We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“St. Thomas Elysian Beach Resort” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Elysian Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Elysian Beach Resort
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East End
GreenLeadersBronze level
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“St. Thomas Elysian Beach Resort”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

It was our first time on the islands and we fell in love with it immediately! Our resort gave us the most private beach right where we could look out and see the boats anchored in the bay. We travel quite extensively but this spot was so memorable we decided that we would return this year to get married on the same beach. The snorkeling was wonderful because we didn't have to drive anywhere to do it, rather just go swim over to the rock formations about a 100 feet out and we were right in the land of sting rays, parrot fish, and everything else you can think of!

Room Tip: All of the rooms are ocean view rooms and most have a full kitchen which is good because food on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JayandAnna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    249
    95
    52
    41
See reviews for
134
273
15
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (131)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Midwest, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013

This was our 2nd stay on St Thomas, 1st at Elysian. We have travelled extensively and have stayed at quite a range of places.

We had a parlor suite. Bed was really comfy, large room, but the bathroom was small. No big deal, we survived. Our friends had king suites. Nice rooms with large bathrooms. So we congregated in our room for coffee and drinks. Anytime we called for clean towels and bedding they were promptly delivered. We would leave the dirty ones outside the door in a bag and they would grab them. Worked out great!! Towels were nice and thick. No complaints.

Beach was nice. It was never crowded and we always found chairs around the beach and pool. Our favorite spots were over by Sangria's sitting under palm trees on the beach and listening to the music and enjoying buckets of beers. The pool bar is awesome!! TV, music, nice chairs - just a really nice tiki bar. Service was excellent and good drinks.

Pool was nice and clean. We used the hot tub a couple nights and it was really warm. Also used it one rainy afternoon. That was fun.

The property itself is clean and beautifully landscaped. Yes there are lots of steps but we needed the exercise and if you didn't want to walk they had little golf carts to take you to your room.

We only ate at Sangria's but we ate there several times and thought the food was really good. Prices weren't cheap but not expensive either. Mid-range prices. Their pizza was excellent.

Employees were really nice but we were always friendly and courteous to them.

Locations was great! Close to Red Hook and Lattitude 18. Lots of fun!!


We had 3 couples and all of us agreed that we would stay at the Elysian and would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JakeMidwest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Elysian through Wyndham Jan 26- feb 2 , After reading some posts we were a little nervious But Pleasantly surprised ! If you like quiet private places this is the one . Not like a sandles resort. Never major crowds for beach chairs or pool chairs . We had an updated room but old tv. Previous posts saying there was alot of stairs they were not lying . The energy fee seems alittle high 154.00 for 7 days . Must agree renting a car is a must cabs are very expensive 10-20 pp 1 way . We went to the food center about 5 mins away prices are high but worth it . 2 places to eat Sangrias great little beach grill , Pizza is really good . Carribean fish market more expensive but all had great food . Not alot to do at resort .property well maintained and clean . Honestly the whole island is gorgious would definatly go back .

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Theresa r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston ma
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed at the Elysian Beach Resort over New Years....and simply had the best vacation ever. We rented our unit through VRBO directly from an owner and it was amazing. Two people in our party stayed through the Wyndham time share and their studio unit was very nice also. We have stayed here before and will be staying there again if possible. The beach is small but lovely, with calm water and gentle breezes....very relaxing. The pool is refreshing and the hot tub is great too. There are two restaurants on site - Sangrias for casual beachside food and the more upscale Caribbean Fish Market....both of which were delicious. The grounds are very well maintained, clean and private. The resort is very hilly with lots of steps (as is just about everywhere on the island) so be warned.... Also, great location with Red Hook right next door to jump on the ferry to St. John or other islands, and 5 minutes from the big Food Center for supplies. I can't say enough about how lovely our stay was...and can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: The buildings higher on the hill have the best view but farther from the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachfamilyBostonMa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
freeport, ny
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

The Elysian rooms were very spacious, clean and well stocked. We had a murphy bed and it was quite comfortable. We were also suprised about the $110.00 energy fee that seemed a little excessive.. The beach was beautiful and you could sit outside at both resturants and watch the sun set. One resturant was low key with snacks and sandwiches the other resturant was more upscale. The food was decent. The staff at the resturants were very nice an always pleasant especially Buck"Mr. Big Life" Who went above and beyond to make you feel welcome. We did rent a car so we were able to get around easily but without one it would be difficult. The staff at the activities desk were very helpful and recommended a wonderful sailboat /snorkel tripwith a 20 dollar discount if you were staying at the resort. We had a great time.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pat c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

My wife and I stayed here recently and really enjoyed the resort. We had a large studio room with Murphy bed that was far more comfortable than we had expected. We also had a small view of Cowpet Bay from our balcony. Our room was clean, the kitchen and appliances looked new, and the air conditioning worked great. The bar on the property, Sangria's, had decent food and friendly staff. The restaurant on the property, Caribbean Fish Market, was one of the best dinners we had on the whole trip. The resort also has a nice beach and a big pool and hot tub. For us, one of the best parts of the Elysian was it's location - it's very short drive to Red Hook, with its restaurants and bars. Red Hook is also where you can catch the passenger and car ferries to the other islands, which made our day trips very convenient, especially since we rented a car. Overall, we'd go back to the Elysian again and would have no hesitation recommending to someone planning a trip to St. Thomas.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank IanLucas927
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Elysian Beach Resort [part of Wyndham Timeshare] is located right on the beach. With easy beach access the pool seems to be unnecessary. There are no real activities at the resort. You must use a taxi or rent a car to do any shopping or sightseeing. Literature indicates that there is Internet access but we could not connect the entire time we were there. You really need to be sure to bring insect repellent because there are not screens on the doors to the lovely balconies and the mosquitos are hyngry! You should remember that all flld needs to shipped to the island so food costs are 2 time what you expect.

Room Tip: The best views are in A, B or C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oxyx1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East End
0.1 mi away
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
The Ritz-Carlton, St. Thomas
#3 of 22 in St. Thomas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
2.3 mi away
Point Pleasant Resort
Point Pleasant Resort
#1 of 5 in East End
4.5 of 5 bubbles 631 reviews
5.0 mi away
Frenchman's Reef & Morning Star Marriott Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Emerald Beach Resort
Emerald Beach Resort
#4 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,629 reviews
5.0 mi away
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
Marriott's Frenchman's Cove
#1 of 7 in Charlotte Amalie
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
4.2 mi away
Caneel Bay Resort
Caneel Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Caneel Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysian Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysian Beach Resort

Property: Elysian Beach Resort
Address: 6800 Estate Nazareth | one mile from intersection of Route 32 & 322, 00802-1105, St. Thomas
Phone Number:
Location: Caribbean > U.S. Virgin Islands > St. Thomas > East End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in East End
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Elysian Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, BookIt.com and Expedia so you can book your Elysian Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysian Beach Hotel East End
Hotel Elysian Beach
Elysian Beach Resort St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
Elysian Beach St Thomas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing