We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“VERY RUN DOWN!!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sapphire Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Latham, New York
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“VERY RUN DOWN!!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

This place has clearly seen better days! The only thing going for it is the beach, but even that is ruined by the rotten little dive shop. The shop is run by a group of grouchy men who have no interest in anything but tourist cash. They'll rent you stuff, but you better be ready to get it all yourself! The pool is tiny, the landscaping is ragged and the place seems dingy and dated. Choose someplace else, especially if you have kids!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank andrea12345678948035
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    163
    217
    116
    73
    82
See reviews for
160
258
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Thomas
Level Contributor
115 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

The rooms were clean. The outside of the property does need a facelift. However, you can't beat the price on St. Thomas or the location. Right on the beach, no really. Very close to the eastend, a a great jump off to other Islands. Red Hook has so much and it's just around the corner. I stay there often even though I live on St.thomas for its a nice change. I will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YachtZephyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever been to, with great views of the British Virgin Islands and St John. Beautiful reef with colorful fish, rays and turtles! About the rooms...I have stayed here before both booking through the resort as well as through VRBO. (We loved it so much we bought a unit here last year..E206) BIG difference! I would go through VRBO so that you can see the updates, if any, that have been done to the room. Rooms are large with full kitchens, and all except the F building are right on the sand! Location is absolutely amazing! Yes, the pool bar is boarded up and the restaurant area and lobby area are, too. The beach and the views are so incredible that I barely notice! There is a beach snack bar that serves good food and rum drinks, and a restaurant up the hill at Sapphire Village. Dive shop on site as well as a marina. Multi-level pool area is on a point overlooking crystal blue water and St John. If you are looking for a high-rise hotel, this is not for you. If you want a laid-back atmosphere with an amazing beach and views, this is perfect!

Room Tip: Go through VRBO. Buildings D and E are on the quieter side with spectacular views of St John. A,B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolinaMomof3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma, Ohio
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We just returned from an eight day visit in St. Thomas and stayed at the Sapphire Resort in unit C107. We were totally comfortable in this condo and it had everything that we needed. The unit was clean with a nice firm bed and pull out sleeper. The owner made sure that everything that we needed was taken care of. My favorite thing to do is to wake up at sunrise and have coffee while watching the waves slowly ripple towards shore. This was the perfect set up for everything that I love to do at the beach. They offered a huge beautiful pool for those that tire of the beach. Evenings on the patio were quiet and beautiful. I am already looking into booking our next trip. Oh yes, close to everything is you have a rental car, especially Red Hook were there is a grocery store and excellent restaurants. Try XO Bistro, absolutely wonderful staff and food. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MommabearOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The best thing going for the Sapphire Beach Resort is the LOCATION! You can literally take a few steps from your room and be in the ocean. The beach itself is full of seaweed that washes ashore but they have grounds keepers in the morning that rake it up. Now for the bad part. There is no bar or restaurant on the premises except a lowly snack hut located between buildings that serve hot dogs, sandwiches, burgers, fruits and muffins. We got a free breakfast voucher each day we stayed that entitled you to a couple of snacks and coffee but that's it. The pool is huge and well kept but the bar is in tatters! The reason that this place has been in shambles is the fact that the existing buildings that are on the premises which are supposed to be the restaurant and bar are damaged due to frequent hurricanes and are owned by different owners. The hotel has been in legal battles with these owners over the years and it appears they have not come to an agreement. It is a shame quite frankly because this place has so much potential if it were managed and organized a little better. They need to be bought out by a big hotel chain and given a once over and revamped top to bottom... I mean using one of the guest rooms as the check in desk is pretty tacky don't ya think? And the hotel lobby is disgraceful! The room where we stayed is decently sized, they gave us a complimentary bottle of Cruzan rum which is a nice touch and a welcome sight, but they do have a terrible mildew problem and the smell will stick to your clothes and go home with you! The bed sheets stayed considerably moist due in part because of humidity and air conditioning hence the mildew smells. The staff is very courteous but not attentive. There was supposed to be free WiFi in the rooms per the description on Priceline but they said that their wireless router was broken. Lol! So there you have it, the beach will be the only thing great about this hotel, the other things need to be worked on. When it will be fixed who knows.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpacana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hunterdon County
Level Contributor
81 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

Lucky for us we stayed in a nice unit (b209) - an end unit with a lovely view of beach and palm trees, working AC, and decent full fridge and kitchen. We heard complaints about other units that had the full range of problems - I would only say there was mold on the outside of the fridge and the paint is chipping off - not what you would expect at high season resort prices. Also we were lucky to be in a unit that had free wifi (the office is not aware of which units offer this so buyer beware - thought the weekly cost might run $50 - not bad)...So the accommodations were fine. However, the resort itself is spending no money on upkeep...the reception area is no longer in use (it's "under renovation" but we saw no renovating going on).. The tennis courts are unusable and a shambles, the pathways around the resort are starting to deteriorate, and the "free continental breakfast" coupons only covered three items per person! Whoever heard of restrictions on a continental breakfast buffet? So if you want an orange, a banana, a pastry and some boxed dry cereal, you are out of luck! Really! Also the staffers at the breakfast were rather surly, and the staff had a "could care less" attitude...not outright rude, just clearly not happy in their jobs. Also, the oddly shaped but large pool area was deserted because they've closed the bar - there are low stools in the pool so that you could stay in the water and enjoy a cocktail - so it is even more bizarre that this service isn't offered any more. Still, the access to the beach, the cleanliness (they did have maid service) the security and the nearness to Red Hook where there are some good restaurants, puts this place on "very good" as opposed to "average" in my ratings. And you can snorkel right off the beach. We also had to ask for extra wash cloths every day (didn't they get it the first time?) If I were an owner, I would be horrified by how much the resort has run down - a shame because it's a great location and lovely beach (cruise ship folks are bussed in to use the beach) and must have been quite grand in its heyday.

Room Tip: End units are quieter - A and B units overlook the beach, C and D the pool and beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank everly23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, Maryland
Level Contributor
62 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

The condo was well appointed, clean, spacious and the lower patio was 17 steps from wet sand!
It was on the East end of the island near Red Hook, away from the maddening cruise ship and city crowds of Charlotte Amalie!
We stayed in bldg E which adjoins the marina. This was farther from the principal beach, but that meant more privacy (Sapphire Beach is popular to snorkelers) and our place was much closer to the water. We also liked being on the ground floor for simplest/fastest beach/water access. The rates for this area are slightly lower as well--yea!
The condo included a sleeping area with a king size bed and dresser, a dining area that seated 4, living room with full size couch that could be pulled out for sleeping and side chair, a kitchen with full-size fridge, and full bath with double vanities. Also had a covered upper patio with dinette set for 4, and a lower uncovered porch with lounge chairs and table, where we watched sunrises daily. Happened to be there for oversized full moons too--cool! Parking was simple and close. There were some minor maintenance issues, which were corrected the same day we reported them.
The split-level pool was nice, but the snorkeling right off the beach was fantastic and we swam in the sea most of the time. Saw a 4-foot manta right outside our condo, and off the main beach (3-minute walk) we saw turtles grazing in sea grasses, and lots of fish and corals adjacent to the peninsula.
We shopped at the grocery stores in Red Hook (the one farther down on Hwy 30 had better produce, selection, and prices) and cooked most of out meals. However, the Azure Pool Bar on the property had truly delicious food, and there was a hut on the beach throughout the morning/day where we got decent freshly grilled mahi sandwiches and assorted rum drinks.
The place also had water activity rentals and vendors on site--very handy. And if you wanted other resort amenities such as spa/massage, trip assistance, etc.
I would have given this condo a 5-star rating, as we thoroughly enjoyed our stay--left off one star because of the maintenance requirements and bedsprings were somewhat sprung; but that may be my "continental standards" showing. Overall it was very nice, the price was very reasonable, and there was a gratis bottle of rum in the room for us on arrival, so ...we can definitely recommend this place to anyone.

Room Tip: If you want more seclusion, opt for bldgs D or E with the partial sand/partial pebble beaches, and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
0.2 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.1 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
5.4 mi away
Mafolie Hotel
Mafolie Hotel
#2 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.0 of 5 stars 499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
#4 of 5 in East End
3.5 of 5 stars 781 reviews
4.7 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Property: Sapphire Beach Resort
Address: Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone. Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Sapphire Beach
Sapphire Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing