. Latitude 18 across the bay has great live music, and Secret Harbor is a nice snorkeling beach nearby.

I only wish we could go more often!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sjordan914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

Nice and clean vacation rental. We liked the location as it was only a 2 minute drive to the red hook restaurants, and a 5 minute drive to sapphire, secret harbour or Lindquist beaches. Our favorite beach was Lindquist. Our favorite restaurant was island time pub in red hook. Be aware that the rental is on a fairly steep hill, driving it was always a bit of an experience. However the view from the house is worth the drive up the hill. You can see bvi, st. John, and the red hook harbour from your patio. Parking is tight at the rental so do rent the smallest vehicle possible. WiFi can be a little spotty. The owners are friendly and easy to work with. They always responded promptly. We would recommend this rental to family and friends.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jsta1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Two couples from the same town booked for the same days and had similar names!!! Freaky but true. We were one of the two couples. We were disappointed not be able to stay at Lion's Gate but the honesty, helpfulness, and kindness of Maxine was amazing. Once she realized her error she located another a place for us to stay, comped us a free full day of sailing with her and $100 back. When she picked us up at the ferry, she explained the situation, took us grocery shopping and ferried us to the replacement condo! Wow. We were overwhelmed by her graciousness.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
3  Thank SkiHikeKayakPlay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We loved every moment of our 4-night stay here and we truly wish we were still there. Maxine and Chris have created a fabulous and relaxing retreat high above Red Hook. The combination of casual comfort, amazing views, and proximity to restaurants, shops, the marina, and the St. John ferry is unbeatable. We rented a car but we almost didn't need it, since we simply walked up/down the hill most of the time. It's steep but rewarding because the view gets more spectacular as you ascend. Relaxing on the expansive porch and watching the full moon illuminate the sea is a sight we will long remember. Chris and Max have great taste, and their fondness for Italy shows in the use of mosaic tiles and the stylish color palette throughout the property; the lush plants and the gentle trade winds add to the lovely ambiance. The cottage they're building next door promises to be even more delightful than the studio, if that is possible!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dale_river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
0.5 mi away
Windward Passage Hotel
Windward Passage Hotel
#7 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#3 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
571 reviews
0.1 mi away
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
Galleon House Bed & Breakfast
#7 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bunker Hill Hotel
Bunker Hill Hotel
#8 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
248 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
Bluebeard's Castle Resort
#1 of 6 in Charlotte Amalie
765 reviews
0.8 mi away
Olga's Fancy
Olga's Fancy
#4 of 13 in Charlotte Amalie
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lion's Gate Getaway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lion's Gate Getaway

Address: 6501 Red Hook Plz | Suite 201, 00802-1373, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Specialty Lodging in East End
Price Range: $130 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are situated on a hilltop just above Red Hook Harbor with a spectacular view of St. John, and Tortola. The trade winds keep it cool which makes it the perfect spot for your vacation. Especially in the summer. We have AC in the apartment but outside on the porch the trade winds are enough to keep you cool. Lion's Gate is a more than a studio apartment, it has a complete kitchen,is fully air-conditioned and has a porch that really serves as an additional room. The full bath has a wonderful large stonework shower that lets you know you are in paradise. The setting is ideal for the rest of your life or a short vacation. There is a private entrance with cafe doors that separates you from the rest of the world. There are Hummingbirds that have made their home in the foliage around the porch, they have breakfast with you, and the large trees that they call home provide privacy and they keep the porch cool, and to complete the setting, there are tables outside where you can dine, have a cool drink or just relax on the day bed with your favorite book and slide into a nap. From Lion's Gate you can stroll down to Red Hook for dinner or to go shopping, or make a quick trip to the grocery store. It is all so close but when you are up here it seems a million miles away. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Lion's Gate Getaway St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing