We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (611)
Filter reviews
611 results
Traveler rating
151
265
100
54
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
265
100
54
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmurphy bedcaribbean fish marketcowpet bayfull kitchenstudio kingyacht clubrented a carsmall fridgethe ritz carltonst thomaspool barcasual restaurantgranite countertopsgreat poolwater toysgrocery storevirgin islands
Filter
Updating list...
293 - 298 of 611 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We rented independently through Nancy's Condos.com. Had a two BR, three BA in unit B and loved it. Our view was awesome! The pool was great! There were two queen beds in one room and a nice comfy king in the other BR. Airconditioning worked great. Kitchen was fully equipped and even had some staples for our use. The eating places on the resort have improved greatly in the last year - new owners. The only negative to this resort was the fitness center. I am a runner and running in St. Thomas is hard with the narrow streets and hills so a fitness center is important. This one is not good and needs up-dating. Most folks don't care though since they are on vacation. Would highly recommend New Horizons full day snorkel trip and sunset cruise. Also recommend Heavenly Days half day snorkel trip. You will see several turtles.

Room Tip: Units B, C, D, E, & F have great ocean views. Unit B is closest to the pool too. Nice pool!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marymissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Great location close to Red Hook and about 30 minutes from Charlotte Amalie....note there is a $22.00 PER DAY amenity charge on all rooms.....rooms difer greatly in size so be sure to check before you go....great little beach on resort and good pool......food available on property......you need a car when at this location

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank alkatcape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We visited The Elysian in 2011 for a week and loved it so much we decided to return for 2 weeks this year. We were there Oct 13 - Oct 27, 2012. What a relaxing and fun time. The location is perfect, close to both Red Hook and Charlotte Amalie. It's easy to catch the ferry from Red Hook to St. John for the day.
If you are looking for a quiet relaxing atmosphere The Elysian is the perfect place. Located on Cowpet Bay you feel like you are alone on a private beach. Being a smaller condo, you never have to fight for beach front lounge chairs or space. What a nice bonus.
We stayed in one if the studios with a small efficiency kitchen and it was the perfect size. Pretty much every room has some type of beach or ocean view. We love eating on out balcony. The only problem we experienced was the fridge not working and the staff replaced it within 15 minutes of our phone call.
You can snorkel right off the shore and it's great. If you need snorkel gear or other beach toys you can rent them right at the beach.
The Sangria beach side bar makes awesome loaded fries and has several good dishes to offer plus drinks. New this year is the Caribbean Fish Market restaurant. Very nice! They are working on the pool side bar. Looks like it will be open very soon.
Their staff is friendly and helpful. Thanks to Vicki who always makes us feel welcome.
We will be back. Love y'all!

Room Tip: Hillside condo. If you are handicapped or not in good physical shape for all the stairs, call the week before you go and try to request units on lower level of the hill. They are usually very accommodating.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank belly002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at this resort in October. Had read that it was hilly so was prepared for that. We had a 2 bedroom loft on the top level...2 balconies looking directly at the ocean! Absolutely breath taking! The room was really nice , colorful and clean. The kitchen was more spacious than Ihad imagine, with all brand new appliances. I slept like Goldilocks in the murphy bed! Very ,very comfortable and it was a real eye pleasing piece of furniture! Very easy to pull down and put up. The a/c units were loud when watching TV,but not a problem when sleeping
I notice both the beach towels and room towels were on the fluffy ,thick side which was a plus. I found the staff to be pleasant. Two resturants on site, both are very good. Carribean Fish Market more upscale than the Sangrias Beachside Bistro.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rekabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

On an 11-night vacation in St Thomas / St John we spent our 1st 4 nights and our last night at the Elysian Beach Resort. We used WoldMark points to both stays. Our first stay, we had reserved a King Studio, but were upgraded to a Parlor Studio (the Parlor studio has a full kitchen and a Qn size pull down Murphy Bed). We were nervous that the murphy bed would not be comfortable (I had visions of a sleeper sofa mattress) but it was a full, pillow top mattress and very comfortable. We didn't use the full kitchen, but it was nice having a full fridge to shop for our week on St John. We had a 3rd floor unit in Building Y which is at the top of the hill right near the entrance. Yes, it was a hike down to the beach and restaurant, but not has strenuous as I thought. The unit was very clean, comfortable and kept cool by the AC (something we did NOT have on St John). The bathroom was pretty small (sink & closet outside with toilet and shower inside), but it worked fine. I don't know how full the resort was, but the beach remained fairly empty (there was always a place in the shade and a hammock to relax on in the afternoon). We had a romantic dinner at Caribbean Fish Market, which was 5-star. You absolutely have to have a car and driving in STT is an adventure (I agree with the roller coaster comparison in the last review). Getting fresh pool towels was easy. In fact, we thought the pool and bathroom towels were very plush. All in all, it was a great way to begin our vacation. We returned to Elysian for 1 night at the end of our trip since we had an 8:30a flight and did not want to deal with getting a ferry from St John. We were given a King Studio room in Building X this time. Smaller kitchen, bigger bed and much bigger bathroom. Our room was on the bottom floor, so there really wasn't a view, but for 1 night we didn't care. Overall, we had a very good time. The units are very comfortable. The grounds are clean, the beach is nice (smaller than it looked in pictures), the beach bar & restaurant were great and the service was very good. If you're looking for a something with a kitchen, in a convenient part of the island, feel confident that the Elysian will meet or even exceed your needs.

Room Tip: the buildings at the low end of the alphabet (A-L) are closer to the beach, but the higher rooms have a great view of the bay and are closer to the entrance. The best time to exchange towels seems to be in the afternoon. The King Studio has a mini-fridge but the Parlor studio has a full one.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews