We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sapphire Beach Resort
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Secret Harbour Beach Resort(Benner)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Elysian Beach Resort(East End)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
193
237
126
76
86
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
193
237
126
76
86
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssapphire beachdive shopbuilding bst johnthrough vrbopool bar iscrystal coveprivate ownerstayed in buildingtwo storygrocery storecharlotte amalieother islandsday tripfood truckcorner unitmahi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
242 - 247 of 718 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2014

We stayed in a condo in the C building. It was updated, clean and had a BEAUTIFUL view. It was great to have a home away from home, with a fridge, microwave, toaster and eating utensils. Our condo provided snorkel gear, which was great - we could go at any time we wanted and the owner provided beach and bath towels - also a great perk. I really enjoyed our deck and being able to sit out there while drinking my coffee or just reading a book. The only bummer about the resort is that the restaurant on Sapphire Beach was closed - so the only dining place was the Banana Cabana (in between buildings B & C). Banana Cabana closed about 4 and didn't have much of a sit down area.

Room Tip: Buildings A, B and C have a great view of the beach and ocean. It would be nice to be on the ground level so you can walk right out to the beach.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Megan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I stayed the days of January 24-28. Upon checkin was told that I was in the Sapphire Village up the mountain. I didn't have my print out but told the young man at the desk that I had certainly booked the Beach Resort. He said no problem, and gave us unit B104. (Did later go on my email to check my reservation and it did indeed say Sapphire Beach Resort. Dont know why reception had papers saying otherwise) Great updated unit that walks out onto the beach. We had 2 small children with us and this was a dream for them. Full kitchen, dishwasher, plates, cups, coffee machine, even a blender to make Pina Cooladas! Its a shame that there isn't more to this property as far as a gift store or food establishments. The location is amazing. Beautiful beach, not too crowded, and the views...oh my gosh, the views! You see cays and St. John in front of you. Its a postcard view for sure. Pool is big and clean. Was cold so we didn't swim in it. Ocean water was warmer. The food truck up the hill is inexpensive and good. Redhook is a 2 minute drive away. If you are an adult and its daytime you can definitely walk alongside the rode on the dirt path to Redhook if you want. Wouldn't do it at night though. We had kids so didn't walk at all due to no proper sidewalk. Ferry to St. John is also in Redhook. Taxis are expensive ($5pp to Redhook, $10pp to Megan's Bay, $15pp to airport). You could rent a car if you wish, but I was scared too at first due to driving on the other side of the road and all. Now that Ive seen the island and its windy roads I think I might next time.

Room Tip: Buildings A-C are best. D and E face a rocky, unswimable beach. F faces the marina.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sunnysara0531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

This is a pretty beach, but I would never go here again. The hotel has gone down hill. The beach chairs are falling apart and the bathroom/ water sports area looks like it is about to fall down. Don't waste your time here. Stick to Meghan's Bay or the beach at the Ritz.

4  Thank Kim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2014

Rented at condo from an owner in C building from VRBO. We were on the bottom floor with direct beach access. We loved it. There is not a restaurant on the property but you can order food during the day from the cabana or walk up to the top of the hill for excellant BBQ. They are upgrading the buildings but we heard no noise. You can also walk to the condos behind the beach resort for sit down dining. Live music every night.

Room Tip: all buildings are good except F. It only has marina views.
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jerry_stanley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

Sapphire Beach Resort is located on the perfect spot in St. Thomas. This is not our first visit, and there is always that slight fear on which apartment you would receive since this is not a hotel but individually owned condo units.

On this trip we received unit B104. It was recently redecorated with a new bath and kitchen, which includes a microwave, electric 4-burner stove, a spattering of pots and pans and unlike many of the other units, a dishwasher. There is also a coffee maker and toaster. The Queen sized bed is comfortable and we appreciated four pillows (look in the closet for the others). The living room has a 35” HDTV (reception was a bit snowy) and another smaller (24”) in the sleeping area, both with lots of channels from the DirectTV package. The condo also contains a three-person couch, a single chair with an ottoman and a dining table with four chairs. Outside on the terrace is another table that seats six. The bath has two sinks and a walk-in shower. Housekeeping will be good if instructed and service is only provided every other day. Water pressure is OK and there were times when we wished for more hot water in the kitchen sink. Shower had plenty of hot water. The provided toiletries are soap only, no little bottles of shampoos or conditioners, it is a condo, not a hotel. The Air Conditioning could have been better, the temperature was never below 73 even though the thermostat was set at 69, and be forewarned that if the front door or the door to the terrace is open the AC shuts off. There are two overhead fans, one over the bed and the other in the living room. As far as towels, make sure you buy paper towels as none are supplied; there are four bath towel sets and you need to ask for your two beach towels at reception.

Chairs on the beach can be a challenge. They are VERY limited, and Security unlocks the chairs at 7AM which in St. Thomas is somewhere around 9AM. They are owned by the condo association and on days when cruise ships are on the island this will become an issue. You can forget about using WiFi. If you are fortunate to log into the one provider (ADM) as the entry point the signal is very week, if at all. If you have Verizon as your carrier from the US then you also need to be careful as there are no cell towers on this side of the island and your phone will pick up BVI cells which are not included in your domestic plan, as in major data download bills. Suggest you buy a data package if you plan on doing emails or text messaging (remember the kids).

There is a kiosk for drinks (coffee, tea and frozen cocktails) and there are usually one or two people on the beach taking drink orders. Other than that there is no food offered for sale. Downtown Red Hook is a mile down the windy road and has lots of restaurants and bars and the supermarket is another two miles on the other side of town (careful upon exiting the supermarket, you will bottom out the front bumper if you leave at greater than 1 MPH).

Overall, the condos have improved, the beach literally begins at your terrace, and the water is crisp and clear. Just remember this is a condo time-share type location, not a hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caribbean209, Owner at Sapphire Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2014

As an owner of one of the condos on Sapphire Beach I would like to clarify some items on this guests comments

Regarding beach chairs: we have ordered a shipment of new beach chairs and they should be arriving in a couple weeks. It is my understanding the cruise ship people will no longer be visiting Sapphire Beach. This is good news, because we can keep Sapphire pristine. When there were lots of people on the beach they would snorkel and some would stand on the coral. We posted signs last year to not stand on the coral. Some are not educated enough to understand that standing on the coral will kill it. If the coral dies, there will be no fish, if there are no fish, there will be no marine life, so no more snorkeling. One of the best things about Sapphire is the snorkeling and that is why we purchased our condo 6 years ago and come to visit about every 9 months. We are not a "time-share".

The individual owners at Sapphire Beach are the ones you need to contact for reservations. I will speak for myself we have wireless, phone for local calls, 2 TV's, beach towels, bath towels, paper towels, snorkel gear, float mats, fully equipped kitchen, remodeled bathroom and a fabulous view. We have Kathleen who makes sure the condo is perfect before a guest checks in. She is there for the guests if they need anything.

We have a small grill between building "B" & "C" with food and great drinks. There are lots of restaurants on the island. One of the fun things to do is explore new things on vacation.

The management business (not our own association) on Sapphire takes care of a few of the condos owned by others who are just investors. This small group gives the other owners a bad reputation, because they do not offer the best service. The true owners take care of their property and show proud ownership. Please, when you make a reservation call the owner direct and ask questions.

Also, the buildings are being renovated. This takes a little time to do, but 2 of the buildings are completed and they look fabulous. Unfortunately we have a person to deal with who has been creating problems for Sapphire Beach for many years.........a very angry, mean person. It is a long story. Our association and Board Members are the BEST and had nothing to do with boarding up some of the structures on the property. We have been trying to provide some amenities, but this person blocks everything we try. It is very sad, but we hold on to our hopes that there will be a solution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews