We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveler rating
151
265
100
54
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
265
100
54
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviews caribbean fish market cowpet bay full kitchen rented a car the ritz carlton st thomas pool bar casual restaurant granite countertops great pool water toys grocery store virgin islands whole week burger elysium sangria
Filter
Updating list...
291 - 296 of 611 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Elysian and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was very well appointed. King size bed, small kitchenette, balcony and large bathroom with shower. We had a great view from the 2nd floor. The property is situated right on the beach and it is beautiful. White sand, clear warm water and lots of wonderful sun. There are two restaurants on the premises, Sangria, where you can get breakfast, lunch or supper and the Caribbean Fish Market available for Sunday brunch and dinner. Both serve excellent fare. The hotel staff is friendly and helpful and are happy to assist you in any way. We highly recommend it.

We rented a car instead of taking taxis or the local transportation. It gave us the freedom to go where we wanted, when we wanted. It took no time at all to adjust to driving on the English side (wrong side for us Americans). The island is solid hills, mountains and curves so driving requires you to pay attention to what you are doing and to keep you lead foot, very light.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom and Carin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This place was really nice. The beach here couldn't have been more beautifull. The service was very good from front desk to housekeeping.
It was pricey, and could have been a little cleaner, but all in all we would come back and suggest it to others.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank steve j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We rented independently through Nancy's Condos.com. Had a two BR, three BA in unit B and loved it. Our view was awesome! The pool was great! There were two queen beds in one room and a nice comfy king in the other BR. Airconditioning worked great. Kitchen was fully equipped and even had some staples for our use. The eating places on the resort have improved greatly in the last year - new owners. The only negative to this resort was the fitness center. I am a runner and running in St. Thomas is hard with the narrow streets and hills so a fitness center is important. This one is not good and needs up-dating. Most folks don't care though since they are on vacation. Would highly recommend New Horizons full day snorkel trip and sunset cruise. Also recommend Heavenly Days half day snorkel trip. You will see several turtles.

Room Tip: Units B, C, D, E, & F have great ocean views. Unit B is closest to the pool too. Nice pool!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great location close to Red Hook and about 30 minutes from Charlotte Amalie....note there is a $22.00 PER DAY amenity charge on all rooms.....rooms difer greatly in size so be sure to check before you go....great little beach on resort and good pool......food available on property......you need a car when at this location

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alkatcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visited The Elysian in 2011 for a week and loved it so much we decided to return for 2 weeks this year. We were there Oct 13 - Oct 27, 2012. What a relaxing and fun time. The location is perfect, close to both Red Hook and Charlotte Amalie. It's easy to catch the ferry from Red Hook to St. John for the day.
If you are looking for a quiet relaxing atmosphere The Elysian is the perfect place. Located on Cowpet Bay you feel like you are alone on a private beach. Being a smaller condo, you never have to fight for beach front lounge chairs or space. What a nice bonus.
We stayed in one if the studios with a small efficiency kitchen and it was the perfect size. Pretty much every room has some type of beach or ocean view. We love eating on out balcony. The only problem we experienced was the fridge not working and the staff replaced it within 15 minutes of our phone call.
You can snorkel right off the shore and it's great. If you need snorkel gear or other beach toys you can rent them right at the beach.
The Sangria beach side bar makes awesome loaded fries and has several good dishes to offer plus drinks. New this year is the Caribbean Fish Market restaurant. Very nice! They are working on the pool side bar. Looks like it will be open very soon.
Their staff is friendly and helpful. Thanks to Vicki who always makes us feel welcome.
We will be back. Love y'all!

Room Tip: Hillside condo. If you are handicapped or not in good physical shape for all the stairs, call the week before you go and try to request units on lower level of the hill. They are usually very accommodating.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belly002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews