We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (612)
Filter reviews
612 results
Traveler rating
151
265
100
54
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
151
265
100
54
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cowpet bay rented a car the ritz carlton st thomas pool bar granite countertops virgin islands elysium sangria timeshare beach ferry resort john hook unit iguanas
Filter
Updating list...
302 - 307 of 612 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2012

I was very leary when I read so many negative reviews but I wound up being very satisfied with this resort. One thing that everyone got right was how LOUD the air conditioner was. That was extremely annoying but thank goodness we had it. Our room had an awesome view, very clean and roomy. The walk however to our building from the beach, bar, etc was a killer. Got smart finally and just asked the lobby if they had anyone to shuttle us up to the top of the hill and from then on it was a breeze but you had to get to the lobby before 9 pm because thats when it closed. That was disappointing and made for early evenings. Everyone was very friendly and accomodating. The bar Sangria's was great. We just loved Kristen (bartender), JoJo(cook), Sully (customer). They were a lot of fun. I think we tried every single item on the menu plus the specials and loved them all. Their pizzas were great but their burgers and smothered fries are to die for. Overall we had a great time at this resort. Thank you for everything!

Room tip: The best views are at the top of the hill. We stayed in the "Y" building
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vonalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Hotel is built on the side of a hill, so, if you have trouble walking staris, up and down hills, I would recommend trying another hotel....Nice rooms, large and with kitchens. Both restaurants are great, Sangrias is more relaxed and Caribbean Fish Market is upscale but the biscuits and gravy for only $5.00 is a great buy. St Thomas is not cheap, gas is $4.85 p/gallon and groceries are expensive--Raisin Bran Crunch cereal was $7.54 ..We shared lots of dishes to make it more economic. From Elysian to Red Hook , the closest town, you are only 5 min away with lots of bars and restaurants but almost no shopping. The beds are exceptional- even the Murphy bed ....so don't be turned off by this. Take a day trip on New Horizons..you will snorkel and have a great time, ask for Vickie, Billie and Sev...

Room tip: A-L are better, the others are father away from the beach and lots more steps to climb.
Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bandit49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

We stayed here for one week and had a great time. EVERYONE was wonderful to us. All we had to do was ask! Joseph Thomas our cab driver was extremely helpful and shared a lot with us. Both restaurants at the resort had great food. The Caribbean Fish Market had great service and food. Mr. Big Lyfe treated us like roality. Sangria's had THE best hamburger I have ever eaten! The beach itself was impeccable. Great snorkling can be had!! We highly recommend this resort!!

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sseppe1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

Property was clean and well kept.The studio parlor was nicely done and the extra space was appreciated.Staff was friendly and the new restaurant(Fish Market ) was excellent.Parking was convenient and beach was very clean.

Date of stay: September 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mgtt51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2012

I think we had the same room as "never again" . We had a perfect view of overgrown shrubs and the linen truck that backed up daily. Upstairs, they were building out the units for someone who had apparently purchased 3 and were making them into a liveable sized one bedroom condo. There was a pile of debris consisting of a broken bottle and other trash in the exterior hall the entire 9 days we stayed...never got swept up. Air conditioning worked, but was exceptionally noisy. Shower had no screen or window, just slats which allowed mosquitoes in. According to the gal at the desk people live in all of the rooms that have good views or are in good locations, guess there wasn't much hope for much better. Bring a battery clock since power gets interrupted rather frequently. Trick to get the hot water to stay a bit more consistent in the shower - leave the sink water trickling on hot while you take a shower - helps to level the temperature a bit. We had traded for this resort from another vacation ownership program. It was nice not to have any calls for "owner update" meetings. I am surprised that Wyndham will allow their name on this place (not a resort) at all. Not sure where the photos of the inside of the rooms came from, but not our room, that's for sure!

Room tip: Avoid front building first floor - this is actually the basement, you have to go down steps to get to it. There is no view. Possibly the back building high floor you might be able to see past the first building and recognize there is water out there somewhere, but you will pay the price in a steep walk up stairs.
Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Linda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews