We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great snorkeling- Nice Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sapphire Beach

Sapphire Beach
Book In Advance
More Info
$85.00*
and up
Parasail Experience in St Thomas
Ranked #4 of 22 things to do in East End
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A favorite of windsurfers, the beach has fine white sand and beautiful views of St. John and offshore cays, and offers excellent snorkeling at the reef to the east, near Pettyklip Point.
Clinton, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great snorkeling- Nice Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

The snorkeling off of Saphire is fantastic. We took our son out and even in the shallows saw some good sea life. Closer to the rocks were some really amazing fish, Angel Fish, Sea Fans etc.... Not too rough so it's enjoyable. I will say that the "resort" that is on the beach is run down at best. There are some vendors but it makes the place feel dirty as it's really in need of serious repair. I'd pack what you need for the day if you want to visit and remember you are here for the sun and surf, not the amenities that really are not present.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Daria N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,435 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    750
    449
    171
    34
    31
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sjc
Level Contributor
79 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Anothe beautiful uncrowded beach here...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Just let the gueard know you are off to the beach..... all set A Bit of a walk from the car, but not bad. WHile I am told this is slow season, that is fine with me

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alfredmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parsippany, NJ
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
“Sapphire Beach - the Gem of St. Thomas”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

Sapphire Beach is just about perfect. Beautiful crescent-shaped beach. Warm, calm blue water. Forget a blank horizon - your view will be of St. John, Tortola and Jost Van Dyke! When we went, the beach was very uncrowded - never more than a few dozen people on the entire beach. I have been to Magen's Bay and to Morning Star Beach. Neither is nearly as nice as Sapphire.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank tfinchler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VISunshine, Public Relations Manager at Sapphire Beach, responded to this review, January 5, 2013
Hi tfinchler!

Thanks for sharing your experience! We, too, love the views from our sandy shores! It certainly never gets old. Thanks for visiting and thanks, too, for sharing! We hope you'll "Like" us on Facebook!

All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmond, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

This is a beautiful beach. You can sit on the beach, rent a chair or snorkeling equipment or even rent a sea doo. They have food and drinks available. We had a great day at Sapphire Beach.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cathie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
330 reviews
67 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“A great beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

Another great beach to explore while in St. Thomas. The beautiful sand and water make this beach worth the visit. A little less crowded and very romantic destination.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Toddamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sapphire Beach also viewed

Magens Bay, St. Thomas
Smith Bay, East End
 
St. Thomas, U.S. Virgin Islands
 

Been to Sapphire Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing