We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Beach!”
Review of Sapphire Beach

Sapphire Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$76.50*
and up
Parasail Experience in St Thomas
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in East End
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A favorite of windsurfers, the beach has fine white sand and beautiful views of St. John and offshore cays, and offers excellent snorkeling at the reef to the east, near Pettyklip Point.
Illinois City, Illinois
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Beautiful Beach!”
Reviewed May 5, 2014

LOVED Sapphire Beach!
Absolutely stunning beach we rented a condo from a private owner gorgeous renovated condo the only complaint we had was the "Chair Police" Lady named Diane...she would sit and guard the beach chairs DAILY! there was about 300 beach chairs there and about 15 people max on the beach she would not let anyone use chairs unless they stayed at crystal point even though the sign clearly said they were for all of sapphire condo renters...tad bit annoying...
We over heard a lot of people complaining about her.. other than Diane sitting there all day everyday the beach is beautiful.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandals011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    780
    464
    174
    35
    32
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Beautiful and uncrowded”
Reviewed May 2, 2014

Easy to get to and park. No mobs. Lots of reefs for offshore snorkeling. No chairs or water rentals. Truly a "relaxer".

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MisLis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice quiet beach”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We rented a condo in Building A just steps to the beach and water. The resort is older. Restaurant is closed. Pool bar and grill is closed and blocked off - not a pretty sight when laying by the pool. But our condo was very nice, the beach was very quiet since the dive center was also closed. And the water was beautiful. So if you are looking for a nice quiet no frills stay - this is the place.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tricia Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“decent”
Reviewed April 30, 2014

Stayed at the Motel/hotel. The beach was fairly nice and not crowded at the time we were there. There is a bar/restaurant, nothing special and as the rest of St Thomas not that inexpensive

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lannie1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kensington, CT
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great Condo -- no so great "resort"”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

This was our second trip to Sapphire, Feb, 2014, and our first in D101. Condo was great, very well appointed, comfortable, owners were great to deal with. Beautiful view of St. John; sunrise is just gorgeous. It's too bad the property/beach/pool/outbuildings are laying in disrepair. Beautiful pool but pool bar nailed shut with plywood and all tables and chairs chained together in a pile; however, plenty of loungers by pool. The restaurant at the top of the property by the road was expensive this year. We were there a few times last year for lunch or to listen to the band. This year the place was way overpriced, mostly fried food, dirty. Down at the end of the beach the dive shop is closed, boarded up like the rest of the property and looks like it will blow right into the water with a good wind. I did notice this year that the cruise ships are not bringing the crowds to Sapphire like they did last year.
We did rent a car both visits so there was plenty to do around the island. Love the Cellar in Red Hook, the Northside, and had a great day at Megan's Bay. Spent some time in Charlotte Amalie, not worth the afternoon we spent there. Had a lousy lunch at a touristy restaurant and shopped around a bit but all the stores have the same kind of things, unless you're really spending some big money.
Overall St. Thomas is a magical place. I just think Sapphire Beach has seen better days and it's too bad because it could be so much more!!!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank TSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapphire Beach also viewed

Magens Bay, St. Thomas
Smith Bay, East End
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sapphire Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing