We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it....felt safe!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Reviewed February 21, 2009

We were there the same time as the people who were robbed and we had a wonderful time, in fact none of us knew it happened until I read it on here! At no time did I, or anyone in my group (20+) feel like their safety was at risk. The robbery news shocks me! In fact, I feel very lucky, we were VERY lazy with our safety precautions, we never locked our doors or used our safe! My uncle goes every year and he has never had an issue, I am very sorry that it happened, but it would not stop me from going back.
Because we were such a large group, I got to see many of the rooms and some were remodeled and others weren't. The one we stayed in was remodeled, but did not have high-end finishes like some of the others, but to be honest, we were only in there to sleep and eat. The one thing I would recommend if you are planning on eating in, is to make sure that the unit has a stove. This would have been an issue for us if we hadn't had other rooms to use.
If you are looking for a great place to relax and get away from it all, this is the place, it is absolutely gorgeous!!!

Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
1  Thank torontobeachlover77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

499 - 505 of 708 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2009

The natural beauty of this resort is undeniable. A spit of land upon which the pool is built splits two very different parts of the beach. The largest beach is wide and sandy with lots of shade provided by seagrape trees. There is a wonderful reef right off shore where snorkeling is excellent. The wind on this beach is usually very mild. The other side of the beach is rocky but has beautiful views of St. John and other islands, as well as the sunrise. It is more windy on this beach but that takes some of the edge off the hot sun. The pool is lovely, clean and refreshing. When we decided that we wanted to stay at Sapphire Beach, primarily because we could snorkel right from the beach, we went to Vacation Rental By Owners (www.vrbo.com) and selected a unit from one listed. Our unit was on the ground floor right by the pool with views of both parts of the beach. We had a lovely patio with table, chairs, and hammock and could walk right out to the pool/beach. Our unit was recently renovated and was beautifully decorated. It had every amenity and everything functioned properly. There is a bar/restaurant by the pool that was boarded up, but that didn’t bother us. We stocked up on groceries and food at Cost-U-Less (like Sam’s or Costco) and that saved us a lot of money. Red Hook, which is very close, has plenty of restaurants and we would often drive there for dinner. There is a marina next to Sapphire Beach and is handy for going out on boat excursions. We took a snorkeling trip on New Horizons and a four-island all-day cruise on Breakaway II. Both were well worth the money. If you rent from Budget Rental Car, be sure to ask for a booklet of coupons. We saved a lot of money using two coupons for these boat excursions. My husband also went out on a fishing boat from the marina and he went parasailing. It's nice not having to leave the property to do those kind of things. We had not problems with the help at the resort, although they weren't overly friendly. We always greeted them with a friendly “Good morning/afternoon/evening” and mostly got smiles in return. These are the islands and the customs and way of life are different from what we are used to. My advice is to just relax and enjoy the beauty all around you.
No report would be complete without a complaint—and mine is a big one. The resort has been hit recently with a rash of robberies. There are 10 ground-floor units in our building, and two were hit in the first week we were there. The doors were locked, but the thieves got in. They took cash and jewelry. There are safes in the units, but the units where the robberies took place did not have safes that worked. Our unit had a new safe that used a combination rather than a key to open it. We put everything in it—cash, credit cards, car keys, passports, cameras, etc. The owner of our unit had told us to be sure to keep all valuables in the safe and keep the doors locked at all times, so we were glad that we were forewarned.
Would we come back again? Yes—to this particular unit and keeping all valuables in the safe.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lelledge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 17, 2009

Returned this past Friday 2/13 from St. Thomas. What a beautiful place to Vacation! We loved it. Weather was ok....did rain several times while we were there, (pack an umbrella) one day, all day...but that did not stop us at all! Trade winds were amazing..

Loved the condo...we stayed in building E208. One of the best looking condo's and most comfortable in the resort, trust me. Maureen's design and decorating skills are truly exceptional. Loved the decor, the awesome sheets, the comfy couch and the comforable chairs on the patio. Everything met and exceeded our expectations! The breeze from the ocean was magnificent. The towels were high quality and also an added bonus as well as the luxurious shower.

The condo price includes daily towel service and a midweek clean. Trust me, this is almost a must in the Carribean as towels don't easily dry in the humidity and sand tends to collect everywhere. Sam and Mona, property managers for several of the condo units are absolutely wonderful and very accommodating. The resort is very nice, but in need of some sprucing up, could use some more landscaping design and some type of barriers for all the air conditioning units, some updated beach chairs and a more serviceable reception area, but nothing quite as good with the view or the beach. Beach bar/restaraunt was not open...what a drawback! But drinks and a few lunch items were available between buildings B & C. Pool was nice and well kept and cleaned.

We went to the docks and bought some Red Snapper from the fishing boat (Call the Double Header on a daily basis and they'll tell you if they are fishing that day or not, usually comes in about 6 pm) The fish was awesome. I think we paid $5 per pound and it fed four of us.

We did not rent a car and used the local open air taxi often ($1 from the top of the hill, but $4 each person on the way back from RedHook). Went to Duffy's love shack several times, and Molly's and Zozo's. All were awesome. Did go to Woody's seafood on St. John. This was good as well. Ferry runs every hour on the hour and costs $6.10 each way per person. The Grapevine wasn't open for breakfast and when we did go for dinner, they didn't have three out of the four menu items or iced tea that we ordered. I attribute that to the lack of visitors and the slow economy. Hard to keep items when you don't have the customers. We went to Charlotte (tax was $10 per person each way) on Sunday and ate at the Greenhouse.....this was awesome as well. Did take the Breakaway boat trip. Had John as the captain and was surprised that he made us sign a waiver that we wouldn't use a snorkel vest and then didn't offer anyone a vest, just a noodle. Kinda scary, but was more concerned about some of the older folks on the boat that were less experienced. Everyone did fine though. Tide was rough, not for weak stomachs....The trip was good, but for $145 per person, we felt it was a bit crowded (32 people on board) and rushed. Wasn't as professional as we thought it should be. But you definately want to see the Bath's and the Soggy Dollar Bar!

We brought our carry on bag full of food. Frozen meats and staples (paper plates, condiments, mac & cheese, tuna, coffee, tea bags, baggies, foil, can goods, soup, etc.) as groceries are expensive at the market (foil is almost $10 a roll) and sometimes after a long day you feel like eating in.

Would definately recommend and go back.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pattye61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2009

The beach is beautiful, the pool area is too, BUT, the fact that 2 people were robbed while we were there totally ruined it for us! It's sad that while 2 different parties were at the pool, "someone" decided to help themselves to the cash in their rooms. Strange that it happened to rooms where the safe wasn't working. Hmmmmm, I wonder how anyone would know that unless they work at the resort??????????
Also, the rooms are in MAJOR need of upgrades and repairs in general. Everything is old and dated . . .towels, bedspreads, pillows have all seen their better days!
I would not return to this resort. There are allot of nicer, cleaner and SAFER places to stay in St Thomas!

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NDvacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2009

Our unit overlooking the Harbor was fine. Clean and spacious. The beach is famous and you will not be disapointed with it. The Grapevine Grill was good for burgers and sandwiches. The continental breakfast was a joke! Bagels and sometimes coffee with no fruit and warm juice. No gift shop or onsite restaurant so stock up on fluids and snacks before you get there. The staff seemed put out for the most part to do anything. Sullen and bored.
Not a place to stay for long but it is close to Red Hook.

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank turtle1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2009

This place is great; the beach is wonderful with great views looking out across to St. John. We stayed in building E (the buildings start with A, close to the lobby and then branch out). We booked through expedia so had no idea what type of room we were getting. We lucked out and got a room on the first floor, 2 steps out to our private beach. If you have the opportunity to pick your building take E or D for the most privacy (F is not right on the beach).

The room was a studio with a nice kitchette. (prices of food at the local store were expensive but not outrageous as I do live in a city, we noticed in the airport that a lot of people checked big coolers full of food). As the other reviewer have mentioned the rooms are not upscale and a bit outdated, but with the great beach and views and if you are with a special person, you will not even notice.

For lunch the Banana Cabana has really good chicken sandwiches and burgers.

We went to Red Hook for dinner a few nights. Off the Hook had great seafood, skip Duffy's Shack, it is more of a tourist trap.

We took the Ferry to St. John's for the day, it makes a really nice day trip.

On our last night, my birthday, we had a really special meal of Agave (located in a nearby hotel that will provide a shuttle to pick you up).

The Virgin Islands is one of the best destinations that I have traveled and I will definitely come back.

  • Stayed: January 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meltraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2009

Sapphire Beach is the most beautiful beach I have ever seen. Every view looks like a postcard. Sapphire Beach Resort has a great area for snorkeling and for swimming and it has a marina where you can rent jet skis, go parasailing, or take a tour of the islands. The resort is a little older, but the views are magnificent. We rented from a private owner(Yehuda E-103). His condo has been newly remodeled and had everything we needed. We cooked most of our meals and ate on the patio with a beautiful view of the sparkling bluewater and of St John. Our condo was on the first floor and steps away from the water. The owner was exceedingly helpful and full of information about the island. If you are looking for a quiet place to stay in a tropical paradise, I would recommend Sapphire Beach Resort.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank SBR103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
1.1 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
4.9 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Address: Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range: $170 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone. Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Sapphire Beach
Sapphire Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing