We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value, good views, some caveats...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elysian Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Pros:
Nice room: air conditioner, nice balcony, tv/dvd, dishwashing soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion, Plenty of towels, small table to eat meals in your room and chairs on the balcony as well. Great beach with plenty of palm trees for shade and beach towels are provided.
Amazing restaurant (Caribbean Fish Market-get the tuna)
Join the "beach party" on Sundays at 11am or Mondays at 5pm for free drinks, appetizers and the low-down on different day trips.

Cons:
The internet (wifi) was down about 50% of the week we were down there (available only from the lobby which is currently be renovated) and we had to continually tell them it was down. Apparently many patrons were making them aware of this as they were continually frustrated with the requests to restart it.
The hot tub was "luke warm" about every other night while we were there. After informing them the following night would always be the right temp (with some very high chlorine levels on 2 of the evenings…burning your eyes high) but then the temp would fall back down to luke warm the next night.
One of the staff members working the front desk (lady in her 50-60's) isn't very pleasant. She seemed annoyed with any question you asked upon arrival. The rest of the staff was pleasant and easy to talk to.

Tips:
If you don't plan to stay the entire week be sure to tell them upon check out b/c they only charge the $22 fee/night that you stay
Taxis pick you up by the lobby. Roughly $5-6 PER PERSON each way for anything in the Red Hook area. This applies even if there are other patrons in the vehicle going to different places (odd, I know). Expect $16 cab ride to/from the airport/per person (including your luggage) if you're sharing a cab. If you're going on your own without other people it will be $20/person. They only accept cash.
Request a room on the lower level close to the lobby (unless you really crave beach views from your room and don't mind hauling your luggage up more stairs) 1 week before arrival. Closer to the lobby means closer to everything (wifi, taxis, beach, pool/hot tub, 2 restaurants (Sangrias and Caribbean Fish Market).
Try talking your cab driver into stopping at the grocery store on your way from the airport. You'll save $12 minimum (per person) if you can shop quickly (5 minutes or less is free and a $1/minute thereafter)

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (608)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 608 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2013

I'm a proud owner of this time share and started coming to St thomas about 3yrs ago. My husband and I just got married on the resort this last Oct and the staff was very accommodating. I never have any complaints, The staff is friendly and I love the area. I highly recommend getting a rental car. The first time we had stayed at the Elysian we didn't get a rental car and was traveling by taxi to at least get to red hook which is where you can catch the safari trucks. We didn't want to chance walking down the hill since it was very narrow and no side walks.

I would also recommend getting a room with a kitchen. It will definitely save you some money as it's expensive to eat out there. For one of our checked bags we sent a bunch of non pershiable food items and bought the remainder on St Thomas.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aforsell3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We have been coming down to the Elysian for several years (8-9). We got in on Saturday early since we stayed two days downtown to get our shopping out of the way, our room was ready early and Vicky welcomed us back and that was great. Our room had an awesome view and we unpacked, and then Joseph got us down to the Food Center to get some food for the week. We went down later to meet up with some friends we have met before and started our vacation with drinks at Sangria's Beachside Bistro, by the way the Pizzas are tasty...Great beach, jacuzzi helps relax after long walks, we will be back...Steve n Penni

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PenniMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed at the Elysian for a week. We were really impressed by the grounds and the two restaurants on site, The Caribbean Fish Market and the laid back Sangria's Beach-side Bistro. The beach is clean and beautiful and while we were there it was never really crowded. The pool was also well maintained and fun to hang out at. The rooms were just average, not great but not terrible. They were not very sound proof and you could hear everything that was happening outside or in the units around you. Two of the staff members who worked in the lobby were very friendly and helpful, but we ran into multiple staff members who were rude and nasty. They acted like you were an inconvenience. Also, one of the female bartenders at the pool side bar was extremely unprofessional. She seemed to be impaired on something and it was more and more apparent throughout the day. The final time I went to the bar I asked for two amaretto coladas. She rolled her eyes, stumbled around and pulled out the nutella, a cappucino mixture and rum and ice. I asked her again about the amaretto coladas and she ignored me. She put Nutella into the blender, got it all over her fingers which she then licked off and continued to make the drink. She only made one, gave me attitude as she almost fell over and went back to talking to someone. My husband went and found another bartender who made us what we asked for. This was not the only time we had run into rude staff here and that was the most disappointing part of our stay. They made it feel uncomfortable to approach them with a question. Also, the resort seems to nickel and dime you with everything. $22 a day energy fee, local phone calls cost .75 and it goes up from there, $5 for one wash and dry in the laundry room, $1 per load for detergent, and $6 per person per way for a trip to the grocery store. Also, the stairs all over the resort that you have to use to get to your room from anywhere are exhausting, and can be troublesome for someone who has a hard time getting around. Overall we had fun, we did not spend a lot of time in our room and spent most of the time off site or on the beach. When we go back I think we will be staying somewhere else. This was not the type of service/stay we have come to expect from Wyndham resorts.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank amymoser18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

This is a resort managed by Wyndham, but available through many outlets: Wyndham, Worldmark, VBRO, Craigslist, other rental companies, ... . We stayed in one of the Wyndham studio units there. There are king studios (with a king bed and kitchenette); double studios (like the king but with 2 double beds); the studio parlor (with a Murphy bed that folds down over the couch and a full sized kitchen); and a studio parlor loft (like the studio parlor, but with a lofted open bedroom). I was afraid a studio would seem cramped, but it really wasn't--not even when the bed was down. We were on a first level unit in the W building which is the first building as you come into the resort, room 149. I've read all rooms have ocean views, but that is not true. We had a sliver of a view, but our daughter and son-in-law in building L, room 107, had no ocean view. Their building was the one closest to the tennis courts and office. It would have been nice to have an ocean view, but at least we didn't have to change rooms for our 3 different reservations. We found the room to be tastefully renovated with very comfortable Murphy bed, very efficient AC and ceiling fan, well stocked kitchen with place settings for 4 and full sized appliances including a dishwasher. The patio was large with a table and 2 chairs plus a lounger---great for putting wet clothes on to dry since a couple things the studios lack are a washer and drier. There is no tub, but the shower is the length and width of a tub. There was a safe, but it was locked and maintenance could not open it. We had internet in our rooms---not fast, but pretty reliable. Electric flickered off a couple of times but never for long. The staff was very nice, always ready with beach towels when we came for exchanges. Although they weren't open until 11 like our confirmation letter said. When we arrived after 9, the office was closed and we were temporarily stumped. But we remembered having that happen elsewhere and getting keys from the guard at the entrance so we went back to there and she had our keys. There is a $22 energy fee, but that's not uncommon in the Caribbean. The room was clean. Maintenance brought us a non-stick pan and broom when we called and asked for them. The pool is quite large and very nice complete with a waterfall feature. The hot tub was often too hot, but when it wasn't, it was nice to soak away a long day of snorkeling. The beach there is beautiful and snorkeling there at Cowpet is very good. Get to know where the resident octopus lives as well as the porcupine puffer, barracuda, and many other fish and you can see them every day. The farther you go around the point the better the coral formations get. So much easier and convenient then swimming way out to the reef at Sapphire or fighting with the crowds at Coki. There is also a nice sandy roped off swimming area, but shuffle your feet in there since stingrays do like those sandy areas. We ate at Sangria's, the casual restaurant a couple of times and found it very good. The expensive fish restaurant there looked really good, too, but we were too cheap to try it. The pool bar has a sign up saying it's open something like WEd. and Sunday nights during the summer. It was closed when we were there in the FAll. It's located close to Red Hook for more good restaurants and a few little shops.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank slabeaume
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed here on our 25th Anniversary last month and loved every second of our time here. The property is well kept on the water at Cowpert Bay, with a quiet Marina, light boat traffic but great view. There is really good snorkeling right off the rocks on the cove, although most travel to other parts of the island and St. John.

Rooms are clean and service was great, just asked the front desk and they quickly fixed a couple small issues we had. WIFI is not great here and not free (local service, not the resort's own server), but you do get signal from most rooms it appeared to the office connection. They had no issue sharing the passcode with me, and I enjoyed WIFI all week for no charge. They told me they are working on new connections here and hope to have it by next year (2014).

If you have a hard time walking I would ask for a room near the water, everything is on a steep hill and you will get some exercise.

The pool is awesome if you don't mind Iguanas. They have about 12 of them, and they are not shy! They leave you alone and are harmless unless you have fresh fruit with you... they will want to be fed and looks like that is the underlying problem.

Two very good restaurants here both on the beach, one is "The Fish Market", more expensive and dress up with piano, etc.. The other, "Sangria's Bistro" is come as you are, fairly good prices and exceptional food!! The menu has some great use of ingredients, and their pizza is really good. My wife and I recommend the Jerk Chicken Caribbean Pizza.

Transportation is/ will be the biggest challenge for you on the island if you want to save $. Every place you go is not walkable because of the extremely curvy roads, very steep hills and no shoulders. We were on the island for a week and rented a car for 2 days, and would have done it for one more if we had to do again. Best bet is this... map out what you want to see on the days (if) you have a car. Driving is on the left side of highway, and is fairly easy with a GPS. Caution, roads and intersections are not not well marked, stop signs are not always clearly visible and roads are all up and down hills, steep and full of curves. Take a car on the ferry to St. John from Redhook (about a 5 minute drive from the resort). It's $50 r/t, but still cheaper than walking on with 2 people round trip and taking a cab to Trunk Bay to Snorkel. You can also take the Safari Bus (a truck and large covered bed with bench seats in the back- seats about 20) for $2 per person. It goes around the island and really lets you experience the local culture. That appears to be the way the people travel the island. We found that you can use this to get you to certain drop off places, then call the Elysian and they will quickly dispatch a taxi to pick you up. Taxi drivers were very helpful and everyone treated us well. Prices are regulated here. No need to barter prices, they charge the same rates across the board for all cab companies.

Bring food with you from home! Stores are pretty spendy, especially the Food Center near the Resort. Better prices in the nearby towns of TuTu, or Charlotte Amalie.

Overall, the Elysian is a quality place, quiet and beautiful. We spent the last 4 days just hanging out on the beach and at the pool and loved every minute of it! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Rooms near the beach or on the first level have easier access to the beach and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dlang155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Every room has a view of the Ocean, and the grounds are well kept and very clean! The beach hut is great as they help you select excursions and outings and books them for you! They also rent water toys as well! There are two restaurants on the grounds which is great if you really want to relax and not travel for a good dinner! They have they own private beach which is smaller, but private and very quiet (not a lot of boat traffic disrupting your relaxation). The rooms were very clean, and were very private, each had their own balcony!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sonia B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
1.3 mi away
Crystal Cove Beach Resort on Sapphire Bay
0.6 mi away
Secret Harbour Beach Resort
8.3 mi away
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
Lindbergh Bay Hotel and Villas
#6 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Sapphire Beach Resort
Sapphire Beach Resort
#4 of 5 in East End
712 reviews
2.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
733 reviews
7.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
1,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Beach Resort

Address: 6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00802-1105, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range: $275 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Elysian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Elysian Beach
Elysian Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Elysian Beach St Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing