We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Condo is perfect. Clean, brand new and the location is primed. Close to beach and shopping. Perfect. All appliances are brand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sapphire Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Great.
We would rent it again. It was what we expected and more.
The buildings are well maintained, the beach is great with its own reef to snorkel right in front of your condo.
People are very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank infer97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (708)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

279 - 285 of 708 reviews

Reviewed March 13, 2013

Ghetto resort don't go here; No phone in the room's; no internet in the rooms; people at the front desk are rude; Ask three time's for towel's each day;no bar by the pool or on the ground's ; no cafe on grounds;

Room Tip: Do not go here for your vacation
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
13  Thank CARL L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 1, 2013

I do not know about the other condos but this is by far the best. We just got back today from a stay at Peter's Hammock in Heaven. I can honestly say it was just the most awesome experience. When you walk into the condo and look outside you feel like you are in a picture. The view is like no other. You will see St. John from your room and at night it is like St John releases the moon and you will stare in amazement. The condo has all you need and the bed is very comfortable. But far the most best is the balcony with that view!!!! The pool is always quiet and trust me the breeze is very welcoming as it is hot and humid!!! The beaches are breathtaking and you can snorkel and do all the fun amenities with parasailing, jet skis ect. Up the Hill is a fun poolside bar that make the best rum drinks!!! And the bartenders are very friendly. You can take the safari into Red Hook for only $2.00 a person its much safer than walking. I would recommend the Fish Tails for the blackened Mahi Mahi. And for a fun bar go to Duffys love shack, its in a parking lot, but its loads of fun!!!! And a great happy hour. Peter by far is the most gracious host I have ever come upon. He is there to make your stay a memorable one. You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: We just got back today from a stay at Peter's Hammock in Heaven. I can honestly say it was just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MaggieandCody
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We rented a lovely Condo in Sapphire Bay which has one of the nicest beaches and best snorkeling on St Thomas. As promised we walked out from our beachfront condo to our chaises and enjoyed the pleasures of the Beach. Great Beach Bar and burgers. That was until Tuesday when we found a steady stream of cruise ship people streaming on to our beach. They were loud and hogged all the beachfront space. SOrry if I am a snob but do you go to the beach in black socks, sandals and a fanny pack? So if you are going here check the schedule to see how many ships will be in ST Thomas that week.Also Sapphire Beach no longer has a restaurant so a car is essential.

Room Tip: Beachfront is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Denny670
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We rented through VRBO, highly recommend using that site. Our condo was magnificent! Super clean, updated, exactly as the pictures showed. The view was amazing, beautiful beach, convenient location. No restaurant on site, which was a little disappointing, but we knew that before going. Yes, the exterior is weathered, but it is the Caribbean, looks like it should if you ask me.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
4  Thank Asmith6182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We went for two weeks and stayed in building B arranged through vrbo.com. The unit was very, very nice and the owner very attentive and organized. We usually stay in houses on St Thomas, but they are not on the beach, so we re-visited this place after being here about 25 years ago when it was a very posh place. Most of what you read in these reviews is true: great beach, great snorkeling and you'll see rays and turtles and tons of beautiful fish, but the units rented by the management are usually in poor condition. We asked folks who rented through the management and their descriptions were not pleasant - basically units long overdue for renovation. The exterior is weathered and the wood needs a fresh coat of stain. The pool is very clean and large and heated. Yes, the "commercial" parts of the resort are pathetic. The former restaurant is in shambles as is the cafe/bar at the pool. The thing is, it's fairly easy to not notice these places in dis-repair as well as the weathered exterior. Go to the web cam and you'll see EXACTLY what it looks lie. Every day cruise ship tours drop off folks who enjoy a day at the beach from about 10-4 and one day when there were 6! ships in port, it got crowded, so we went down closer to the pool and it was nice and quiet and security kept it so. If you weren't staying there, you got chased away pretty promptly. Red Hook is literally a 3 minute drive away and there are many, many places to eat, but you won't want to walk there - too far and hilly and next to traffic,

Room Tip: My ratings are ONLY for units rented out by owners, not by the managing company.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank billingw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This was our first extended stay on St. Thomas after visiting last year by cruise ship. We came to celebrate our 31st wedding anniversary Our goal was to visit beaches and snorkel. After doing a lot of research, and with some apprehension based on mixed reviews, I booked directly through the owner for a one bedroom condo in Building D. The reviews are 100% accurate with regards to the beautiful beach and views. The snorkeling was good too. (We ended up visiting 7 different snorkeling spots throughout St. Thomas and St. John.) The condo was very clean, comfortable and well appointed. We had no issues. The owner was available throughout our stay to answer questions or concerns. That being said ,and I don't want to speculate, but apparently there is some conflict between owners and management because there are areas of the resort in sad neglect (ie. tennis courts, pool bar , general maintenance ,etc ). They may be working on resolving some of the issues. All that being said, we would definitely stay at Sapphire again. We loved the privacy and being able to relax on the balcony with our morning coffee or evening cocktail. The only conclusion I can come up with from the bad reviews are from people who did not rent directly from the owner? There are units managed by the resort that must be in horrible disrepair according to some of the reviews so please book directly through owner and ask for pictures. We had a wonderful time, thank you Sheila for sharing your condo with us.

Room Tip: Building D and E are quieter. Views of St John and surrounding islands is wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tcupps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
1.1 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
0.2 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
1.1 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
731 reviews
4.9 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
1.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sapphire Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sapphire Beach Resort

Address: Rte. 6 Smith Bay | Smith Bay Road, 00802, St. Thomas
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range: $170 - $483 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sapphire Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 171
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spectacular beachfront villas and suites are directly on beautiful Sapphire Beach by the crystal-clear Caribbean. A full-service restaurant is easily walkable from the beach. Families with kids will enjoy the sand, pool, fishing off the dock or boat, and pirate history. Active vacationers will find plenty of hiking, scuba diving and bicycling to keep on the go. There is something for everyone. Sapphire Beach, Saint Thomas is the perfect vacation island. Book your dream visit today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sapphire Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sapphire Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Sapphire Beach
Sapphire Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing