We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elysian was okay, but the staff actually made it better.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Elysian Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elysian Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East End
GreenLeadersBronze level
Montclair, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elysian was okay, but the staff actually made it better.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

The room we had was a double bed with a kitchenette and it was okay. It was clean when we got there, but don't expect any further cleaning during your stay and bring your own towels. Cowpet Bay is beautiful and I enjoyed the family time snorkeling in the crystal clear waters there. Honestly, the seafood restaurant onsite is a little pricey, but so is everything else on the island. The other restaurant onsite is actually pretty affordable and has a killer breakfast with a stunning view first thing in the morning. The staff was awesome and Carlos at the front desk bent over backward to help us. We had a great time and will definitely come back.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank charles g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamila F, Administrative Assistant at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Thank you, charles G, for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Our number one goal is to make you, the guest, happy! Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Jamila Felix
Elysian Beach Resort
jamila.felix@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

546 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    236
    90
    52
    40
See reviews for
123
258
13
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
30 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

My wife and I have been traveling to the Elysian Beach Resort in the East End of St. Thomas USVI for many years. The upscale resort is nestled between two ridges of land and is protected by those ridges. The beach is calm and wide with no wave action. The restaurants are supurb and the views are stunning. The bay is shared with the St. Thomas Yacht Club and the beach hut offers wonderful water sports during the day. The East end of St Thomas is only 4 miles via water from the Island of St. John making it easy to take day trips and explore. The rooms are newly renovated with large screen TV's and modern appliances. A rental car is advised due to the high cost of taxi service. St. Thomas is easy to get to from most major airports and as an American territory you can feel realatively safe. No different than any state side resort. Jewerly shopping that is 40% to 60% off state side prices on the entire Island is an added bonus.

Room Tip: Many units are built on the hillside facing the beach. The higher units give wonderful views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamila F, Administrative Assistant at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 13, 2014
Thank you, John P for the kind words. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our property. Most resort guest love our beach and water sports activities. Our property is very secluded so if you plan on touring the island, you may need a rental car. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.


Jamila Felix
Elysian Beach Resort
jamila.felix@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton Roads, VA
Level Contributor
100 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

We stayed at the Elysian 7/29-8/1/2014. The room was clean and comfortable, it had a full kitchen to our surprise. The front desk staff were helpful and friendly. We ate at both restaurants on the property. The Caribbean Fish Market was very good, pricey but this is expected at such a venue. We had the filet and wahoo, both were delicious. The bar restaurant had good breakfast and the breakfast staff service was great. We went for drinks one evening and the waitress was less friendly and seemed rushed.

The beach is decent, not one we would prefer to spend the day at, but that's why we rent a car. There were many people enjoying the pool and beach amenities. Overall it was a good experience, reasonably priced, and we would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have a better view. We stayed in Y building on the second floor and had a good view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VIadict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamila F, Administrative Assistant at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you, VIadict for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are happy that our front desk and restaurants accommodated all your requests. We pride ourself with being a service-oriented Resort. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Jamila Felix
Administrative Assistant
Elysian Beach Resort
jamila.felix@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurley, Alabama
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

We stayed at the Elysian Resort during a week long trip to St. Thomas, while celebrating our 36th anniversary. The Elysian experience started off a little rocky when we went to our room shortly after check-in and discovered that the room (unit number Y-144) was a real disappointment based on what looked like mold on the ceiling and several mosquitos circling around in the bedroom, and absolutely no view of Cowpet Bay.
We immediately returned to the lobby and requested a different room. Our request was honored by the woman in charge of admissions. We were provided with a third floor room with a beautiful view of the well manicured grounds at the Elysian Resort and the bay. The room was very well maintained and clean. The remainder of our stay was very enjoyable.
We snorkeled the bay, spent evenings at the beach, enjoyed the delicious food at the renowned Caribbean Fish Market restaurant, and enjoyed the Painkillers and Bushwhackers at the poolside bar. Our bartender, Dawn, provided exceptional service and great advice on places of interest on St. Thomas.

Room Tip: Best advice would be to get a room on the second or third floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank P_K_G655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamila F, Adminstrative Assistant at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Thank you, P_K_G655,
for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. We are pleased that you enjoyed the view from your unit. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.

Jamila Felix
Administrative Assistant
Elysian Beach Resort
jamila.felix@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, North Carolina
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have stayed at Elysian Beach Resort twice. The first time in 2011 for our honeymoon and the second time in 2013. Both times we had great experiences. The first time we started in building W and the views were awesome of Cowpet Bay (the beach at the resort). The second time we stayed in building G. The view was a little obstructed by palm trees but a closer walk to the pool and beach. There are beach lounge chairs available and hammocks. The snorkeling is not bad in Cowley Bay. It is not as awesome as some other beaches in the area but still had lots to look at. There are two restaurants on site that are very good. We really enjoyed the staff and our stay both times. The concierge was helpful as we booked the British Virgin Islands boat trip. It was wonderful and we highly recommend it. The resort is close to Red Hook. We took a taxi and ate at lots of the restaurants there. Some of our favorites were Fish Tails and Pesce. You can also take a ferry from Red Hook to St. John. Nearby Sapphire Beach is beautiful and has great snorkeling. We will be returning in 2015.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wcumw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamila F, Administrative Assistant at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you, "wcumw", for the kind words. We will share these with our staff. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our beaches and palm trees. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to seeing you again.

Jamila Felix
Elysian Beach Resort
Administrative Assistant
jamila.felix@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014 via mobile

The place is ok. We expected more as we are Worldmark by Wyndham timeshare owners. The rooms were clean. The service is certainly sub-par from what we are accustomed to on the mainland. The attitude was definitely NOT customer/owner friendly. I won't recommend this location. We went to the front desk and asked how much per load of laundry and were told $2.50/wash and $2.50 per dry. Then we asked if soap was in the laundry room. The woman told us "you have to get it from the front desk" and proceeds to stand and look at us....WE WERE AT THE FRONT DESK. Thankfully her colleague stepped in and grabbed a packet of soap for us right behind her. No one at the front desk really knew much about anything and weren't really interested in helping us find anything out (excursions, food, prices, local activities, BVIs, onsite activities). We were referred to the "Concierge Hut" a few times. We found that the concierge was a young lady that has only been on the island for 3 weeks. No real knowledge of anything substantial or helpful either.
The beach is ok. A little bit rocky compared to other beaches on the island.
It is very easy to get a taxi there. They will pick you up & drop you off near your room. There is free wifi in the lobby and at the pool. That's about it. We were warned not to buy wifi for the room - that it wasn't reliable.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
7 Thank TwoLadies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamila F, Administrative Assistant at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear TwoLadies,

We are so disappointed to hear your interaction with the resort staff did not meet your expectations, as this is not part of the Count On Me service we take pride in at Wyndham. It is imperative that our guests are treated well. Please rest assured that we will be taking action to ensure that this is not an issue for future guests. Again, thanks for taking the time to reach out.

Jamila Felix
Elysian Beach Resort
jamila.felix@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

This was a return trip to the same complex. We will for sure turn again. Great scenery Great private beach Great food Great pool
As you can tell.....we enjoyed
Beach was clean safe and private.
Countless restaurants in the area. Do not really need a car all most

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Thomas N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamila F, Administrative Assistant at Elysian Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Thank you, Thomas N for the wonderful review. We will share your comments with our team. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay at The Elysian Beach Resort. Our beach is one of our best attractions. We are happy that you had time to enjoy it. Again, thank you for reaching out and we look forward to your next visit.


Jamila Felix
Elysian Beach Resort
jamila.felix@wyn.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
0.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
1.4 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 stars 744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 stars 497 reviews
5.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
2.2 mi away
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
Sugar Bay Resort & Spa
#3 of 5 in East End
3.5 of 5 stars 706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Beach Resort

Property: Elysian Beach Resort
Address: 6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00802-1105, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Elysian Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Odigeo, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Elysian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Elysian Beach
Elysian Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Elysian Beach St Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing